wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Electrical wire colour codes
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2009 2:01:00 PM

Im trying to repair my xtension cable bt cant tell which wire is what. The colours are black,blue,brown...Pliz demystify on which one is earth,live and neutral. Google not of much help.

Can silence be misquoted?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2009 2:11:00 PM

Hey guys,anyone?

Outvestor
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 1:29:00 AM

AFAIK,Your power extension is intended for a 3-wire earthed DC Power System.
The 'black' is actually 'grey' for which case;
BROWN = Positive
BLUE = Ground
'BLACK' = Negative

If u r using it on the kawaida power (AC),don't take it at face value,Open huko mwiso & judge which cable connects to which point when in working position. Else tafuta mjuaji.

http://www.allaboutcircu...com/vol_5/chpt_2/2.html

I came,I saw and was overcharged.
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 4:03:00 AM

@outvestor,oops! Then im as lucky as hell,ningefanya blunder mbaya.

Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 5:28:00 AM

brown should be live.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
chris79
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 5:58:00 AM

You guys seem to have a death wish for simon. Actually blue is the live wire,brown is ground and black neutral. Thimioni apparently you have more enemies than you thought...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
Djinn
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:07:00 AM

@chris79 - are you sure? I did the same thing (re-plugging an extension cable) a few weeks ago and so far nothing has blown up or melted. Then again,I could be colour blind....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
sheep
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:14:00 AM

wee...wee...wee...wee...Is the dude really alive after that advice? I think someone should call 911
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:17:00 AM

@kondoo hehehehe ...I aint touching that thing!

#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:20:00 AM

Pre-1977 IEE
Pre-2004 IEE
Current IEC

Protective earth (PE)
Green
Green/yellow bi-colour

Neutral (N)
Black
Black
Blue

Single phase: Live (L)
Three phase: L1
Red
Red
Brown

Three phase: L2
Yellow
Yellow
Black

Three phase: L3
Blue
Blue
Grey

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:20:00 AM

@Simonkabz;

here are the standard colour codes:

Current IEC

Protective earth (PE)
Green/yellow bi-colour

Neutral (N)
Blue

Single phase: Live (L)
Three phase: L1
Brown

Three phase: L2
Black

Three phase: L3
Grey

T
The last three marked L1 L2 and L3 are all live...so-called three phases.

To avoid confusion for domestic installation,Kenya uses

BROWN = LIVE

BLUE = NEUTRAL

GREEN/YELLOW = EARTH

If your extension cable doesn't have these colours,just throw it into the dust-bin and buy another one!!!

Usicheze na stima!!!

Making the wrong connection will certainly spoil your gadgets and potentially kill you...or your family!!!

1,000 bob isn't too much to ask for safety assurance,is it?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:21:00 AM

And another one for decoding.... kwani we dont have electricians/engineers today????

L1
L2
L3
Neutral
Ground/
protective earth

United States (common practice)1
Black
Red
Blue
White,or grey
Green,green/yellow striped,or a bare copper wire

United States (alternative practice)2
Brown
Orange (delta),or violet (wye)
Yellow
Grey,or white
Green

Canada (mandatory)[5]
Red
Black
Blue
White
Green,or bare copper

Canada (isolated three-phase installations)[6]
Orange
Brown
Yellow
White
Green

European Union,and all countries who use European CENELEC standards April 2004 (IEC 60446),Hong Kong from July 2007
Brown
Black
Grey
Blue
Green/yellow striped4

Older European (IEC 60446,varies by country6)
Black,or brown
Blue
Green/yellow striped5

UK until April 2006,Hong Kong until April 2009,South Africa,Malaysia
Red
Yellow
Blue
Black
Green/yellow striped (green on installations approx. before 1970)

Pakistan
Red
Yellow
Blue
Black
Green

India
Red
Yellow
Blue
Black
Green

Australia and New Zealand (per AS/NZS 3000:2007 Figure 3.2)
Red3
White3 (prev. yellow)
Dark Blue3
Black3
Green/yellow striped (green on very old installations)

People's Republic of China (per GB 50303-2002 Section 15.2.2)
Yellow
Green
Red
Light blue
Green/yellow striped

Malaysia
Red
Yellow
Blue
Black
Green,or green/yellow striped

#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:30:00 AM

@Thimioni,
Follow Mukiha's advice.Do not monkey........and if you have doubts,ask Eddiemundu what happened the day he merged black and red.........,assuming you are still alive...-:)

Old man about town....
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:39:00 AM

@guka,dont want to imagine what would happen if 240v go thr my nuts woi!

#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:45:00 AM

Simioni,

I think it's better you follow Mukiha's advice and buy a new cable,

Alternativle open up the thing and make sure live goes to live and neutral goes to neutral no matter the colours!!!!

.......siku hizi ni AC so utaruka tu,ushtuke and then you will be fine!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:52:00 AM

@mc,nitaifungua,then write a will including who will inherit the cable,then try it out eyes tightly closed heh!

#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:56:00 AM

@thimioni

i hope those who have tried helping you here will be at the top of the inheritance list.... like me. @Mcrg can have the cable...(am even helping you with the list)

#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:09:00 AM

@wendz hahaha wewe utapata fridge,iko na mútura ndani yake,na ugali ya jana. Jowa atapata simu,atafute bibi kwa contacts. Mc namwachia bill ya stima,mlefu a few worn tyres,n 2b fair n just,wacheni murenj apate hiyo cable hehehe

kaza
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:32:00 AM

It looks like you bought a cheap cable from Tajikistan.

Invest in another cable,cheap is expensive in the long run.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:32:00 AM

@simon;

Na mimi je?

Mbona unanisahau na ni mimi nili ku-advise the best?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)