Investor
Stocks
STOCKS TO SELL by yaserbigchair
Rank: Member Joined: 2/15/2010 Posts: 145 Location: Kenya
obiero wrote:Stocks to avoid 01.04.2025: cabl, carb, cgen, egad, evrd, ftgh, hafr, kapc, knre, kurv, och, msc, nmg, port, sasn, sgl, smer, tclk, uchm, unga, xprs Carbacid doesn't belong here- consistent dividends, little debt, lot's of liquidity, diversified investments; bonds, sanlam, TOL, property. And does anybody know the name/location of this property?
Rank: Member Joined: 2/15/2010 Posts: 145 Location: Kenya
VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth.
DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,187 Location: Nairobi
McGill wrote:DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend. I do not support smoking. I think it is a nasty habit. As an investor, I think there are regulatory headwinds but BAT is a well-run firm. BAT is a great DIVIDEND play that is not matched by any bank. SCBK is as close as it gets but the (possible) 30bn pension cases looms above it. No doubt buying most banks at the right price could beat BAT in the next 5 years but these come with risks too esp with NPLs. Look at KCB and Equity though the (now) lower prices make them far more attractive. I also want some diversification away from banks which dominate my portfolio. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend. I do not support smoking. I think it is a nasty habit. As an investor, I think there are regulatory headwinds but BAT is a well-run firm. BAT is a great DIVIDEND play that is not matched by any bank. SCBK is as close as it gets but the (possible) 30bn pension cases looms above it. No doubt buying most banks at the right price could beat BAT in the next 5 years but these come with risks too esp with NPLs. Look at KCB and Equity though the (now) lower prices make them far more attractive. I also want some diversification away from banks which dominate my portfolio. I get your point about the dividend. I have a few concerns. 1. The payout is great but the amount is likely to reduce as profits fall. 2. Capital gains seems to me as a better way to increase wealth in our mkt at the moment. I talked to you about Kenyare late last year and i held kenya-re from 1.1 in late Nov to around 1.75 in March. Jumped into kplc and kengen which are now up in double digits. BAT would have to hit 900 to match the return I got from late Nov to now. 3. I have seen less sophisticated investors and even newbies get impressive portfolio gains in the last year while BAT is just there. Holding BAT is expensive in terms of opportunity cost
VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend. I do not support smoking. I think it is a nasty habit. As an investor, I think there are regulatory headwinds but BAT is a well-run firm. BAT is a great DIVIDEND play that is not matched by any bank. SCBK is as close as it gets but the (possible) 30bn pension cases looms above it. No doubt buying most banks at the right price could beat BAT in the next 5 years but these come with risks too esp with NPLs. Look at KCB and Equity though the (now) lower prices make them far more attractive. I also want some diversification away from banks which dominate my portfolio. I am also heavily invested in Banks. A huge percentage of my portfolio. But sasa surely which other companies do we invest in in this economy? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,187 Location: Nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend. I do not support smoking. I think it is a nasty habit. As an investor, I think there are regulatory headwinds but BAT is a well-run firm. BAT is a great DIVIDEND play that is not matched by any bank. SCBK is as close as it gets but the (possible) 30bn pension cases looms above it. No doubt buying most banks at the right price could beat BAT in the next 5 years but these come with risks too esp with NPLs. Look at KCB and Equity though the (now) lower prices make them far more attractive. I also want some diversification away from banks which dominate my portfolio. I am also heavily invested in Banks. A huge percentage of my portfolio. But sasa surely which other companies do we invest in in this economy? BAT  but I understand why not for younger folks. I want steady/reliable dividends. BAT is 350xd so let's say I buy now and get 45/- for FY25 = 12.8% gross. That's like a 7-year IFB on a net basis with the chance of increased EPS and DPS. *Yes, I could also lose money if the price drops or DPS drops. Perhaps I should wait for folks to sell down to 300! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:DtheK wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:McGill wrote:yaserbigchair wrote:PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down. Challenges of illicit trade, however the GOVT. is really fighting this time around. Lower purchasing power. Regulatory concern about oral nicotine poaches, however this can change fast and make a huge turnaround. I am holding a STRONG SELL for now. 320 BUY LONG TERM - HOLD coz a 11.5% return is not bad if the dividends goes down to 40. Opportunity cost. Why hold BAT when there are companies growing at double digits and with easier growth paths. Ama kuna watu wanapenda tu kuteseka. Name a few and we can compare. As @Angelica pointed out... the DPS is dope. DPR is 80-100%. The DY, even at current prices, is like a T-Bond. Anyway, leta your candidates tuongee Have to agree with @McGill almost all banks beat BAT in top & bottom line plus dividend growth. VVS you have been answered. And to quote Yaser "PBT down 19% PAT down 19% DIVIDEND down". It is hard to see how they will reverse this trend. I do not support smoking. I think it is a nasty habit. As an investor, I think there are regulatory headwinds but BAT is a well-run firm. BAT is a great DIVIDEND play that is not matched by any bank. SCBK is as close as it gets but the (possible) 30bn pension cases looms above it. No doubt buying most banks at the right price could beat BAT in the next 5 years but these come with risks too esp with NPLs. Look at KCB and Equity though the (now) lower prices make them far more attractive. I also want some diversification away from banks which dominate my portfolio. I am also heavily invested in Banks. A huge percentage of my portfolio. But sasa surely which other companies do we invest in in this economy? BAT  but I understand why not for younger folks. I want steady/reliable dividends. BAT is 350xd so let's say I buy now and get 45/- for FY25 = 12.8% gross. That's like a 7-year IFB on a net basis with the chance of increased EPS and DPS. *Yes, I could also lose money if the price drops or DPS drops. Perhaps I should wait for folks to sell down to 300! I am also in BAT. Dividends are good. Growth ndio sijui itatoka wapi. But for now I happily eat the dividends. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Investor
Stocks
STOCKS TO SELL by yaserbigchair