wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

Hotel biashara
amorphous
#1 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 8:42:00 AM

I am SHOCKED that despite all these decades Wazoo has been in existence, there isn't a single thread dedicated to the hotel bizna.

The only ones I have seen are a kiosk type hotel thread, a4architects "piecemeal" hotel proposition and a few general threads but no dedicated thread.

Planning on launching a small hoteli in 6 months time. Toeni mawaidha jameni.

What are the big revenue streams from hotelis. So far I have the following;

-Fombe (of course the big money maker in Kiinya)
-Rooms for rent per day (I do not want to do per hour as you know what type of element that will attract Laughing out loudly
- Chakula - a la carte, buffet on weekends, choma on demand
- Car wash
- Hotel merch and specialty items
- Bike rides
- Pool use

Zingine?

Planning on starting very small and expanding organically with demand. The location is super (cannot disclose for now) and the traffic/footfall is incredible there as it is along one of Kiinya's major arteries.

Any other ideas on how to run a hoteli successfully?

Thanks in advance wanawazoo.

New Normal!
tinker
#2 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 10:35:05 AM

amorphous wrote:
I am SHOCKED that despite all these decades Wazoo has been in existence, there isn't a single thread dedicated to the hotel bizna.

The only ones I have seen are a kiosk type hotel thread, a4architects "piecemeal" hotel proposition and a few general threads but no dedicated thread.

-Rooms for rent per day (I do not want to do per hour as you know what type of element that will attract Laughing out loudly
- Car wash
- Bike rides
- Pool use

Zingine?

Planning on starting very small and expanding organically with demand. The
location is super (cannot disclose for now) = Secret revealed= DC, Along Namanga Rd.smile
and the traffic/footfall is incredible there as it is along one of Kiinya's major arteries.

....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Robins
#3 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 2:42:26 PM

amorphous wrote:

- Car wash
- Bike rides
- Pool use

Zingine?

Planning on starting very small and expanding organically with demand. The location is super (cannot disclose for now) and the traffic/footfall is incredible there as it is along one of Kiinya's major arteries.

I'm Shocked that you're going into this industry with your mentality. Congrats though for deciding to invest.
First, take things slow. Learn, gauge your market. By the 4th/5th week(end) you'll see the trend and know what to focus on.
Find the right people to talk to and to hire. Alcohol more profitable than food? There's an old thread somewhere about the fast birth and death of clubs and pubs. Look around and you'll see.
For rooms set your rate and standards and wait. The right clientele will come. Just be mindful of their privacy with your camera placements.
The rest are good. The car wash /choma combo works great.
All the best. But do some ground work first
Steer away from affectation at all costs, as if it were a rough and dangerous reef.
amorphous
#4 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 4:08:17 PM

tinker wrote:

Planning on starting very small and expanding organically with demand. The location is super (cannot disclose for now) = Secret revealed= DC, Along Namanga Rd.smile

hehehehe sisemi kitu.
New Normal!
amorphous
#5 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 4:12:29 PM

Robins wrote:

I'm Shocked that you're going into this industry with your mentality. Congrats though for deciding to invest.
First, take things slow. Learn, gauge your market. By the 4th/5th week(end) you'll see the trend and know what to focus on.
Find the right people to talk to and to hire. Alcohol more profitable than food? There's an old thread somewhere about the fast birth and death of clubs and pubs. Look around and you'll see.
For rooms set your rate and standards and wait. The right clientele will come. Just be mindful of their privacy with your camera placements.
The rest are good. The car wash /choma combo works great.
All the best. But do some ground work first

Interesting tips below:

http://www.kuzabiashara..../blog/restaurant-kenya/

If you're ready to put in 100 hours of work per week and committed to delivering the best food in town then it's high time you open a restaurant.

But success in this business can be notoriously elusive especially if you make some four common mistakes as observed in the Kenyan market.

Without wasting much time, let us focus on these mistakes and how you can rise above them to establish a McDonald's of your own.

1.Underestimating The Cost Of Setting Up

Unless you are planning to start a small kibanda somewhere in a dark corner of the country, a serious restaurant business requires one to invest generously. For instance you need to budget for:

Equipment: Ksh120,000 (Sufurias, utensils, gas cylinders, juice blenders, microwave, refrigerator etc.)

Restaurant Licenses: Ksh50,000 (Single business permit, food&hygiene license, food handler’s certificate, fire certificate and environment certificate).

Set Up Cost: Ksh350,000 (furniture, lighting, interior décor, wash-room equipment, cleaning equipment)

Supplies: You will also need to budget for basic supplies such as Charcoal, grocery, cooking oil, flour, rice, sugar, salt, potatoes, milk to start with. Total cost Ksh30,000.

kenyan currency

Rent: Unless you have your own premises, then you need to budget for at least Ksh30,000 to rent a large hall near a street with high human traffic.

If you’re planning to set up in the Central Business District (CBD) of a big city like Mombasa or Nairobi, then this cost may scale to a high of Ksh200,000 or even more.

Goodwill: Goodwill is a fee that landlords charge arising from the reputation that a premises has built over the years.

For instance a landlord with an office-to-let along Kenyatta Avenue will tend to charge more goodwill than one along River-Road because of reputation and types of customers who use the latter street instead of the former.

Not all landlords charge this fee. But if you’re planning to set up your restaurant in the CBD, then better be prepared to pay a Goodwill of at least Ksh1million or as high as Ksh20million.

Add all that cost and you will see that a small restaurant in an urban will require at least Ksh500,000 to start and sustain. More money will be needed to keep it going as you work hard to build a clientele.

2.Expecting To Break-Even In Less Than 6 Months

Most businesses require at least 24 months to break-even and restaurant business is no different. The first year of operation is a time to make many mistakes and the second year is a time to recover from the impact of those mistakes.

Don't be fooled that you can start making big money in a few months. Patience is a virtue that every restaurant owner should learn.

3.Starting Big, Milking It Dry and Dying Small

90% eateries start off quite well. The food tastes great, the smiles welcoming the customer are wide and the décor is in tip-top condition.However, just 6 months down the line, the services begin to deteriorate.

The taste that welcomed you fades away, prices climb, portion sizes start to shrink and the staff look sullen. The once impeccable décor slowly crumbles under the weight of under-investment. Eventually, the restaurant is milked dry and it bites the dust!

That's a very common story in the Kenyan restaurant industry. Don't be yet another victim of starting big and dying small. It's far wiser to start small and grow gradually by investing more in great services, outside catering, well-trained staff and decor.

4.Treating Chef and Serving Staff To Peanuts

You have a stunning location, great customers and wonderful suppliers but then you resort to hiring under-trained workers so you can underpay them and save a few more cents.

Well, that's equivalent to digging your own grave.Restaurant business, like any other service business, is highly sensitive to small changes in quality.

The moment you choose to compromise marks the beginning of your slow death. Moreover, underpayment of staff only increases chances of pilferage and negligence at the workplace – and this as you know means no good either.

Final Word

In order to start a successful restaurant you need three things (1)A great chef (2)A great location (3)A great concept. Always over-estimate your capital needs and be ready to evolve to suit changing market environment.

Lastly, don't be too cheap or too expensive – find a good working balance and abide by it.
New Normal!
amorphous
#6 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 4:30:52 PM

How to Start a Profitable Local Bar Business in Kenya

https://joon.co.ke/bar-business/

Local bars have become very popular in Kenya, especially in urban residential areas. There’s almost a bar in every corner of the street. And more are yet coming up. Why do you think so? Well, the answer is simple. Bar business is profitable.

That said, you must be curious and thinking, how do I get started.

Well, in this guide we take you though the process of starting your own bar local business in Kenya. We list all the licences involved in operating a legal bar in Kenya; we discuss the operations – challenges, survival and trends to follow to make it in the business.

And our hope is that by the time you finish reading this post, you’ll be ready to start your own successful business.

To start a successful local bar, first you need to;

How to start a bar business in Kenya

a. Obtain Licenses.

Licenses of businesses with alcohol involved are guided by “Mututho Laws”, officially known as the Alcohol Drinks Act, 2010. Each county has it’s own guidelines but these rules never stray too far from Mututho Laws.

County governments have been in between a rock and a hard place when it comes to making regulations. While they may want to curb excessive consumption of alcohol to find a place in the moral scale, alcohol does bring its revenue. This has led to so much corruption in the scene. Bribery and having the county turn a blind eye on some of these businesses are not so uncommon.

As dictated by law, here are the fees that are involved in running a local bar;

For premises situated within a city or municipality, the fee is 30,000 for 6 months and 50,000 for 1 year.
For premises in urban areas that are not a city or a municipality, the fee is 18,000 for 6 months and 30,000 for a year.
As for premises outside cities, municipalities or urban areas, the fee is 9,000 for 6 months and 15,000 for a year.

More licenses.

Other licenses needed to run a bar include;

County Single-Business Permit: – Every single business needs it and the price ranges from county to county.

Public Health License: – Budget for at least 6,000 shillings. Public Health officers issue it after inspecting the business and making sure it is fit.

Medical certificate: – This certificate involves individual workers. Every member of staff needs a medical certificate which goes for around 500 shillings.

Fire clearance certificate: – This involves seeking advice in terms of protection against fire, installing the necessary equipment usually fire extinguishers and paying for an inspection.

Music Copy Right Of Kenya: – All establishments involving music need this. It is based on sitting capacity. For 25 people, you’d need 2,331 Kenyan shillings.

Performers Rights Society of Kenya: – It is a collective management organization licensed by the Kenya Copyright Board to represent performers in musical and dramatic works. Their main objective is to collect and distribute royalties to artists.

National Environment Management Agency: – It costs 3,000 Kenyan shillings. It is used largely to ensure you don’t make too much noise.

b. Choose The Best Location.

When it comes to choosing the location for a bar, you should consider;

Cost: – By this, I refer to rent. For some, it’s easy because they may have land that they already own, but for most, it involves negotiating the rent price. Be strategic.

Demographics: – Bars in more populated urban areas tend to charge more. It is normal to do so since demand is more and the rent they pay is also more.

Style: – Look at the style of the bar. Do you want a nyamchom zone with beer or do you want to style it to a certain mood? This will influence the neighborhood you want it in or the other way around.

Competition: – In some populated areas bars thrive near each other, but for a local bar, the best advice is to place where there is minimal competition. Pick a neighborhood where there is the need for something different.

Accessibility: – This should probably have been the first point. Your bar needs to be accessible if it’s local, somewhere many in the neighborhood can notice it. Most of the times bars are not placed within the neighborhood but at the periphery to avoid noise complaints and give the customers the level of privacy they deserve.

c. Capital – How Much Do You Need to Start a Local Bar Business?

The capital required for a bar is broken down into several parts;

The Licensing: – As discussed above, location and size mainly influence the cost of licensing, though the difference it makes at the end of the day is not much.

Premises: – This involves the cost of setting up a bar and the cost of having the bar in that location. Consider things like the rent of the area.

Equipment: – This involves all you need, from chair, utensils, music to the alcohol itself.

Operations: – Operating the business will cost in terms of staff compensation, security. utilities like water and electricity etc.

d. Operations – Managing a Local Bar Business to Profitability.

Operating a bar is very tricky. there’s a lot to look at. There’s the music, the food, the service, the finances, etc. Even the energy of the room matters. If the mood is low, you have to find a way to lift it, otherwise, it could mean the beginning of the end for your business.

The most important thing when considering the operation of your bar is picking out the staff. The staff plays a big role in ensuring your bar meets the standard. From the bar manager to the cooks, the DJ, the waitresses, guards and cleaners, the choice has to be meticulous.

Fast quality service is very attractive and it needs to be the priority of the manager. Marketing should also be considered. Every single word that gets out should be positive a word to attract people. The choice of music, of course, doesn’t have to be yours. It just has to match the taste of the audience and the DJ should understand that.

e. Challenges Facing Local Bar Businesses in Kenya.

The biggest factor that challenges bars is legislation. over the past 20 years, there have been so many changes to laws regarding drinking and bar ownership.

First, there was the regulation of noise. Bars operating in residential areas have to match these limits. The rule is less observed in areas outside Nairobi but the penalty is the same.

Then there is the constant change in the taxation of drinks. There are always arguments on taxation in the country and most of the time, that doesn’t work very well for bars as it always seems the best cause of action is to increase taxation on alcohol.

Fortunately, other advancements like Alcohol blow have worked to the benefit of local bars. people fear more, being caught driving under influence, so they prefer using local bars as they get to avoid highways.

More factors that may lead to the fall of a local bar include low capital, poor location, poor service, poor operations, mismanagement, poor food, and poor music. If music and food are bad, it will fail because the alcohol is pretty much the same – regardless of the bar you drink at.

f. Survival – How to Beat Competition in The Kenyan Bar Business Industry.

A challenge in starting a bar business today is that the number of bars has significantly increased, which makes it significantly easier for bars to shut down due to losses. This is why starting a bar requires one to develop a careful strategy for survival in the business.

Realistic pricing will help you stay relevant in your bar business. Since it’s a local bar, you have to charge less than a high-end club. Pricing generally depends on competition, branding, value attached to your bar, demographics, and style.

In summary, always strive to provide something different, that matches your target customers. Keep and follow trends too because bars are all about the “hype” sometimes and not the business.

g. Business Trends for Local Bars in Kenya.

Estate bars now have larger capacities. Before, local bars could only accommodate around 10 to 15 people, but now, they do 50.

Some local bars like 1824 have even grown and established themselves enough to be considered clubs.

Local bars have picked up on social media advertising to ensure they remain relevant. The image portrayed on these media sites has to remain positive but catchy enough for it to become an attraction. Engage the existing customers by always showing them the experience that they could have at your bar is essential.

Even more important for relevance, bars are now organizing their own events — themed as either: karaoke or reggae nights.

In some cases, they even invite artists to give mini-performances. Sometimes the events are as simple as celebrating existing holidays in simple but enjoyable ways.
Conclusion.

In total, you will need about Ksh. 800,000 to start your local bar business.

Broken down, you will spend an average of: –

Ksh. 80,000 for licences. Including – NEMA, MCSK, Business Licence, Public Health Licence and other licences required by Mutotho Law.
Furniture Ksh. 100,000 – Estimate expenditure.
Music System plus TV for entertainment – Ksh. 100,000.
Stock Ksh. 300,000.
Initial rental charges – Ksh. 100,000.
Security and other miscellaneous costs – Ksh. 120,000 .

Very interesting.
New Normal!
Robins
#7 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2020 7:13:50 PM

amorphous wrote:
How to Start a Profitable Local Bar Business in Kenya

https://joon.co.ke/bar-business/

Local bars have become very popular in Kenya, especially in urban residential areas. There’s almost a bar in every corner of the street. And more are yet coming up. Why do you think so? Well, the answer is simple. Bar business is profitable.

That said, you must be curious and thinking, how do I get started.

Well, in this guide we take you though the process of starting your own bar local business in Kenya. We list all the licences involved in operating a legal bar in Kenya; we discuss the operations – challenges, survival and trends to follow to make it in the business.

And our hope is that by the time you finish reading this post, you’ll be ready to start your own successful business.

To start a successful local bar, first you need to;

How to start a bar business in Kenya

a. Obtain Licenses.

Licenses of businesses with alcohol involved are guided by “Mututho Laws”, officially known as the Alcohol Drinks Act, 2010. Each county has it’s own guidelines but these rules never stray too far from Mututho Laws.

County governments have been in between a rock and a hard place when it comes to making regulations. While they may want to curb excessive consumption of alcohol to find a place in the moral scale, alcohol does bring its revenue. This has led to so much corruption in the scene. Bribery and having the county turn a blind eye on some of these businesses are not so uncommon.

As dictated by law, here are the fees that are involved in running a local bar;

For premises situated within a city or municipality, the fee is 30,000 for 6 months and 50,000 for 1 year.
For premises in urban areas that are not a city or a municipality, the fee is 18,000 for 6 months and 30,000 for a year.
As for premises outside cities, municipalities or urban areas, the fee is 9,000 for 6 months and 15,000 for a year.

More licenses.

Other licenses needed to run a bar include;

County Single-Business Permit: – Every single business needs it and the price ranges from county to county.

Public Health License: – Budget for at least 6,000 shillings. Public Health officers issue it after inspecting the business and making sure it is fit.

Medical certificate: – This certificate involves individual workers. Every member of staff needs a medical certificate which goes for around 500 shillings.

Fire clearance certificate: – This involves seeking advice in terms of protection against fire, installing the necessary equipment usually fire extinguishers and paying for an inspection.

Music Copy Right Of Kenya: – All establishments involving music need this. It is based on sitting capacity. For 25 people, you’d need 2,331 Kenyan shillings.

Performers Rights Society of Kenya: – It is a collective management organization licensed by the Kenya Copyright Board to represent performers in musical and dramatic works. Their main objective is to collect and distribute royalties to artists.

National Environment Management Agency: – It costs 3,000 Kenyan shillings. It is used largely to ensure you don’t make too much noise.

b. Choose The Best Location.

When it comes to choosing the location for a bar, you should consider;

Cost: – By this, I refer to rent. For some, it’s easy because they may have land that they already own, but for most, it involves negotiating the rent price. Be strategic.

Demographics: – Bars in more populated urban areas tend to charge more. It is normal to do so since demand is more and the rent they pay is also more.

Style: – Look at the style of the bar. Do you want a nyamchom zone with beer or do you want to style it to a certain mood? This will influence the neighborhood you want it in or the other way around.

Competition: – In some populated areas bars thrive near each other, but for a local bar, the best advice is to place where there is minimal competition. Pick a neighborhood where there is the need for something different.

Accessibility: – This should probably have been the first point. Your bar needs to be accessible if it’s local, somewhere many in the neighborhood can notice it. Most of the times bars are not placed within the neighborhood but at the periphery to avoid noise complaints and give the customers the level of privacy they deserve.

c. Capital – How Much Do You Need to Start a Local Bar Business?

The capital required for a bar is broken down into several parts;

The Licensing: – As discussed above, location and size mainly influence the cost of licensing, though the difference it makes at the end of the day is not much.

Premises: – This involves the cost of setting up a bar and the cost of having the bar in that location. Consider things like the rent of the area.

Equipment: – This involves all you need, from chair, utensils, music to the alcohol itself.

Operations: – Operating the business will cost in terms of staff compensation, security. utilities like water and electricity etc.

d. Operations – Managing a Local Bar Business to Profitability.

Operating a bar is very tricky. there’s a lot to look at. There’s the music, the food, the service, the finances, etc. Even the energy of the room matters. If the mood is low, you have to find a way to lift it, otherwise, it could mean the beginning of the end for your business.

The most important thing when considering the operation of your bar is picking out the staff. The staff plays a big role in ensuring your bar meets the standard. From the bar manager to the cooks, the DJ, the waitresses, guards and cleaners, the choice has to be meticulous.

Fast quality service is very attractive and it needs to be the priority of the manager. Marketing should also be considered. Every single word that gets out should be positive a word to attract people. The choice of music, of course, doesn’t have to be yours. It just has to match the taste of the audience and the DJ should understand that.

e. Challenges Facing Local Bar Businesses in Kenya.

The biggest factor that challenges bars is legislation. over the past 20 years, there have been so many changes to laws regarding drinking and bar ownership.

First, there was the regulation of noise. Bars operating in residential areas have to match these limits. The rule is less observed in areas outside Nairobi but the penalty is the same.

Then there is the constant change in the taxation of drinks. There are always arguments on taxation in the country and most of the time, that doesn’t work very well for bars as it always seems the best cause of action is to increase taxation on alcohol.

Fortunately, other advancements like Alcohol blow have worked to the benefit of local bars. people fear more, being caught driving under influence, so they prefer using local bars as they get to avoid highways.

More factors that may lead to the fall of a local bar include low capital, poor location, poor service, poor operations, mismanagement, poor food, and poor music. If music and food are bad, it will fail because the alcohol is pretty much the same – regardless of the bar you drink at.

f. Survival – How to Beat Competition in The Kenyan Bar Business Industry.

A challenge in starting a bar business today is that the number of bars has significantly increased, which makes it significantly easier for bars to shut down due to losses. This is why starting a bar requires one to develop a careful strategy for survival in the business.

Realistic pricing will help you stay relevant in your bar business. Since it’s a local bar, you have to charge less than a high-end club. Pricing generally depends on competition, branding, value attached to your bar, demographics, and style.

In summary, always strive to provide something different, that matches your target customers. Keep and follow trends too because bars are all about the “hype” sometimes and not the business.

g. Business Trends for Local Bars in Kenya.

Estate bars now have larger capacities. Before, local bars could only accommodate around 10 to 15 people, but now, they do 50.

Some local bars like 1824 have even grown and established themselves enough to be considered clubs.

Local bars have picked up on social media advertising to ensure they remain relevant. The image portrayed on these media sites has to remain positive but catchy enough for it to become an attraction. Engage the existing customers by always showing them the experience that they could have at your bar is essential.

Even more important for relevance, bars are now organizing their own events — themed as either: karaoke or reggae nights.

In some cases, they even invite artists to give mini-performances. Sometimes the events are as simple as celebrating existing holidays in simple but enjoyable ways.
Conclusion.

In total, you will need about Ksh. 800,000 to start your local bar business.

Broken down, you will spend an average of: –

Ksh. 80,000 for licences. Including – NEMA, MCSK, Business Licence, Public Health Licence and other licences required by Mutotho Law.
Furniture Ksh. 100,000 – Estimate expenditure.
Music System plus TV for entertainment – Ksh. 100,000.
Stock Ksh. 300,000.
Initial rental charges – Ksh. 100,000.
Security and other miscellaneous costs – Ksh. 120,000 .

Very interesting.

This summary is on point 👌🏼👌🏼
Whatever you do start slow. Don't do a big launch at the start, you can always relaunch on Easter/ Christmas or other holiday.

Be mindful of your costs/margins, staff and clients. Keep them happy. Even if you are on an artery do some marketing and be on SM. And don't ignore food. Never ignore food.

Permits cost a bunch. Everyone will try to screw you.
Steer away from affectation at all costs, as if it were a rough and dangerous reef.
amorphous
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2020 8:56:57 AM

Robins wrote:

Whatever you do start slow. Don't do a big launch at the start, you can always relaunch on Easter/ Christmas or other holiday.

Be mindful of your costs/margins, staff and clients. Keep them happy. Even if you are on an artery do some marketing and be on SM. And don't ignore food. Never ignore food.

Thanks for the tips bro. Very helpful!
On a related note, is it true that county and the boys in blue show up once every few weeks for forced handouts?
New Normal!
Robins
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2020 5:21:43 PM

amorphous wrote:
Robins wrote:

On a related note, is it true that county and the boys in blue show up once every few weeks for forced handouts?

Depends on where you are. But it's good to have a cordial relationship with the boys in blue. In this business you'll need them now and then.
amorphous
#10 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 8:47:13 AM

Robins wrote:
amorphous wrote:
Robins wrote:

Depends on where you are. But it's good to have a cordial relationship with the boys in blue. In this business you'll need them now and then.

Noted.
New Normal!
amorphous
#11 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 8:56:23 AM

https://nairobinews.nati...aud-in-property-dispute

18 metre per month for this average looking hoteli. Impressive Applause Applause Applause Applause

I guess with
-Excellent decor/sound system/lighting/etc
-Reasonable prices
-Attracting the right element
-Hiring big name DJs and paying for "celeb" appearances
one can do really well in this game

Haiya. Very inspired smile Applause

New Normal!
sqft
#12 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 2:24:32 PM

amorphous wrote:
https://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/life/city-trader-accuses-fiancee-of-fraud-in-property-dispute

18 metre per month for this average looking hoteli. Impressive Applause Applause Applause Applause

I guess with
-Reasonable prices

It's a restaurant not hotel.

What is a Hotel?

A hotel is an establishment that provides paid lodging on a short-term basis. Hotel rooms are usually numbered (or named in some smaller hotels and B&Bs) to allow guests to identify their room. Some hotels offer meals as part of a room and board arrangement.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
amorphous
#13 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 3:42:02 PM

sqft wrote:
amorphous wrote:
https://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/life/city-trader-accuses-fiancee-of-fraud-in-property-dispute

I guess with
-Reasonable prices

It's a restaurant not hotel.

What is a Hotel?

A hotel is an establishment that provides paid lodging on a short-term basis. Hotel rooms are usually numbered (or named in some smaller hotels and B&Bs) to allow guests to identify their room. Some hotels offer meals as part of a room and board arrangement.

sqft,
You know full well what Kenyans mean when they say Hotel Laughing out loudly

Ojwang' in Vitimbi had a "hotel" that had no lodging.
I plan to offer kila kitu

Restaurant
Bar
Disco
Rooms for rent
Rides for kiddos
Car wash
Pool
yote!
New Normal!
Ali Baba
#14 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 4:55:51 PM

Disco and rooms for rent don't go well, if they offered at the same time
#15 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 5:01:02 PM

amorphous wrote:

Who is the local Nduthi ChaiMan. The Nduthis (parked) outside your front gate can make or destroy your clientel's appetite.

Who are the local (health) mafia?

You do not just pay the public health inspection licenses, you have to grease the entire department.

Woe unto you when one of them is transferred. You will have to start again.

Who is the local Sonyi head.

You will need Sonyi protection. Bouncers will not be enough.

Who are the local politicians? Public purses are often one of the biggest sources of steady income.
Think of strategy meetings, et al.

You will need to grease the AIE (authority to incur expenditure) signatories to corner this market.

In a nutshell, your biggest enemy (or best friend) shall be official and public corruption and local protection mafia.

Do not forget staff theft and pilferage and the taxman. The taxman is desperate to finance Ngament extravagance. You will need a good tax accountant and lawyer.

That will be all for now.
amorphous
#16 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 6:06:02 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Disco and rooms for rent don't go well, if they offered at the same time

Sez who? Drool

http://www.reefhotelkenya.com/

Moonshine beach bar at Reef

New Normal!
amorphous
#17 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 6:07:38 PM

aemathenge wrote:
amorphous wrote:

Who is the local Nduthi ChaiMan. The Nduthis (parked) outside your front gate can make or destroy your clientel's appetite.

Who are the local (health) mafia?

You do not just pay the public health inspection licenses, you have to grease the entire department.

Woe unto you when one of them is transferred. You will have to start again.

Who is the local Sonyi head.

You will need Sonyi protection. Bouncers will not be enough.

Who are the local politicians? Public purses are often one of the biggest sources of steady income.
Think of strategy meetings, et al.

You will need to grease the AIE (authority to incur expenditure) signatories to corner this market.

In a nutshell, your biggest enemy (or best friend) shall be official and public corruption and local protection mafia.

Do not forget staff theft and pilferage and the taxman. The taxman is desperate to finance Ngament extravagance. You will need a good tax accountant and lawyer.

That will be all for now.

Is that supposed to discourage me? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
If I can make even a quarter of what threadbare Ridgeways Inn is making jameni greasing a few measly tattered palms is the least of my worries Laughing out loudly
New Normal!
Ali Baba
#18 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2021 7:35:02 PM

Getting good employees is a challenge. They will scheme to steal from you.
Mike Ock
#19 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2021 4:59:09 PM

amorphous wrote:

I guess with
-Reasonable prices

Woah, that's much higher than I'd ever imagine. However, you probably need to stuff the money away because clubs go out of fashion all the time.