wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

4 Pages«<234
Safaricom results-what's your take?
The Phantom
#61 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 6:07:00 PM

@ avid
Maybe you should ask yourself why? One key to success to any technological based company is to keep up with the latest technology in the market. this ensures you stay ahead of the pack in terms of services you can offer your customers. Lest you become obsolete like those telkom booths that have become bedrooms for watchies.I think safkom has done a good job on that....their 3G technology (the only operator offering that currently) shall ensure an increase in revenue from data eventually countering the effects of shrinking ARPU. Buying of Onecom-the IT company has defnately to do with 4G/wimax technology - the future of telecommunications. The revolutionary money tranfer service Mpesa that has double digit growth in revenue and registered users. Currently they have the widest coverage in the country. At the moment their ARPU may be challenged by the vukas and 1/= tariffs but thats just temporary.Frankly how many of you out there vukad and flushed down the toilet their saf line.Do saf numbers in your phonebook outnumber other operator's numbers? Hate it or love it Saf will continue to be ahead of the pack for a while...check out his link on MJ's analysis of the competition. http://www.bloomberg.com...ca&sid=aHPJB5tB81.4
Thats just my thoughts.....feel free to disregard

Live life ...and let live
......If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart....
skatotsi
#62 Posted : Sunday, April 19, 2009 5:35:00 AM

Anyone knows when the SCOM results will be out?

Mors Tua,Vita Mea. (latin)
Pierce
#63 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 5:31:00 AM

Not sure of the date but they are good. Let's talk when they are actually out.
virji1988
#64 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 5:49:00 AM

hey pierce... How do u justify that the results willl be good??
Pierce
#65 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 6:22:00 AM

Sorry I cannot divulge any info here on specifics. However Scom barely had any serious competition in the year under review. M-Pesa has become a monster that's unstoppable....
jerry
#66 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 7:33:00 AM

@Pierce. I thot M-Pesa doesn't belong to Scom.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Pablo
#67 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 9:13:00 AM

Infact Mpesa is causing a strain on Safcoms cashflows. I understand that they pay Vodaphone a dollar or so upfront for each person subscribing to the service and then wait to earn the same from transaction fees. I believe it takes time to recoup the dollar. To safcom this service is yet to yeild +ve cashflows.

Be greedy when others are fearful,be fearful when others are greedy.
Raheel
#68 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 10:41:00 AM

Safaricom declared 1/2 yr net profit of Ksh 6.2 Bil,my estimate best case net profit will be around Ksh 13.8 Bil,this will be about the same as per prior year,means at best case single digit growth with dividend remaining same. I not expecting a miracle

My two cents

Raheel
Pierce
#69 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 12:24:00 PM

@Raheel.....do you expect them to give a dividend?
skatotsi
#70 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 5:14:00 PM

lets continue with this one

Mors Tua,Vita Mea. (latin)
stockyt
#71 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 8:48:00 PM

@Pablo,if what you say about mpesa is true,then MJ should expect proper grilling at his first shareholder agm bec it rather smells of underhand vodafone exploitation. if anything they are the ones should be paying safcon for testing the 'invention'. At any rate i just dont see any major cost of operating mpesa.
novestor
#72 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:48:00 AM

They usually announce their results at the same time with vodafone UK and use the same language,i guess the same auditors. Last year results came 29th May 2008. My take; Vodafone UK will decide how to play this one,MJs hands are tied,but Vodafone is actually showing Kenyans some madharau here and there like snatching M-Pesa and forcing safcom use its proceeds to buy equipment and expertise from/through Vodafone itself. Share seems to be picking up

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#73 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 8:26:00 AM

Ati,vodafone should pay safaricom for 'testing the invention'... LOL... get serious... even if they 'paid' safcon,the bottomline is that safcon licenses M-Pesa from vodafone.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
jerry
#74 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 1:13:00 PM

@VVS. May be you can remind us the ownership structure in Safcom. I'll sell all my Safcom shares at current rates.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#75 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 6:13:00 PM

Vodafone (not PLC but thru another 'offshore' entity) = 35%
mobitelea (moi,biwott,wako & thieves) = 5% (thru the offshore entity)
Public (foreign + local) traded on NSE = 25%
GoK = 35%

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
njamba
#76 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 7:56:00 AM

media briefing tomorrow at 7.30am meaning 10% rule will be waived tomorrow
mozenrat
#77 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:36:00 AM

Mobitelea is not a shareholder of Safaricom.... It owns shares in Vodafone Kenya (a private company) which in turns owns shares in Safaricom... I know you'll rain hell on me lakini fact remains,thieves or not,you have no say in the shareholding of a private company (Vodafone Kenya)...period!
fullmwejoyo
#78 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:56:00 AM

I had some argument with an informed team and it looks like we should expect something unusual.........watch out
novestor
#79 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:00:00 AM

Vodafone UK gives a 6%(results out today as per prediction below) dividend yield despite fall in profits,their policy on dividend:
1. Increase shareholder gains,currently pay 60% of profit payout. This amounts to a 6% dividend yield against share price.

So if vodafone is influential in safaricom dividend policy,expect a dividend of at least 13bil* .6= 7.8bill payout,per share 0.195 cents per share.
Disclaimer,i am no guru

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#80 Posted : Saturday, November 25, 2023 10:14:35 PM

I wonder where most of these heads went

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45