wazua Fri, Apr 19, 2024

7 Pages«<567
Weddings: The newest form of exploitation
#121 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 5:18:47 PM

Forester wrote:
While at it, what is reasonable dowry to pay for a Meru chic according to their traditions? I know of a guy who's been asked for over 0.5M. Ata kama dowry haishangi...seriously?!!!

That is an OK dowry, not easily affordable, ata lipa pole pole, people have paid much more for ngooood meru ladies, just pay for a relaxed atmosphere at home!
A New Kenya
#122 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 11:17:33 PM

Please don’t invite me to your wedding committee:

1. If it is the first time you are speaking to me after 3 years. If you are not my friend and I am not yours, why are you involving me in your life at this point and time?

2. If you can afford to foot your wedding budget. Asking people to help should be just that help. Not funding your lavish lifestyle.

3. If I have never met your fiancee. That just means that we are not friends. And I will only take time out for my friends, no apologies there.

4. If we have never been friends. Seeing you in church doesn’t mean that you are my friend.

https://njenvasramblings...m/tag/wedding-committee/
Kihara joni
#123 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 4:08:53 PM

I am starting to get alot of SMSs from friends who want contributions for

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.
I have decide to ignore most of them because i don't think you should ask everyone to help you to marry your wife,
what I have seen from where I am is that if any contribution is to be made the dad & uncles are the ones responsible.
so I wont contribute, but Ill show up at your wedding with a very fat gift.
#124 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 6:30:49 PM

I'm headed that way in a few months and I believe we are saying the same thing in different ways, we seem to agree on most of the core issues.

I'm a firm believer that our wedding is our wedding and no one else's. So I have saved for my entire dowry but my close friends and relatives all want to escort me because I have also walked with them in the past. So I won't begrudge them the opportunity to do so, it would simply unafrican. The extra funds can go to other areas of the wedding preparation.

We have also saved for the wedding and do not want a committee until the last few months strictly for logistic purposes. Quite a number of friends are already asking to be in the committee since they want to play a part, and once again, we won't begrudge them.

If it was up to me I'd only invite close friends and close relaz but our two families are massive and there's a very set extended family social dynamic that we can't ignore....so you find your relatives and parent's friends for both us already number 200 - 300, and that is a modest estimate. That is when a wedding starts stressing a couple and you see them going to such lengths to keep up with the Macharia's whose wealthy parents funded the fairy tale wedding to the cent! Thankfully, ni vizuri kua mtu wa watu, as McDoba asks, who do you hang out with?

Anyway, the long and short of it is that a wedding is very personal but is a social event for genuine close friends and relatives who are genuinely happy for you. The rest who come to see whether it was as high profile as theirs or whatever, those will not be around when you're having a marriage...

I also believe if you have set a good foundation and have put yourself in good stead with the chic's family, there would be person's in the dowry negotiation who would be against you being taken advantage of as the guy. Maybe I'm naive but hayo ndio maoni yangu...

@Smano congrats on your upcoming nuptials.

Word of advise... Arusi si yako, ni ya bibi. Achia bibi na marafiki wake waipange.

Yours is just to offer maximum support on the budget, pay dowry, get vehicles for the day, panga honeymoon and of course show up and enjoy yourself on the big day.
#125 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 10:56:21 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.
I have decide to ignore most of them because i don't think you should ask everyone to help you to marry your wife,
what I have seen from where I am is that if any contribution is to be made the dad & uncles are the ones responsible.

Bora hio very fat gift sio kitambi smile
#126 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2014 9:40:06 AM

I'm headed that way in a few months and I believe we are saying the same thing in different ways, we seem to agree on most of the core issues.

I'm a firm believer that our wedding is our wedding and no one else's. So I have saved for my entire dowry but my close friends and relatives all want to escort me because I have also walked with them in the past. So I won't begrudge them the opportunity to do so, it would simply unafrican. The extra funds can go to other areas of the wedding preparation.

We have also saved for the wedding and do not want a committee until the last few months strictly for logistic purposes. Quite a number of friends are already asking to be in the committee since they want to play a part, and once again, we won't begrudge them.

If it was up to me I'd only invite close friends and close relaz but our two families are massive and there's a very set extended family social dynamic that we can't ignore....so you find your relatives and parent's friends for both us already number 200 - 300, and that is a modest estimate. That is when a wedding starts stressing a couple and you see them going to such lengths to keep up with the Macharia's whose wealthy parents funded the fairy tale wedding to the cent! Thankfully, ni vizuri kua mtu wa watu, as McDoba asks, who do you hang out with?

Anyway, the long and short of it is that a wedding is very personal but is a social event for genuine close friends and relatives who are genuinely happy for you. The rest who come to see whether it was as high profile as theirs or whatever, those will not be around when you're having a marriage...

I also believe if you have set a good foundation and have put yourself in good stead with the chic's family, there would be person's in the dowry negotiation who would be against you being taken advantage of as the guy. Maybe I'm naive but hayo ndio maoni yangu...

@Smano congrats on your upcoming nuptials.

Word of advise... Arusi si yako, ni ya bibi. Achia bibi na marafiki wake waipange.

Yours is just to offer maximum support on the budget, pay dowry, get vehicles for the day, panga honeymoon and of course show up and enjoy yourself on the big day.

Guys need to read dates of posts. The wedding happened, we celebrated with @smano, accepted and moved on. They are in bliss now world like @washiku!
#127 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2014 9:43:56 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

Kihara joni
#128 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2014 3:41:26 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly of course kitambi itacome, I should at least leave with 50% of my gift cost in my stomach in form of mushere, mbaru and mukimo.
#129 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2014 3:51:42 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly of course kitambi itacome, I should at least leave with 50% of my gift cost in my stomach in form of mushere, mbaru and mukimo.

Kwani hiyo fat gift ni ya 2k shindwe!
#130 Posted : Wednesday, August 06, 2014 9:34:55 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

kitambi takes some investment, more than 2K

#131 Posted : Thursday, August 07, 2014 1:58:36 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

That kitambi I suspect is insured.
#132 Posted : Thursday, August 07, 2014 9:15:46 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

1) dowry
2) pre-wedding
3) wedding
4) wedding committees
5) sijui goat eating.

That kitambi I suspect is insured.

d'oh! you mean like j-lo's ASSets?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
pleasecallme
#133 Posted : Thursday, August 07, 2014 11:20:26 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Especially spendthrift!

Some even have the nerve to invite "friends" and committee members for a thanks giving "goat eating" a couple of weeks after the wedding only for them to get there and realize you need to buy an overpriced "flower" which is basically entry fee. You get in and realize the "goat eating party" doesn't even have a goat Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .

You kill bird...bird dead snake come.
urstill1
#134 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 10:21:41 AM

#135 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 11:35:40 AM

Kyssee,we should open a joint savings account for our wedding
WakaWaka
#136 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2021 1:38:11 PM

Did a job for this fella, hasn't paid me for 2 years halafu he has the nerve to invite me to be on his Wedding Commitee? Some people are shameless
#137 Posted : Thursday, March 04, 2021 5:19:11 PM

WakaWaka wrote:
Did a job for this fella, hasn't paid me for 2 years halafu he has the nerve to invite me to be on his Wedding Commitee? Some people are shameless

@WakaWaka, That's a good opportunity to meet up the guy and remind him of the pending matter. When he is wedding moods, an sure he will be obliged to pay as he enters a " new chapter" in his life