wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

MixxBook.com new social networking website
innocent
#1 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 6:17:00 AM

Hi Guys

Finally I can reveal that my partners and I - all Kenyan,all the time - have come up with a new social networking website,MixxBook.com,which we hope will give facebook a run for its money. We believe ours address a lot of niches and seeks to be a much more serious forum of communication. I will appreciate your thoughts and suggestions on the best way to improve it. While at it,join as a member (it's free anyway) and help me test run it and flush out any possible bugs and or glitches.

Learn all about the financial marts http://www.financialmarket.info
---------------------------------------
Looking to buy or sell a property? A plot or a house? Check out http://www.kenyareal.com - Kenya home of real estate.
adept
#2 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:11:00 AM

@Innocent

You asked for it so here goes.

Bottom line - You have a 'piracy' problem.

You cannot be serious that you want to compete with Facebook.

Number 1 - The name you have chosen lacks originality. Typical Kenyan thinking...slightly modify the name of someone else' business that seems to be doing well so you can gain significant mileage on their reputation.

Do you think Twitter would be doing as well as it is now if they adopted the name say 'Twitbook'? I do not hink so. Why?

Remember the Internet is global. What will make me move from FB to MixxBook? There are thousands of sites similar to FaceBook on the web. Ask yourself why you do not know them. Think my friend!

Number 2 - Your site is a clumsy imitation of the facebook login page. Did not even login so I cannot begin to speak on the profile pages and the value-add services (if any) that you provide.

I am not being a wet blanket...just giving you a reality check now that you intend to compete with FaceBook. Hope that is what you wanted...candid feedback.

Wish you the very best.
redice
#3 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:22:00 AM

give facebook a run for their money? are you serious?
danny6
#4 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:33:00 AM

@innocent
Originality is the language we should be talking about it here,i mean there is absolutely no reason for me to enjoy this site given that it is a complete duplication of fb's ideas,i mean why couldnt you come up with a totally different concept,if you thought that by 'pirating' you would be riding on fb then you were damn wrong in the sense that your main goal and target is to oust fb if not equal it period! forgetting that some better social sites may be in the offing,i give you one local example.NMG launched the Daily Metro with the sole intention of countering the Nairobi Star and what happened...In short it was an idea in the first place but you failed to deliver try to expand your thoughts and think outside the box,otherwise good luck

'Don't question GOD,as he may say,if you are so eager for answers,then please come up'.
innocent
#5 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:52:00 AM

Thanks all for your candidness. But before you condemn the site in it's totality,kindly become a member,log on and evaluate all the main links. You can then unsubscribe once you have evaluated the site.

Learn all about the financial marts
http://www.financialmarket.info
Looking to buy or sell a property? A plot or a house? Check out http://www.kenyareal.com - Kenya home of real estate.
adept
#6 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:09:00 AM

@innocent - First impressions man,first impressions...they can make or break your business. Had you done a business plan before you embarked on this? That is,assuming you are doing this for profit.
innocent
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 7:42:00 AM

Alexa ranking for www.mixxbook.com is now 216,365,only about two weeks after launch. For those of you who are doubting this concept,watch this space. I have enough visitors now to start accepting ads.

Learn all about the financial marts
http://www.financialmarket.info
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 8:05:00 AM

Man you don't have to force down people's throat,all the best though!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
mchuuzi
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:26:00 AM

Innocent i like your persistance and enduarance i really hope this works.I joined u in the affiliates,then to forever living .All the best in your venture.

jnn
skjay
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:55:00 AM

adept has a valid point.

You may be getting a good ranking on alexa right now,but it's coz you are riding on the success of two social websites: mixx.com and facebook.com

Most people don't have patience with unoriginality. If you are going to start a new soda company,you risk being shunned if you called it something like coca-roche.

However,you have every right to hope that yours is the exception,so hang in there...
Alchemist
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 12:32:00 PM

@Innocent,I think you are on to something but like all other commentators,I am against use of the names of sites that you are trying to unseat.

Kachwanya's site www.iborian.com is very much like facebook but it is named in honour of Nairobi and is easy to identify with.

Most important though is that your use of the Obama family pictures on your site could see you sued because you dont have the image rights.
innocent
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 8:31:00 AM

Thankyou guys for all your responses - both the iced criticism,honest evaluation and whatever.
mchuuzi
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 8:38:00 AM

Once again innocent really sorry that all you got from SK was lots and lots of bile however keep on keeping on dont let anyone bring you down.When you believe in something like you believe that the internet is the next big thing no one or nothing that people say about it or about you can stop you all the best.

jnn
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:05:00 AM

@innocent

its good that you introduced your social networking website here in SK... at least,we got a new thing... however,from your post,you wanted us to sample it,give you comments,criticise etc so that you can make it a better site. and i believe,however harsh the comments may be,some of them are actually important to look into... for example the legality of using the photos,exposing your child to the net etc... the people who posted here were giving you their views which you can either take if you feel they are genuine or leave if you feel they dont fit in your website or life.

But with all due respect,calling people by their real names on this site is not very respectiful because there is a reason why we use our screen names. Now given that we are supposed to register in your site,how secure is my info if for some reason you get cross with me as you have with Sheri? Wont that in itself bar me from even registering if there is such a requirement to fill in my personal details?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:14:00 AM

First of all good work sticking to your plan and starting something online. Mine is just to offer my own experience

1. It is a good idea not to antagonise possible users to your website. One or two bad clients are ok but not a whole group of possible users. So avoid using terms like I don't give a damn.

2. I am still trying to figure out what your niche is in your site. As far as I can see,you are no different from Haiya,facebook,or that zuqka thing. I think I have seen more like funkenya and other's whose names I cannot remember. So the question everyone is asking you here is,why should I join your site and not Haiya? No technical terms please

3. Alexa is not and will never be a judge of success online. I can give you alexa rankings of less than 100,000 in a month if you pay me $100. It is gamed all the time. For example,if my site does not have that alexa thing they like giving people,then I will never rank. My advice is stop wasting time searching for alexa rankings. Only newbie webmasters even bother with that site.

4. I would be more concerned with SERP's. I can't find you when i search for Kenya social network. Does it matter? More than you think. If you ever wish to sell your site later,no one will ask you for alexa but your SERP's. You should work on your SERP's starting now. You may say you are not going to sell but if I start a social network now and concentrate on SERP's,I will get more members than you.

5. As for your domain name. It is all in the eye of the beholder. So far,I have mistyped your website 4 times. mixbook,mixxbox,mixboks,misbooks. I guess you get what I mean. it is too late for that now so do the best you can with what you have. Even yahoo is a name I can't type right.

6. The colours of your site mean didly in the bottom line. As long as you have good content,I will come back. Otherwise,I would never come back to sk. I can show you a simple blogger site that is bloody ugly and still makes more money than a matatu in Kenya. Concentrate on content.

7. You can use Obama pics if you got them under gnu/gpl licence. they would never bother with your site since its not registering anywhere on the net. But for your own good,you don't even need to use them. You don't see facebook with Ronald Regan pics do you?

5. Now go and market your site and don't bother with one or two members. Social networks have a life of their own,you should be more concerned with online marketing of your idea.

I still don't know the idea behind mixxboxx but all I can do is wish you luck. Please do not underestimate the amount of work you have set up for yourself. I would be less concerned with what guys think in SK and spend my time on the site. If you need help in SERP's domination,you can get in touch.
Djinn
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:21:00 AM

@innocent,kudos on your initiative - try to look beyond the negativity of the comments below and glean from those remarks that which you need to make the site better. I think its a good initiative and content will matter very soon. I disagree with the naming issue - who says mixxbook need only be Kenyan - globalisation dicatates that we think beyond even .co.ke - so let your horizons be THAT broad. My advise,try to see what it is other social networking sites do NOT offer - I personally HATE the applications and quizzes,etc on facebook,esp the ones that ask you to share with 20 friends (am sure abt 80% of FB hate that). What about privacy - how can you assure users of privacy and IP rights? Other thing is not to change the format too much like FB has done. Try to network with others outside Kenya and get a following. Straddle the line between social networking,twitter,search engine,email and come up with an app/portal that helps one consolidate those things - BTW Google are about to release Google Wave which will feature all those hot google products like IM,email,maps,docs,search engine,browser (Chrome) and social networking all in one SUPER application....can you pre-empt them with a local app that does all that?

Last and by no means least - for those that have scoffed about this competing with facebook here goes ->(I am waving my middle finger at you) - we forget that Obama/Gates/Celtel/MTN/Dimension Data/etc all had humble beginnings in Africa - let me know where I can Mpesa/Zap some busfare to Kisumu so you can you jump in......

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:26:00 AM

BTW,it just occurs to me that if you went the google wave way,i.e. consolidate IM,SN,email,voip,search,etc then that just gives sense to the name mixxbook....just a thought. Try to picture all cyber cafes having mixxbook.com as the start page for WHATEVER visitors need - whether to search,email,IM (using whatever existing IM/email app they have),etc

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
innocent
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:28:00 AM

Alma. Thanks for your constructive comments. I agree with you that alexa ranking don't mean much - but I would be concerned if alexa ranked me at 10 millionth position. Barely a month after the site went online,and we are still not officially launched,and the website is still incomplete,I think we are off to a not-too-bad start. We will definitely be requiring the services of a good SERP and you sure do sound like you know what you are doing. Send me an email at innocent@mwangi.org and I will get in touch when we are ready to start marketing the site.

Learn all about the financial marts http://www.financialmarket.info
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 9:55:00 AM

Great ideas Djinn,but I doubt if innocent has the financial muscle to come up with an all in one application. However,try offering some php programmers some shares in your site and you might just have got the idea that I was trying to figure out.

There is nothing like an official launch of anything online. As long as your site is online,it is launched. It should be a work in progress. That is why most site developers do not show all a site can do when it starts. They concentrate on content over a 90 day period. Otherwise,if you do other stuff like site beauty,spending 1 hour on sk instead of your own site,extra applications etc,you lose the plot very quickly.

I can get a history of your website from the first day you set up your servers. Every day you added information is information I can get if I wanted to,so don't ignore the power of the net. If it is up,you should be marketing and not waiting. Otherwise,put it offline until you are satisfied. Every piece of information that google is capturing on your site now will affect your SERP'S later.

So either accept what you have and work very fast or put it down until you are satisfied. Since humans are never satisfied,then accept what you have and work on it very very fast. It is actually a lot of fun for members to get an email that says,'hey guys we just added yahoo messenger to the site',than telling them 'don't worry,we are still in pre-launch'.

For example,your forum is dead and that is the first place one goes to. If I find no content there,I won't bother registering since I don't think there is anyone in the site. Consider removing the links to the pages without content for the time being. Your forum is losing you business right now so consider adding as much content there as possible.

also look at the history of other social networks. None of them aimed for the world. Facebook was meant for college students,myspace was meant for a few geeks. That is why I ask you for your niche. Get the niche first. If it is Kenyans,target kenyans first then the world will find you if it is interesting. If it is christian Kenyans or gay kenyans,just get the niche first.

I know you have a lot of work to do. You may not know it but you do. However,if you do it the right way,there will be nothing to stop the site with a funny name going where you wish to. So good luck and stop going to alexa and remove their links from your site immeadiately.

That is all my advice for today. I don't take a lot of Kenyan clients anymore so I will wait to see what your site grows into over the next few months. I have kept your email and will want a share of the pie :)

Spendthrift
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 10:43:00 AM

@Innocent,the 'book' is a good trial and that it's the brainchild of a Kenyan makes it a little interesting. Reminds me of how 'shuttle' became a household name amongst mini bus operators in 2003 after Michuki rules.

Two questions;

1. Is it a dating site? If not,the B.O snr and A.D (who did actions X&Y and ended up with BO jnr) clip is misplaced.

2. Did those two meet on mixxbook.com?.

And a last one,that mamkwanja thing down there is sure to make someone think you missed one more X in 'mixx'. Of course you can say 'it ain't me'.

I will give it a more serious review later but for now,just kidding.....No I'm serious about my questions.

In general terms,the use of Barrack Obamas and Dunhams photos doest communicate much..at least to me.

Everyday!