wazua Fri, Jun 27, 2025

80 Pages«<787980
411 on dividend and AGM
Ericsson
#1581 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2025 6:55:27 AM

And the issue of dividends is very hot and even Paul Russo has spoken on it in several interviews.

I believe the KCB Board will try to balance growth and dividends moving forward.

What is he doing about it?
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#1582 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2025 2:38:19 PM

Ericsson wrote:
And the issue of dividends is very hot and even Paul Russo has spoken on it in several interviews.

I believe the KCB Board will try to balance growth and dividends moving forward.

There are good reasons why they are not paying.

1) Some subsidiaries are not remitting their profits but using them for growth.

2) Regional expansion.

This leaves less money for distribution as dividends.

What happens moving forward?

1) At some point subsidiaries will start remitting more and more of their profits depending on growth requirements which is not linear. Growth requirements are higher at the beginning.

2) Regional expansion is not is not an annual thing. You don't go to new country/market every year.

And the two above are not even bad things. If they can continuously and profitably invest in growth even better!!
watesh
#1583 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 8:41:36 AM

Ericsson wrote:

2) Regional expansion.

1) At some point subsidiaries will start remitting more and more of their profits depending on growth requirements which is not linear. Growth requirements are higher at the beginning.

2) Regional expansion is not is not an annual thing. You don't go to new country/market every year.

And the two above are not even bad things. If they can continuously and profitably invest in growth even better!!

Just like having endless bullets might tempt a soldier to shoot wildly instead of aiming carefully, excess capital can lead to careless or undisciplined investments. KCB has the potential to suffer from this
wukan
#1584 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 8:53:00 AM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

2) Regional expansion.

Just like having endless bullets might tempt a soldier to shoot wildly instead of aiming carefully, excess capital can lead to careless or undisciplined investments. KCB has the potential to suffer from this

Yes that was my fear about KCB, having too many moving parts. The saving grace is that the board/CEO responds well to valid criticism. E.g. they stopped jumping into bed with GoK for quickie deals
#1585 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 10:21:08 AM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

2) Regional expansion.

We should point this out if and when it happens.

Naturally, the management, the board and the investors analyse the performance of each individual investment regardless of the performance of the group. That is why NBK had to be let go for example.
#1586 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 11:40:23 AM

Wavutaji sigara asanteni sana!!!

BAT dividends ndani, ndani, ndani kabisa!!

I hate what you guys are doing to yourselves but even if I didn't invest, you would still be smoking!!!

“I’ll tell you why I like the cigarette business. It cost a penny to make. Sell it for a dollar. It’s addictive. And there’s a fantastic brand loyalty.” - Warren Buffett

Tax regime ndio tu huwa shida!!! May be one day we will get a smokers friendly person in power. Or more likely a shareholder.

Oooops!!! I jumped the gun!! Kumbe nilipata za Coop nikadhani ni za BAT!!!

All the same, thanks in advance smokers!!!

Manzee! You had me excited too. I was going to call the registrar as to why I haven't seen the moolah. 25th June onwards for BAT

Sasa BAT dividends ziko ndani ndani!!!

Reinvest or eat the money! Ni pesa yako!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#1587 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 11:42:08 AM

I hate what you guys are doing to yourselves but even if I didn't invest, you would still be smoking!!!

“I’ll tell you why I like the cigarette business. It cost a penny to make. Sell it for a dollar. It’s addictive. And there’s a fantastic brand loyalty.” - Warren Buffett

Wavutaji sigara, it's me again!!

Asanteni!!!
#1588 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 12:35:06 PM

Asanteni!!!

As always YoY Drool Drool Drool
#1589 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 3:21:10 PM

wukan wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

2) Regional expansion.

Yes that was my fear about KCB, having too many moving parts. The saving grace is that the board/CEO responds well to valid criticism. E.g. they stopped jumping into bed with GoK for quickie deals
Do they have a choice when "asked" by SH?
2027 ni karibu.
#1590 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 3:24:06 PM

Asanteni!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sweet dividend!

BTW, have you seen the dividend announcement for KTC and WTK? smile smile smile Applause Applause Applause
#1591 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 3:54:01 PM

DTK ndani, ndani, ndaaani!!
Monk
#1592 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2025 4:08:29 PM

Asanteni!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sweet dividend!

BTW, have you seen the dividend announcement for KTC and WTK? smile smile smile Applause Applause Applause

A welcome drop in their prices (WTK&KTC) underway :)...speculators don't seem interested in the bonus issue