wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

14 Pages«<45678>»
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
winston
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 2:09:04 PM

And on their way back from somalia drop another one on our mpigs!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 3:42:42 PM

winston wrote:
Even better, give our MPigs to the somalis. It will cause them even more damage!
qw25041985
#53 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 5:03:36 PM

@vvs. When u were preparing for the post pev damage that was to come.stacking up on those food stuffs and canned foods it never occurd to you at the corner most corner of your mind that Olympia Holdings and Everready were junk stocks and that you shld keep off from your portfolio. Hahahahahahaha .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
winston
#54 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:34:17 PM

winston wrote:
Even better, give our MPigs to the somalis. It will cause them even more damage!

#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:45:13 PM

winston wrote:

Our MPigs are deadly... They can even bankrupt Germany + Switzerland + China... All at once!
erifloss
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:50:25 AM

I'm new on this forum, its nice and very enlightening. On this topic, i'd prefer KCB and NIC to Equity as a good investment option. Why?
1. A large proportion of a financial institution's income is from interest which is mostly accrued and not received as of the time of closing the books. Thus as an ordinary shareholder and a depositor, protection lies with the fixed assets of the the company. Apart from the building at upperhill, what other assets does it hold? (others would argue vehicles 'depreciated in 5yrs', other branch buildings 'leased, the asset being the lease and not the building') the other assets 'investments' are held at market value dependent on fluctuations. Check its FS.
2. Remember the recession, the industry and who it affected, does lehman brothers, citigroup sound familiar....
3. If say i just pass more than 5billion through your bank every month, hw much would you make in interest if you invested it in a risk free investment. Who's got the financial muscle to have that kind of cash? 'political risk'
3. What would you rather have, 1million people with a cashflow of 10,000 pm or 10,000 people with a cashflow of1million pm in an economy where still more than half the populatiom lives under the poverty line and month on month inflation at times rises to 10%?
4. When you think of asset financing NIC and DTB comes to mind, corporate banking CBA, BBK, Stanchart, Stanbic, low int. corp loans citibank. Equity tried and failed. Sustainability.
5. If you started a business today, why would you go to equity? Is it to get a loan or for other services? And when your business expands would you stick with them?
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
qw25041985
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:03:08 AM

@vvs. Hahahaha.Ur mpigs can cause another credit crunch by suckin up all the worlds money. And i hav seen you hav evaded my comment ,it must be really painful. Next tym speculate wisely.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:56:04 AM

qw, I don't really get how you can be delighted that VVS or any one for that matter 'lost' money. Notice that you are the only person shouting yourself hoarse about it for weeks now. What is your motivation? We are not in competition with anyone. How come you don't mention great picks like kplc or even wtk? Such gloating comments such as 'must be painful' are unwarranted. Anyone has the freedom to buy whatever shares he/she wishes. Kama mtu anataka kuchukua loan anunue eveready, fine by me. Kutoka leo tumalize hii mambo.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 3:43:24 AM

erifloss wrote:
I'm new on this forum, its nice and very enlightening. On this topic, i'd prefer KCB and NIC to Equity as a good investment option. Why?
1. A large proportion of a financial institution's income is from interest which is mostly accrued and not received as of the time of closing the books. Thus as an ordinary shareholder and a depositor, protection lies with the fixed assets of the the company. Apart from the building at upperhill, what other assets does it hold? (others would argue vehicles 'depreciated in 5yrs', other branch buildings 'leased, the asset being the lease and not the building') the other assets 'investments' are held at market value dependent on fluctuations. Check its FS.
2. Remember the recession, the industry and who it affected, does lehman brothers, citigroup sound familiar....
3. If say i just pass more than 5billion through your bank every month, hw much would you make in interest if you invested it in a risk free investment. Who's got the financial muscle to have that kind of cash? 'political risk'
3. What would you rather have, 1million people with a cashflow of 10,000 pm or 10,000 people with a cashflow of1million pm in an economy where still more than half the populatiom lives under the poverty line and month on month inflation at times rises to 10%?
4. When you think of asset financing NIC and DTB comes to mind, corporate banking CBA, BBK, Stanchart, Stanbic, low int. corp loans citibank. Equity tried and failed. Sustainability.
5. If you started a business today, why would you go to equity? Is it to get a loan or for other services? And when your business expands would you stick with them?

erifloss, focussing on the mass market is an almost sure way of making money, and not only in banking. That is how equity rose in the game. It is sentiments exactly like yours (i.e. would you rather have 1 million people with a cashflow...) that made equity hot on the heels of 'corporate' banks such as barclays.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:31:26 AM

@youcant - Asante lakini usijali... I have ZERO eveready coz I dont buy merali firms including sasini & sameer...

I have not sold my Olympia until I go to the AGM... So not a huge loss except for ego + opportunity cost...

And thankfully the non-speculative investments in KK, KPLC & KPLC have done me so much, much, much better than Olympia paper losses!
14 Pages«<45678>»