Profit after tax at sh.2.679bn compared to sh.2.528bn in 2019

https://mobile.twitter.c...3408582361456641/photo/1
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2020 6:09:29 PM

Wachana ha hii share pris smile.

The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker smile
Queen
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2020 8:09:28 PM

What do you mean by leaving?
winmak
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2020 7:16:44 AM

Queen wrote:

Haha CHAIR... nice one
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2020 8:32:04 AM

winmak wrote:
Queen wrote:

Haha CHAIR... nice one

This is a mzungu controlled company that can wake up one day and decide that they are leaving Kenya, Africa, de-list and minority shareholders has no say.

So let us enjoy while it lasts.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2020 11:32:39 AM

winmak wrote:
Queen wrote:

Haha CHAIR... nice one

This is a mzungu controlled company that can wake up one day and decide that they are leaving Kenya, Africa, de-list and minority shareholders has no say.

That pays a sweet dividend and doesn't have the drama of local firms. I like such firms over cons like HAFR and Tranny.
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2020 2:49:57 PM

winmak wrote:
Queen wrote:

Haha CHAIR... nice one

BAT Kenya was founded in 1907 and has been listed for 51 years since 1969. The company may be controlled from Europe but it is has been around for longer than all of us.
watesh
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2020 3:03:24 PM

[quote=Ericsson]Half year results are out.
Interim dividend @ksh.3.50 per share
Profit after tax at sh.2.679bn compared to sh.2.528bn in 2019

https://mobile.twitter.c...408582361456641/photo/1[/quote]

I see this as a good result despite it being the peak of covid fear and all the border challenges. Things should be going up from now...I can park some money here till I see how bad the banks are burnt.
kmucheke
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 07, 2020 4:05:32 PM

Blow for BAT as Health CS Kagwe declares Lyft illegal

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe has declared the registration of nicotine pouches, including BAT's popular product Lyft, illegal and wants them deregistered.

The ban follows intense lobbying by parents and anti-tobacco groups to have the Ministry of Health ban Lyft.

The Kenya Tobacco Control Alliance (Ketca) had raised concerns that Lyft is easily accessible and being abused by minors.

"A product that is highly addictive, which poses health risks, should not be sold freely. We want the nicotine product heavily taxed and regulated, just as we handle other tobacco products," said Ketca chairman Joel Gitali.

BAT announced early this year that it would build a Sh2.5 billion factory in Nairobi to produce the nicotine pouches.

However, BAT Kenya Head of Corporate Affairs Caroline Mavuti has indicated in a recent interview with Nation that Lyft is a tobacco-free modern oral nicotine pouch.

“It is made from high-quality ingredients, including pharmaceutical grade nicotine, water, eucalyptus and pine tree fibres, flavouring and sweeteners,” said Ms Mavuti.

#10 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2020 4:57:20 PM

kmucheke wrote:
Blow for BAT as Health CS Kagwe declares Lyft illegal

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe has declared the registration of nicotine pouches, including BAT's popular product Lyft, illegal and wants them deregistered.

The ban follows intense lobbying by parents and anti-tobacco groups to have the Ministry of Health ban Lyft.

The Kenya Tobacco Control Alliance (Ketca) had raised concerns that Lyft is easily accessible and being abused by minors.

"A product that is highly addictive, which poses health risks, should not be sold freely. We want the nicotine product heavily taxed and regulated, just as we handle other tobacco products," said Ketca chairman Joel Gitali.

BAT announced early this year that it would build a Sh2.5 billion factory in Nairobi to produce the nicotine pouches.

However, BAT Kenya Head of Corporate Affairs Caroline Mavuti has indicated in a recent interview with Nation that Lyft is a tobacco-free modern oral nicotine pouch.

“It is made from high-quality ingredients, including pharmaceutical grade nicotine, water, eucalyptus and pine tree fibres, flavouring and sweeteners,” said Ms Mavuti.

The tobacco lobby is very strong $$$
#11 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 7:21:56 AM

https://www.businessdail...icotine-pouches-2719520 BAT sees a future through the smoke on nicotine pouches
kmucheke
#12 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 9:11:56 AM

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/corporate/companies/bat-sees-a-future-through-the-smoke-on-nicotine-pouches-2719520 BAT sees a future through the smoke on nicotine pouches

It will be interesting to see how the will ward off the resistance from the Ministry of Health and the anti-tobacco lobby groups.
Balaa
#13 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 8:37:08 AM

MD resignation
https://mobile.twitter.c...5821155073187840/photo/1
If it don't make dollars, it don't make sense
Ericsson
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2021 4:45:09 PM

Final dividend ksh.41.5 per share.
Total dividend for FY2020 ksh.45 per share
Book closure 16 April 2021

https://mobile.twitter.c...399105373380608/photo/1

https://pbs.twimg.com/me...ormat=jpg&name=small
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2021 5:24:40 PM

[quote=Ericsson]Final dividend ksh.41.5 per share.

https://pbs.twimg.com/me...rmat=jpg&name=small[/quote]

Before tax DY at 10.6% based on my Average price of KShs 425. No regrets at all. Wapi mjamaa wa "NSE is a Casino, sell now!"
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2021 5:25:26 PM

Ebenyo
#17 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2021 6:44:31 AM

Before tax DY at 10.6% based on my Average price of KShs 425. No regrets at all. Wapi mjamaa wa "NSE is a Casino, sell now!"

Huyo jamaa ni mtu wa sportpesa.Akae huko kabisa.NSE is not gambling.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
babashuge
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2021 7:07:10 AM

I think I need to quit smoking, and buy BAT shares instead.
#19 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2021 9:01:39 AM

Thanks to @CNN whose comments drew my interest to this share in 2010. Tumemumunya dividends hapa which has repaid the initial purchase price of the shares.

Keep smoking smile
Monk
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 23, 2021 10:27:55 AM

Thanks to @CNN whose comments drew my interest to this share in 2010. Tumemumunya dividends hapa which has repaid the initial purchase price of the shares.

Keep smoking smile

Wow! You are living my dream :) And to think that when it recently fell to Ksh 300, I thought about wading in then grew cold feet.