Sports
KENYAN PREMIER LEAGUE
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
Hi Wazuans, How come we talk more on EPL while our own league is blossoming right here.Why can't we start this lengthy thread on our own home clubs. As they say charity begins at home so i believe for the national team to be prosperous we have to support our league. This season as we are on the second leg here are the standings and lets support our clubs Pos Team Pts 1 Ulinzi Stars 32 2 Tusker 31 3 Gor Mahia 27 4 Sofapaka 26 5 Mathare United 26 6 Karuturi Sports 25 7 Nairobi City Stars 22 8 Western Stima 21 9 KCB 21 10 AFC Leopards 21 11 Posta Rangers 20 12 Thika United 20 13 SonySugar 18 14 Chemelil Sugar 18 15 Red Berets 16 16 Mahakama 12 sawa round hii nikunoma Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
How many teams are from outside Nairobi?......Unless we go back to the old days where just about any major town had a team,football will remain largely unpopular.You can't compare today's league with the days we had regional powerhouses like Shabana,Kericho stars,Kisumu Hot stars,Motcom,Nzoia,Mumias,Rivatex,Eldie KCC,Nakuru wanderers,Scarlet FC,Feisal,Lake warriors,Bandari,Mafuko bombers,Bata bullets,KTM and the likes. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e, hizo team ni za zamani saana.at least can remember shabana and rivatex,lakini motcom ni kina nani? What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
@Bwana Njunge...enyewe wewe ni mtu wa before...!! from your list, I can only recall Shabana, Rivatex, Bata bullets
But your point is true...the EPL has teams coming from all over England and that promotes football since kila mtu supports teams from their area, but then again..looking at our situation, will tribalism pop its ugly head?
@Kadonye, wow!!...wow...Kweli wewe ni babie.Motcom was one of the finest team in the 80s and 90s.The bulk of AFC players in those days came from Motcom.The team was coached by Chris Makokha and was chiefly fed by Kakamega high "Green commandos",Musingu, and a host other high schools from the region.....BTW,Motcom was the then Ministry of Transport and Communication....Sawa?.lol Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@Nostopping, Aii jameni...This are teams from te other day.Before them were the likes (Hakati sportiff,Luo union,Maragoli United,Abeingo,Gema (Yes Gema FC was based in Nakuru and later became Nakuru wanderers),but all time favourite still remains K'ogalo....Boy memories of Siti Stadium, Gor taya wang'ni meny ji duto.....waa Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Now I really know why they call you Guka!But that aside, this is a good thread...courtesy of Supersport, we can now enjoy Wednesday Night Football, either live in the stadium or live on SS Select...I think this is only the beginning. My premier league team has always been Mathare since I grew up in Calif and those boys used to come to "Deza" as we used to call the barren pitch and visha us chobos and kanzus - they were the Barca of our days. I hope we'll make it to African Cup in 2012 before we can start talking about qualifying for 2014 world cup, it's not far fetched but we have quite some way to go. Long live Kenya! BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Gor Gor Mahia! yaani guka, french (a.k.a Luo) pia unajua.... wacha we ngoja Western Stima this coming weekend.
this has bn my most disappointing kpl season ma team thika united is just transfering players to sa instead of winning. remembering the chunk of cash given as sponsorship by uk 12m and nothing to show
And for the benefit of those who were in diapers and others NOT yet born..........This is the Abaluhya a.k.a AFC "Leopat" part squad that won the East and Central Africa club championship in Somalia in 1979. Ingwe beat the fancied Horseed of Somalia 1-0 in the final courtesy of a free kick scored by their David Beckam a.k.a Abdul Baraza. (NB.......Don't bother to google, there was no mtandao then). 1. Maurice Khayota 2. Patrick "Omar Bongo" Shilasi 3. Josphat "Controller" Murila 4. Haggai "Shama Shama" Mirikau 5. Abdul Baraza 6. Noah Wanyama 7. Paul Maungu 8. Tony Lidonde 9. Wilberforce Mulamba NB.....THIS IS A SERIAL LIST NOT A POSITIONAL ONE. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Njunge wrote:@Kadonye, wow!!...wow...Kweli wewe ni babie.Motcom was one of the finest team in the 80s and 90s.The bulk of AFC players in those days came from Motcom.The team was coached by Chris Makokha and was chiefly fed by Kakamega high "Green commandos",Musingu, and a host other high schools from the region.....BTW,Motcom was the then Ministry of Transport and Communication....Sawa?.lol This same Chris Makokha doubled up as the Coach for the Green Commandos and the Physics Teacher for "A"-Level students at Kakamega High. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
John Kiplagat, Gor Mahia.
I have KPL team (K'Ogalo), I have my club jersey, I attend the matches and intend to become a season ticket holder once that option is available. Most of all, I don't watch the premier league anymore, I stopped supporting any team and it feels damn good. I encourage most to try it. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
@Nostopping,There's is no match against Western Stima this Weekend. The game has been rescheduled to Saturday 31st July 2010. This is due to the on coming international duty(under 20 game) Kenya VS Sudan...sukari twailamba 31st. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
@Njunge and Mwenza am impressed at the kind of history you guys have on the KPL keep it up and to all football fans lets attend the matches live in the stadium to support our boys. I have no beef with the EPL only that we need to divert some of that energy to our stadiums and things will be bright. Attending the matches is more lively than watching it on Supersport. Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
@Ja-kom, Aiii....Western Stima is a KPLC outfit....and if i am not wrong,they are coached by former KCC and Mumias sugar FC winger Mark Sirengo.Such a lively lad on the left wing during his days. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njunge wrote:@Ja-kom, Aiii....Western Stima is a KPLC outfit....and if i am not wrong,they are coached by former KCC and Mumias sugar FC winger Mark Sirengo.Such a lively lad on the left wing during his days. @ Guka..your knowledge on kenyan football is exceptional ....you can quit your day job confortably..
Njunge wrote:@Ja-kom, Aiii....Western Stima is a KPLC outfit....and if i am not wrong,they are coached by former KCC and Mumias sugar FC winger Mark Sirengo.Such a lively lad on the left wing during his days. @ Guka..your knowledge on kenyan football is exceptional ....you can quit your day job comfortably..
@nostopin', to coach or commentate??....there is no money in Kenya but thanks for the compliment. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
K'ogallo, gor gor mahia, k'ogallo gor timbe duto ywaaakni.......mathare ywak....gor... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Sports
KENYAN PREMIER LEAGUE