wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Withholding tax on dividends goes up from 5% to 15%
Receptor
#1 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 8:59:37 AM

It seems that Oxford Ndii and his miwani ya kamba has convinced Zakayo-mporaji to hit wazua upper deck people like @mighty VVS and @obiero where it hurt most. Dividends.

Going forward you will pay 15% witholding tax on the measly dividends you receive from the likes of KCB and DTB.

All indicators show are that mzee @VVS will be forced to come out of retirement at a young age of 63 years and look for kibarua for sustenance. Dividends from his mediocre portfolio at the casino can no longer support his modest lifestyle.

Baba should declare Fridays to be upper deck people maandamano day. Zakayo mporaji must go.
xtina
#2 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 10:02:52 AM

Receptor wrote:
It seems that Oxford Ndii and his miwani ya kamba has convinced Zakayo-mporaji to hit wazua upper deck people like @mighty VVS and @obiero where it hurt most. Dividends.

Going forward you will pay 15% witholding tax on the measly dividends you receive from the likes of KCB and DTB.

All indicators show are that mzee @VVS will be forced to come out of retirement at a young age of 63 years and look for kibarua for sustenance. Dividends from his mediocre portfolio at the casino can no longer support his modest lifestyle.

Baba should declare Fridays to be upper deck people maandamano day. Zakayo mporaji must go.

This is extremely disappointing Sad Sad Sad what can we do to fight this?
My 2 cents
#3 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 10:54:28 AM

So much for the new administration supporting the growth of the NSE.
This is yet another nail in the coffin. Listed companies pay 30% corporate tax, then shareholders to pay another 15%!!!! That is a crazy 45%!!!

There is nowhere the NSE is going. Bear market forever.
My 2 cents
#4 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 11:28:37 AM

That story about increase of withholding taxes on bond interest and dividends has now been withdrawn from Business Daily. Presumably for editorial review. We live in a crazy country. There is zero predictability in taxes year upon year. Business cannot thrive with such tax unpredictability. Why does the government have to change things around so radically every year? Businesses need to have an environment where they can do/plan multi-year strategies. This is impossible with the current environment.
littledove
#5 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 11:29:22 AM

Receptor wrote:

i dont think the information is true
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#6 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 1:29:24 PM

littledove wrote:
Receptor wrote:

@Receptor hakuna kitu kama upper deck, I am a comman man! @littledove You really can't be sure with the new regime. Meanwhile, expect treasury bills to continue rising as GoK needs funds urgently!

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
My 2 cents
#7 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 5:23:20 PM

littledove wrote:
Receptor wrote:

@Receptor hakuna kitu kama upper deck, I am a comman man! @littledove You really can't be sure with the new regime. Meanwhile, expect treasury bills to continue rising as GoK needs funds urgently!

A conman? First point of convergence between you and I Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Friday, May 05, 2023 9:37:20 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
littledove wrote:
Receptor wrote:

Hahaha.. Mambo imechemkaaa!

My 2 cents
#9 Posted : Saturday, May 06, 2023 8:24:41 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
littledove wrote:
Receptor wrote:

Just to clarify again, I mean that you and I both agree that YOU are a conman.
#10 Posted : Saturday, May 06, 2023 11:17:30 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
littledove wrote:
Receptor wrote:

Just to clarify again, I mean that you and I both agree that YOU are a conman.

The good thing with foolishness, is that it can't be hidden

My 2 cents
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2023 6:18:39 PM

5% to 15% WHT has been established as fake news.
Mark you, dividend receivers are several. From owners of shares in listed companies to members of SACCOs. The Government had better tread carefully.
They have caused enough angst with the raft of new taxes.
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 11, 2023 11:54:39 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
5% to 15% WHT has been established as fake news.
Mark you, dividend receivers are several. From owners of shares in listed companies to members of SACCOs. The Government had better tread carefully.
They have caused enough angst with the raft of new taxes.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @receptor (& his aliases) must be sad.

The 5% remains in place for LISTED securities.

I got my EABL interim dividend for the shares I sold at 195 Dancing
And I expect most of my banks to pay in May.

DTB watachelewa to June. Sad
Kenya Re and Jubilee in July. Sad