Kenyan Oracle
#621 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 8:02:49 AM

https://www.businessdail...ce-to-safaricom-3430492

Licence has been given, now it's time to walk the talk. Time to crack the nut
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
kawi254
#622 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 10:37:21 AM

Kenyan Oracle wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/uhuru-in-ethiopia-to-witness-award-telecom-licence-to-safaricom-3430492

I wonder if it is wise to associate the Safaricom consortium in Ethiopia with Kenya Govt[Uhuru going for the license award]. small small tiffs between Kenya & Ethiopia could see a ODM resist kind of loss of subscribers. Orascom offices in Algeria get stoned when Algeria lose to Egypt in a football match.
Ericsson
#623 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 10:40:06 AM

kawi254 wrote:
Kenyan Oracle wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/uhuru-in-ethiopia-to-witness-award-telecom-licence-to-safaricom-3430492

I wonder if it is wise to associate the Safaricom consortium in Ethiopia with Kenya Govt[Uhuru going for the license award]. small small tiffs between Kenya & Ethiopia could see a ODM resist kind of loss of subscribers. Orascom offices in Algeria get stoned when Algeria lose to Egypt in a football match.

He was bored and looked for an escapade.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#624 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 12:14:05 PM

Kenyan Oracle wrote:

Details on source of funding for paying the license
Queen
#625 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 12:28:49 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Kenyan Oracle wrote:

Was the issue of the 5% ownership ever resolved/revealed? Therein could lie your answer.
Queen
#626 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2021 12:30:30 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kenyan Oracle wrote:

This information is extremely vital, I wonder why they have been so cagey about it.
Ericsson
#627 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2021 6:27:43 AM

Safaricom to Create Highest Quality Network in Ethiopia

Safaricom is betting on creating the highest quality network in Ethiopia to beat the competition in its new market. The company which recently won the bid for a telecommunications license in Ethiopia said it plans to use part of the $8.5 billion investment to establish the best quality network in the fast-developing nation.

Safaricom’s expansion into Ethiopia will partly be funded by the US sovereign wealth fund International Development Finance Corporation (IDFC) which signed a $500 million loan deal with the telecommunications company in December 2020. The rest of the funding will come from internal equity and other debt sources, the company said during a management call on Wednesday night.

The telecommunication giant revealed that it will maintain its dividend policy of distributing 80% of net profit to investors.
Ericsson
#628 Posted : Monday, July 05, 2021 2:44:55 PM

Safaricom appoints Mr Anwar Soussa as the Managing Director of the Operating company in Ethiopia reporting to the board of the entity and to the CEO of Safaricom PLC effective 1 July 2021.
Queen
#629 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2021 6:37:47 PM

Queen
#630 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2021 6:38:50 PM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Kenyan Oracle wrote:

This information is extremely vital, I wonder why they have been so cagey about it.

Now we know.

https://www.businessdail..._twitter_impression=true
Ericsson
#631 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2021 10:49:42 AM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
[quote=Kenyan Oracle]https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/uhuru-in-ethiopia-to-witness-award-telecom-licence-to-safaricom-3430492

Now we know.

https://www.businessdail...twitter_impression=true[/quote]

License fee of $850mn paid,they got other sources.
#632 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2021 9:11:51 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
[quote=Kenyan Oracle]https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/uhuru-in-ethiopia-to-witness-award-telecom-licence-to-safaricom-3430492

Now we know.

https://www.businessdail...twitter_impression=true[/quote]

License fee of $850mn paid,they got other sources.

Hapo sawa, China tops "plan B".
A New Kenya
#633 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2021 9:29:31 PM

Raila is one of the best engineers and philosphers in africa and the world. When he says we should take all our engineers for attachment in China, he knows his stuff!!
A New Kenya
Ericsson
#634 Posted : Sunday, July 18, 2021 11:29:39 PM

Raila is one of the best engineers and philosphers in africa and the world. When he says we should take all our engineers for attachment in China, he knows his stuff!!

How is this related to the thread
Monk
#635 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2021 2:35:39 PM

Monk wrote:
xtina wrote:
I boarded matatus and offered to pay by MPESA. All the condas refused, infact in one case I was politely asked to leave the mat if I don't have cash, which I did. In the other case, the conda shouted to the other passengers that they will not accept MPESA.

It seems hii mambo ya kulipa fare na MPESA will not be easy, matatu guys are simply stuck to their ways.

The matatu industry is special. Mpesa is now a universal payment system in Kenya. Si ata Ndege tunalipa na mpesa?
It's one thing paying 4k+ by M-Pesa and another paying 20-100 using M-Pesa.

No difference! I use Mpesa at the kiosk, shoe shine, barbershop, mama mboga and many other micro businesses.

You have CBK enforced waivers to thank for that. Before Covid, every single one of those micro businesses insisted I send them "pesa za kutoa", if i wanted to pay by M-pesa. From Jan2021, they'll revert back. Effectively, only the middle class, (about 30% of the population?) pays M-pesa fees. I would like to see the low income guys buy goods from you via "Pay Bill" with a fee, when they have the option to pay by cash.

As expected....
https://www.businessdail...ee-waiver-ends--3486520

Ericsson
#636 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2021 10:06:41 PM

Monk wrote:
Monk wrote:
xtina wrote:
I boarded matatus and offered to pay by MPESA. All the condas refused, infact in one case I was politely asked to leave the mat if I don't have cash, which I did. In the other case, the conda shouted to the other passengers that they will not accept MPESA.

It seems hii mambo ya kulipa fare na MPESA will not be easy, matatu guys are simply stuck to their ways.

The matatu industry is special. Mpesa is now a universal payment system in Kenya. Si ata Ndege tunalipa na mpesa?
It's one thing paying 4k+ by M-Pesa and another paying 20-100 using M-Pesa.

No difference! I use Mpesa at the kiosk, shoe shine, barbershop, mama mboga and many other micro businesses.

You have CBK enforced waivers to thank for that. Before Covid, every single one of those micro businesses insisted I send them "pesa za kutoa", if i wanted to pay by M-pesa. From Jan2021, they'll revert back. Effectively, only the middle class, (about 30% of the population?) pays M-pesa fees. I would like to see the low income guys buy goods from you via "Pay Bill" with a fee, when they have the option to pay by cash.

As expected....
https://www.businessdail...ee-waiver-ends--3486520

That's a material effect in income and profits
Ericsson
#637 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2021 9:32:32 PM

Ethiopian government clears way for Safaricom to introduce Mpesa
xtina
#638 Posted : Monday, August 09, 2021 8:36:56 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Ethiopia is such a mess right now I am not even sure this is good news. Dead Tigrayans are showing up in Sudan rivers and TPLF is gearing up ready for war. Communication systems in the country have been blocked and there's very little information coming out of that country.
Queen
#639 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2021 8:21:50 PM

xtina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Ethiopia is such a mess right now I am not even sure this is good news. Dead Tigrayans are showing up in Sudan rivers and TPLF is gearing up ready for war. Communication systems in the country have been blocked and there's very little information coming out of that country.

And now the Ethiopian government asks civilians to join the army as fighting escalates. Things are thick.
Ericsson
#640 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2021 10:51:32 AM

Queen wrote:
xtina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

And now the Ethiopian government asks civilians to join the army as fighting escalates. Things are thick.

Ethiopia is about to explode.
The largest ethnic group rebels Oromo liberation defence forces and Tigray people liberation forces have teamed up on a war against the government.