wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

14 Pages«<34567>»
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
#41 Posted : Sunday, July 11, 2010 7:13:28 PM

I took profits at 23.50 previously, on the advise of @mukiha, and cant wait to get back in at sub 22.50. So as you debate on the political risks, I will also open an MKesho account which offers a much better deal than the KCB Mapato account (with KCB Connect) which I currently have. The Mapato account has never paid me an interest, charges a ledger fee of ksh 200 when the balance goes below ksh 50,000 (thats a Savings Account for you). KCB Connect also charges ksh 70 to move cash to MPesa, while MKesho will charge only ksh 30.
qw25041985
#42 Posted : Sunday, July 11, 2010 7:22:11 PM

Technically. Let wait 4 equity where it came from ksh 19.00 . I am also thinking of openin an mkesho a/c .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
yekeyeke
#43 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 10:59:15 AM

Okay @ youcantstopusnow.

I think it would be good for waithaka to start a post on how the referendum will make mabati raoling mills suffer due to the perseption that its controlled by a certaiun community in kenya. Or wy not discuss Bidco or unilever or even bradways bakeries. Who knows if NO wins maybe people will stop eating their bread.

Hii mambo ya kupiga the Gikuyu comminuty ni bure kabisa.

@ Waitahaka. May be you need to read the below info on this link.....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kikuyu_people

What would make you think that kikuyu bashing is all the craze? This will not in crease sufuria s of ugali in any plate.

LEts all work to build our country and stop this non-sence. Just because there is a perseption that the people are hardworking, no one should be hating.
#44 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:11:31 AM

@yekeyeke -

In 2008, it was the (mostly) innocent (mostly) Kikuyu/GEMA farmers in RV. In Kisumu, many shops (I think mostly Asian-owned) were destroyed/looted like Ukwala... BUT by far & large it was the Kikuyu/GEMA who bore the brunt... and mostly in RV... We can't have a repeat of that...

Asian businesses often suffer during election years due to political posturing & xenophobia. Think Serena (TPSEA). Even when there are no elections e.g. 1982 coup...

I betcha the next group to be targeted will be 'White' businesses mainly farms in 2012...

IMHO you missed @Waithaka's point coz MRM, Bidco or Broadway are NOT public companies so we can't directly invest in them while Equity is public so I am directly affected...

I believe Equity Bank is no longer a "Kikuyu" bank in its reach & breadth though the top 10 ownership reads otherwise... but that is expected coz it was started in Central less than 20 years ago...
yekeyeke
#45 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:45:04 AM

@ VituVingi

May be i am wrong, but are you stating that there is something wrong with anyone from central region/ GEMA stating a business?

Anyone from any part of the country can start a business and convinve the rest of the citizens to invest in it, if its a good business. What i am agains is this persetion being pedled around that its wrong for anyone from GEMA to start a business and if and when they do, they will always be labled tribalists and made to suffer when ever there are political events in the country.

Broadways, mabati and bidco will affect you should these events happen. Where will you get your bread, or roofing material or Kimbo from?

Remember that during the PEV of 2008, we could not even get to buy milk, meat and sukuma from the estate shop as these had been closed and or could not get supplies.

Tuanche siasa ya kumalizana.

#46 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:52:20 AM

@yekeyeke - I apologize if I didn't get my message across...
I think the balkanization in Kenya is WRONG but there seems to be an unfair bias against Kikuyus (it used to be Whites, then Asians) coz of the 'leaders' we have...
Remember 2007 election was often seen as GEMA vs 'rest of Kenyans'...

BTW, 80% of the Mama Mbogas who come to my estate are Kikuyu... Yes, I am like you... there was little food available immediately PEV 2008... I am lucky there is a large Nakumatt+Uchumi nearby... We stocked up on tinned + packaged foods!
Wa_ithaka
#47 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 12:17:23 PM

"Kuringana noria ndirona, Equity, tondu andu aingi maugaga niya Gikuyu nikagwa mwisho wa mweri uyu tugikia kura ya referendum"

Yekeyeke the above is a translation of this post for you. There seems to be a language barrier-thing going on here.

Btw, it’s good to hear you are such a patriot and love your tribe so much. Are you involved in any of the initiatives to help IDPs? If not, we are doing a project to raise around Ksh7m so we can buy land in Laikipia for some of the IDPs in Kipkelion and Molo. Leave your email address and I'll send you details
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
yekeyeke
#48 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 2:13:13 PM

@ Waithaka. I amy or may not be Gikuyu but IDP settlements is the work on Kibaki and his givenment as i already paid my taxes.
#49 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:03:42 PM

This share seems to have found stability at around 22-23 levels. If there was ever a time to get in, i would say it would be now. Of course if al-shabaab were to have other plans, that would change everything, and not just for equity...
#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 1:29:57 AM

I would not be upset if someone 'accidentally' dropped a low-grade nuclear bomb on somalia... Those guys have been nothing but trouble for us from supporting shiftas to smuggling to al-qaeda to violent demonstrations!

I hope our Kenyan Somali brothers can help us keep the somalian somalis out of Kenya!
14 Pages«<34567>»