Electrical wire colour codes
Im trying to repair my xtension cable bt cant tell which wire is what. The colours are black,blue,brown...Pliz demystify on which one is earth,live and neutral. Google not of much help. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Hey guys,anyone? Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
AFAIK,Your power extension is intended for a 3-wire earthed DC Power System. The 'black' is actually 'grey' for which case; BROWN = Positive BLUE = Ground 'BLACK' = Negative If u r using it on the kawaida power (AC),don't take it at face value,Open huko mwiso & judge which cable connects to which point when in working position. Else tafuta mjuaji. http://www.allaboutcircu...com/vol_5/chpt_2/2.html
I came,I saw and was overcharged. ¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
@outvestor,oops! Then im as lucky as hell,ningefanya blunder mbaya. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
brown should be live.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
You guys seem to have a death wish for simon. Actually blue is the live wire,brown is ground and black neutral. Thimioni apparently you have more enemies than you thought...
Be the change you want to see in the world...
@chris79 - are you sure? I did the same thing (re-plugging an extension cable) a few weeks ago and so far nothing has blown up or melted. Then again,I could be colour blind....
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
wee...wee...wee...wee...Is the dude really alive after that advice? I think someone should call 911 The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
@kondoo hehehehe ...I aint touching that thing! Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Pre-1977 IEE Pre-2004 IEE Current IEC Protective earth (PE) Green Green/yellow bi-colour Green/yellow bi-colour Neutral (N) Black Black Blue Single phase: Live (L) Three phase: L1 Red Red Brown Three phase: L2 Yellow Yellow Black Three phase: L3 Blue Blue Grey
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
@Simonkabz; here are the standard colour codes: . Current IEC Protective earth (PE) Green/yellow bi-colour Neutral (N) Blue Single phase: Live (L) Three phase: L1 Brown Three phase: L2 Black Three phase: L3 Grey T The last three marked L1 L2 and L3 are all live...so-called three phases. To avoid confusion for domestic installation,Kenya uses BROWN = LIVE BLUE = NEUTRAL GREEN/YELLOW = EARTH If your extension cable doesn't have these colours,just throw it into the dust-bin and buy another one!!! Usicheze na stima!!! Making the wrong connection will certainly spoil your gadgets and potentially kill you...or your family!!! 1,000 bob isn't too much to ask for safety assurance,is it? Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
And another one for decoding.... kwani we dont have electricians/engineers today????
L1 L2 L3 Neutral Ground/ protective earth United States (common practice)1 Black Red Blue White,or grey Green,green/yellow striped,or a bare copper wire United States (alternative practice)2 Brown Orange (delta),or violet (wye) Yellow Grey,or white Green Canada (mandatory)[5] Red Black Blue White Green,or bare copper Canada (isolated three-phase installations)[6] Orange Brown Yellow White Green European Union,and all countries who use European CENELEC standards April 2004 (IEC 60446),Hong Kong from July 2007 Brown Black Grey Blue Green/yellow striped4 Older European (IEC 60446,varies by country6) Black,or brown Black,or brown Black,or brown Blue Green/yellow striped5 UK until April 2006,Hong Kong until April 2009,South Africa,Malaysia Red Yellow Blue Black Green/yellow striped (green on installations approx. before 1970) Pakistan Red Yellow Blue Black Green India Red Yellow Blue Black Green Australia and New Zealand (per AS/NZS 3000:2007 Figure 3.2) Red3 White3 (prev. yellow) Dark Blue3 Black3 Green/yellow striped (green on very old installations) People's Republic of China (per GB 50303-2002 Section 15.2.2) Yellow Green Red Light blue Green/yellow striped Malaysia Red Yellow Blue Black Green,or green/yellow striped
@Thimioni, Follow Mukiha's advice.Do not monkey........and if you have doubts,ask Eddiemundu what happened the day he merged black and red.........,assuming you are still alive...-:) Old man about town.... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@guka,dont want to imagine what would happen if 240v go thr my nuts woi! Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Simioni, I think it's better you follow Mukiha's advice and buy a new cable, Alternativle open up the thing and make sure live goes to live and neutral goes to neutral no matter the colours!!!! .......siku hizi ni AC so utaruka tu,ushtuke and then you will be fine!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@mc,nitaifungua,then write a will including who will inherit the cable,then try it out eyes tightly closed heh! Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@thimioni
i hope those who have tried helping you here will be at the top of the inheritance list.... like me. @Mcrg can have the cable...(am even helping you with the list)
@wendz hahaha wewe utapata fridge,iko na mútura ndani yake,na ugali ya jana. Jowa atapata simu,atafute bibi kwa contacts. Mc namwachia bill ya stima,mlefu a few worn tyres,n 2b fair n just,wacheni murenj apate hiyo cable hehehe Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
It looks like you bought a cheap cable from Tajikistan.
Invest in another cable,cheap is expensive in the long run.
@simon; Na mimi je? Mbona unanisahau na ni mimi nili ku-advise the best? Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Electrical wire colour codes