wazua Thu, May 16, 2024

4 Pages«<234
Men who built Kenya
#61 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2015 5:47:30 PM

How come its wealthy jamaas who contributed to building Kenya? Could someone have done so and remained kawa/poor? Or was their wealth a byproduct of their kujenga-nchi energies?
#62 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2015 6:14:16 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
How come its wealthy jamaas who contributed to building Kenya? Could someone have done so and remained kawa/poor? Or was their wealth a byproduct of their kujenga-nchi energies?

wewe wacha, how can one jenga the country and be poor smile

people love money, so if you have it you kind of get lots of mentions.

of all the names being floated around, very few if any would sit down and narrate the genuine biashara story behind the success, there are always gaps that are usually filled up with rumors.
#63 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2015 6:16:19 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

A poor man waiting to "saidiwa na serikali" doesn't build Kenya.
#64 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2015 6:25:31 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

This has nothing to do with peoples wealth. If you look at the series on the "men who built america" its about those who changed american lives in their industry and literally built the country.

That's why I am nominating the 3 above, they are not the richest in the country but they went beyond accumulating wealth. They have changed the way their respective industries are looked at.
#65 Posted : Monday, July 06, 2015 6:34:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

This has nothing to do with peoples wealth. If you look at the series on the "men who built america" its about those who changed american lives in their industry and literally built the country.

That's why I am nominating the 3 above, they are not the richest in the country but they went beyond accumulating wealth. They have changed the way their respective industries are looked at.

I don't think those mentioned here are a list of the rich, infact those 3 you mentioned were already mentioned earlier on page one. And on "Men who built America" It was all about wealth.
#66 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2015 1:17:15 AM

The link doesn't say he introduced maize to East Africa
0%_Omera wrote:
[quote=FundamentAli]Lord Delemare has to be in. KCC, KGCCU, KFA, Unga Ltd, railway etc

If am not wrong, Lord Delemare is credited for introducing corn/maize in the region, me think he should top the list.

I thought maize was introduced by the Portuguese

I never knew this much about about Lord Delamere. I think some of this history should be taught in school purposely for character building.

[quote=Wikipedia]Among Kenya's white settlers, Lord Delamere was famous for his utter devotion to developing Kenyan agriculture. For many years his only homes in Kenya were native-style mud and grass huts, which his wife (who was Ulster Anglo-Irish) decorated with their fine British and Irish furnishings. For twenty years, Delamere farmed his colossal land by trial, error and dogged effort, experimenting endlessly with crops and livestock, and accruing an invaluable stockpile of knowledge that would later serve as the foundation for the agricultural economy of the colony.

By 1905, Delamere was a pioneer of the East African dairy industry. He was also a pioneer at crossbreeding animals, beginning with sheep and chicken, then moving to cattle; most of his imported animals, however, succumbed to diseases such as foot and mouth and Red water disease.Delamere purchased Ryeland Rams from England to mate with 11,000 Maasai ewes, and in 1904, imported 500 pure-bred merino ewes from New Zealand. Four-fifths of the merino ewes quickly died, and the remaining stock were moved to Delamere's Soysambu Ranch, as well as the remaining stock of 1,500 imported cattle that suffered from pleuro-pneumonia.

Eventually, Lord Delamere decided to grow wheat. This, too, was plagued by disease, specifically Rust (fungus).[15] By 1909, Delamere was out of money, resting his last hopes on a 1,200-acre (4.9 km2) wheat crop that eventually failed. He was quoted by author Elspeth Huxley as commenting drily, 'I started to grow wheat in East Africa to prove that though I lived on the equator, I was not in an equatorial country.' Delamere eventually created a 'wheat laboratory' on his farm, employing scientists to manufacture hardy wheat varieties for the Kenyan highlands. To supplement his income, he even tried raising ostriches for their feathers, importing incubators from Europe; this venture also failed with the advent of the motor car and the decline in fashion of feathered hats. Delamere was the first European to start a maize farm, Florida Farm, in the Rongai Valley, and established the first flour mill in Kenya.By 1914, his efforts finally began to generate a profit.

so watu wa wezdan were eating what? He should be made a nabongo posthumous
#67 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2015 5:36:52 AM

Alibhai Mulla Jeevanjee

http://owaahh.com/alibha...-man-who-built-nairobi/

According to some accounts, Jeevanjee once owned 70 percent of Nairobi when the city was still a sprawling township. He also owned a significant part of Mombasa. He was arguably the richest man in Kenya at the time but reliable estimates of how much he was worth are unavailable.
#68 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2015 2:43:37 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

of all the names being floated around, very few if any would sit down and narrate the genuine biashara story behind the success, there are always gaps that are usually filled up with rumors.

It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.

-Adam Smith

#69 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2015 3:42:41 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.

-Adam Smith

hapo sawa,

and

To feel much for others and little for ourselves; to restrain our selfishness and exercise our benevolent affections, constitute the perfection of human nature.

-Adam Smith
#70 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2018 6:08:47 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
So far only 3 candidates;

Michael Joseph - Safaricom/Mpesa
James Mwangi - Equity/Financial inclusion
S.K Macharia - Royal Media Services

notable mention to whoever built Nakumatt, wengine wote hawesmek

@Obi can we substitute James Mwangi with Peter Munga?
#71 Posted : Wednesday, August 01, 2018 8:19:21 PM

I wonder which Kenya people are talking about here.
#72 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2020 2:22:01 AM

The History Channel created another series .."Food that Built America" available on YouTube,

Notable Mentions

Milton Hershey - The Hershey Company (Chocolate and sweets)

Kellogs - Breakfast Cereals

Mars - Chocolate and sweets

Macdonald brothers - Suprisingly they did not make a kill from their business idea, the buyer made McDonalds what it is today

Henry Heinz, - The famous Ketchup

CW Post - Now post foods

And Clarence Birdseye - Birds eye - Frozen foods ....the story of Mar-a-largo is told here (that Trump white house)

These brands are over 100 years old and they define the food culture of the US. If this was to be copy and pasted in Kenya we would be talking of Delamere, Kuguru, Tabitha Karanja etc. A good watch for anyone interested