mpobiz wrote:Receptor wrote:Ruto's plan has always been to use and dump mlima folk. Unfortunately for him mlima folk are not cows. Let me remind all wazuans young and old that there is no election since 1992 that mlima has not had a formidable ethnic/regional political party. Ndindi Nyoro, Rigathi Gachagua and ilk should think very hard about what i am saying.
I reiterate....there is an urgent need for a mlima ethnic party whose patron is non other than HE Uhuru Kenyatta.The mlima ethnic party can then join Azimio, OKA or any other coalition.
Since Ruto has swallowed the bait, hook line and sinker, and challenged HE Uhuru for a duel hadharani, he will understand that it is only the foolish snake that bites the tortoise(Igbo proverb).
Mlima people with all their intellectual and economic abilities are not people to follow DP Ruto blindly,
Use and dump? How many times has Ruto run for president? Anyway mlima has decided. They can't trust their so called leader anymore. We have to keep our word however bitter it will be.
When people get married they promise to live together till death do us part. Lakini inafikanga pahali when one has to say "wacha hii harusi ikae" especially kama your partner has no respect. Perepepepe maiyaya, harusi imevunjika!
Also watu wa kumi kumi are pretending that WSR was not a Vice President and got his choice of 50% of cabinet. Wote wameshakula miaka kumi. So now back to reset.
The biggest selling points for WSR in Mount Kenya is a mix of fear mongering i.e. what will happen to the Kikuyus in Rift Valley if Mount Kenya doesn't vote for WSR and a focus on trying to divide Mount Kenya based on economic state i.e. the poor versus the rich.
Fear and Guilt Tripping should not be a valid reason for electing someone to the high office of Presidency especially one who is likely to lead the country down a path of grand corruption and anti-meritocracy. The plight of the poor in Mount Kenya especially the alcoholism among the youth and the men & the fate of the agricultural industry are issues which can be solved by initiatives such as those led by Irungu Nyakera that have turned around the tea industry by getting rid of the KTDA cartels.
Apart from the obvious problematic issues with WSR such as corruption, PEV and such, for the sake of diversity we are better off getting a president from Western Kenya. That way all Kenyans can see that they have a stake in this republic. This Kikuyu-Kalenjin dominance is setting the stage for future instability such as in Burundi or Rwanda. It helps the narrative of politicians of endlessly complaining about the country now but the fact is that Kenya is a great country to live in and needs to be appreciated and protected as much as possible.
But we do need to get out of this personality driven political system by further entrenching devolution and decentralizing power to the counties. That is what Raila initiated with a call for "Majimboism" which in the old times was misconstrued by Kibaki supporters to be dividing and splitting up the country.
Now that majimboism finally came through as devolution the fears that a lot of people were sold in those days have not materialized. I have to be admit that I was one of the people who was fooled and coerced into fearing the word majimbo then.
Unfortunately we humans for the most part are like sheep and it's difficult to be an independent thinker. That's why the likes of a pyramid scheme like Gakuo investment were bought in by a lot of people, people love buying either into irrational hype and hope or irrational fear.
In my opinion, Raila is not perfect but he is the better of the two by far for the long term prospects of this country.