wazua Fri, Mar 29, 2024

38 Pages«<3334353637>»
Why dustbowl is the future
amorphous
#681 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2020 2:50:14 PM

Konza revving up as investors jostle for piece of smart cityApplause Applause Applause

https://www.businessdail...alLQI3XrPgBP_IEcJwXj4Uk

After a lengthy lull, the Konza Technopolis is roaring back to life, triggering a scramble for property in the smart city on the busy Nairobi-Mombasa Highway.

Mooted in 2008 by the government, the idea of creating a technological city complete with its infrastructures, and all the essentials of a technopolis, promised a unique opportunity for the country to seize a substantial amount of the growing global Business Process Outsourcing and Information Technology Enabled Services (BPO/ITES).

Dubbed Africa’s Silicon Savannah, the Konza Technopolis was gazetted as a Special Economic Zone – the heart of innovative solutions for ICTs, business, health and education.

The town within the vast plains on the boundary of Machakos and Makueni counties, and locate roughly 70km south-east of Nairobi, had all the ingredients of an investment hub: proximity to the already robust tech industry in the capital city, a good terrain for commercial activities, infrastructure connectivity and ideal weather conditions.

Commissioned in 2013, the technopolis is billed as a world-class technology and innovation hub. It is expected to host data centres, with the National Data Centre (Phase I) being already complete, technology facilities, urban amenities and a mix of business enterprises, and premises that house companies, employees, and residents, when complete and in full operations.

Property development – both residential and commercial, universities, technical and vocational education and training (TVET) institutions and schools, hospitals, research and development facilities — are key selling points that the Konza Technopolis Development Authority (KoTDA) banked on to woo investors to their project. So are ICT facilities, light manufacturing and industries, retail establishments, hotels and convention centres, entertainment facilities including stadiums and cinemas, utilities such as energy and water, as well as infrastructure and logistics.

This strategic location of the tech city makes it ideal for a wide range of investments.

“Konza is essentially a commuting distance from Nairobi as well as Makueni, Machakos and Kajiado counties,” says Sharlene Mutinda, the managing director of Ntashart Investment, one of the pioneer property dealers in Konza.

What makes the city attractive, Ms Mutinda tells Digital Business, is its weather and good soil which she says makes the area good for both commercial and residential developments as well as agriculture.

Minimal activity at the technopolis’ site in the early years, however, cast doubt on the entire development, with some critics labeling the grand dream a white elephant in the making.

All this has, however, changed, with the smart city now appearing to rev up. Considerable development projects are taking shape, revitalising the tech city.

In the recent months, regional and national leaders have made visits to the city and called for even speedier development of the tech town that promises many job prospects.

Just last month when he visited the futuristic city accompanied by 10 members of parliament, Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka urged the government to acquire more land for expansion, saying the current 5,000 acres the project was sitting on would be insufficient in coming years.

He similarly called for more resource allocation for the project noting that it will transform the region’s economy.

Konza Technopolis CEO John Tanui, on his part promised that when complete, the technopolis will be one of the best-designed cities in the region, and will homes possibly the largest data centre in the region.

“We are similarly building a total of 170km storm-water drainage and water supply lines as well as an automated and pressurised 15km system of solid waste management,” said Mr Tanui, when Mr Kalonzo visited the site.

He said the initial two phases – which host the data centre and offices – were nearing completion.

As Konza takes shape, investors of all stripes are trooping in, seeking to acquire a slice of the smart city which mirrors developments across the continent such as Eko Atlantic in Nigeria, Hope City in Ghana, Waterfall City in South Africa, Vision City in Rwanda and Ethiopia’s The Real Wakanda.

As of last year, the technopolis had attracted over 40 firms that had applied to establish investments in technological ventures, a factor which ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru says lays a strong foundation for establishing a smart city.

“We have different partners who are already setting up their vertical infrastructure which includes universities, hospitals and accommodation facilities,” Mr Mucheru said.

The Covid-19 pandemic, he noted, had delayed some of the work, but added that activities at the site have now regained momentum.

Experts say a number of factors make the area an ideal spot for investment in other sectors including real-estate.

The proximity of the area to other towns including Kitengela, a rich hub of horticulture practices, and its numerous educational institutions is a plus for potential investors, given that there are planned direct routes from Konza to Lukenya, Konza to Kitengela, and Konza to Isinya among others.

The beginning of the construction of the Nairobi Expressway that runs from Mlolongo to Westlands, has also raised hopes of easing the traffic on the key highway. Coming on the back of the dualling of the Machakos-Athi River section, this has made Konza an attractive destination for investors and prospective homeowners.

Ms Mutinda says areas around Konza are now real estate hotspots.

“We have in recent months seen a spike in the number of buyers of our property situated only three kilometres from the Nairobi–Mombasa Highway,” says Ms Mutinda, whose firm also manages properties such as Malik Heights, executive office suites on Ngong Road, Nairobi.

#DCisTheFuture #InvestOrPerish
New Normal!
amorphous
#682 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 2:59:33 AM

Leakey lines up Sh8.2bn museum in Kajiado

I do not believe in his evolution BALD-FACED lies, but I welcome his 8.2 billi investment in DC smile

https://www.businessdail...NQCRM3sTMSLIf2-gOt9OJgU

Renowned paleoanthropologist Richard Leakey has commissioned the construction of a new Sh8.2 billion museum in Loodariak, Kajiado county to boost knowledge on human evolution.

Works on the facility, which has been designed by Daniel Libeskind, the architect who rebuilt the World Trade Center in New York, will begin later this year and is expected to be ready for use in 2026.

It will sit on 300 acres donated by Dr Leakey and his wife Maeve in honour of the family’s discovery of the best-preserved fossils of man's ancient ancestors.

“Ngaren museum represents a celebration of the beginning of all humanity, of life and its amazing biodiversity. It is dedicated to educating humankind on our shared past and tells the story of our common ancestry, our epic journey of evolution,” said Dr Leakey, who is famous for discovering the most complete skeleton of an early human known as Turkana Boy.

Ngaren is being developed in collaboration with Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Museum and Research, Neatherlands and will be Africa’s first all-digital planetarium to display real-size African dinosaurs.

Ngaren museum project is being built in tandem with the East African Museum of Art, Nairobi (EMMA) where the later will tell East Africa’s art history from the dawn of human civilisation to the present times.

EAMAN is tasked with collection, preservation, research and display of the “wealth, genius, and diversity of Eastern African art”.

The facility will house the museum, partner institutions, a restaurant, conference rooms and a small amphitheatre to host events such as social, business, and family gatherings.

Ngaren will boast up to two million years of human history and the origins of the universe — from evolution to biodiversity, overpopulation, war, diseases, and climate change was well as discovery and exploration.

“As we peer back through the fossil record, through layer upon layer of long extinct species, many of which thrived far longer than the human species is ever likely to do, we are reminded of our mortality as a species,” says Dr Leakey.

The 75-year-old founder and his parents Loius and Mary Leakey dedicated their lives to paleo-anthropological discoveries mostly in the Rift Valley- especially unprecedented discoveries of hominin remains.

“We somehow think that we as humans are a special creation, we destroy bees wasting their ability to pollinate plants, we are destroying the plants themselves thereby raising temperatures that we no longer have nutritious food and “We are polluting our oceans collapsing their whole food chain,” he avers.

Dr Leakey has also commissioned the construction of another museum in Turkana, near the border with Ethiopia. Early design ideas show a cluster of irregularly-shaped buildings inspired by Stone Age hand axes and other tools unearthed nearby. The central hall rises 15-storeys above the desert. The site's footprint's shape is the outline of the African continent.

#DCisTheFuture
New Normal!
tony stark
#683 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 5:01:47 AM

The problem with facts is that they don't care what you believe in. Even when gravity was defined there were people who didn't believe in it .... Gravity still exists.

amorphous wrote:
Leakey lines up Sh8.2bn museum in Kajiado

I do not believe in his evolution BALD-FACED lies, but I welcome his 8.2 billi investment in DC smile

https://www.businessdail...NQCRM3sTMSLIf2-gOt9OJgU

Renowned paleoanthropologist Richard Leakey has commissioned the construction of a new Sh8.2 billion museum in Loodariak, Kajiado county to boost knowledge on human evolution.

Works on the facility, which has been designed by Daniel Libeskind, the architect who rebuilt the World Trade Center in New York, will begin later this year and is expected to be ready for use in 2026.

It will sit on 300 acres donated by Dr Leakey and his wife Maeve in honour of the family’s discovery of the best-preserved fossils of man's ancient ancestors.

“Ngaren museum represents a celebration of the beginning of all humanity, of life and its amazing biodiversity. It is dedicated to educating humankind on our shared past and tells the story of our common ancestry, our epic journey of evolution,” said Dr Leakey, who is famous for discovering the most complete skeleton of an early human known as Turkana Boy.

Ngaren is being developed in collaboration with Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Museum and Research, Neatherlands and will be Africa’s first all-digital planetarium to display real-size African dinosaurs.

Ngaren museum project is being built in tandem with the East African Museum of Art, Nairobi (EMMA) where the later will tell East Africa’s art history from the dawn of human civilisation to the present times.

EAMAN is tasked with collection, preservation, research and display of the “wealth, genius, and diversity of Eastern African art”.

The facility will house the museum, partner institutions, a restaurant, conference rooms and a small amphitheatre to host events such as social, business, and family gatherings.

Ngaren will boast up to two million years of human history and the origins of the universe — from evolution to biodiversity, overpopulation, war, diseases, and climate change was well as discovery and exploration.

“As we peer back through the fossil record, through layer upon layer of long extinct species, many of which thrived far longer than the human species is ever likely to do, we are reminded of our mortality as a species,” says Dr Leakey.

The 75-year-old founder and his parents Loius and Mary Leakey dedicated their lives to paleo-anthropological discoveries mostly in the Rift Valley- especially unprecedented discoveries of hominin remains.

“We somehow think that we as humans are a special creation, we destroy bees wasting their ability to pollinate plants, we are destroying the plants themselves thereby raising temperatures that we no longer have nutritious food and “We are polluting our oceans collapsing their whole food chain,” he avers.

Dr Leakey has also commissioned the construction of another museum in Turkana, near the border with Ethiopia. Early design ideas show a cluster of irregularly-shaped buildings inspired by Stone Age hand axes and other tools unearthed nearby. The central hall rises 15-storeys above the desert. The site's footprint's shape is the outline of the African continent.

#DCisTheFuture

amorphous
#684 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 8:01:19 AM

tony stark wrote:
The problem with facts is that they don't care what you believe in. Even when gravity was defined there were people who didn't believe in it .... Gravity still exists.

Tony,
Good to see you brathee. Mjengo ulimaliza? Sisi pia tunaenendelea tu.
So you believe self-confessed SATANIST Darwin ati you came from a baboon? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

If so, why did you evolve yet your BABOON FATHERS did notLaughing out loudly d'oh!

You need to watch this video by this brilliant SCIENTIST before you respond:

Even if you believe in the big bang FAKE theory. WHERE DID THAT INITIAL ATOM FROM WHICH THE BIG BANG ALLEGEDLY OCCURRED COME FROM?
Answer me that and not only will we award you a NOBEL PRIZE for being the man who solves the evolution conundrum that has mystified all, be we can also have a FULL debate on facts vs Satanic theories za Darwin Drool

But let us not derail this beautiful DC is the Future thread though smile If you want to really debate about your baboon fathersLaughing out loudly we can do so on a new evolution thread ama namna ngani jameni?

New Normal!
amorphous
#685 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 5:48:24 PM

Final Phase of Ngong Road Dualling 80% Complete - KURA. Applause Applause

I said it a long time ago. Ngong dualling is a game changer for Ngong town investors. That jam from town used to be crazy. Now getting to town will be a ten -20 minute affair day or night!

https://www.the-star.co....-80-complete-says-kura/

Covid-19 is among the challenges the contractor of the final phase of the Ngong Road dualling project has been facing.

However, the project is 79 per cent complete, according to the Kenya Urban Roads Authority.

The construction was due for completion in July, but the contractor had to relocate electricity, water and sewer lines as well as dealing with Covid-19 containment measures.

“The pandemic has forced the contractor to scale down road construction and reduce the workforce in a bid to adhere to Covid-19 guidelines,” Kura’s corporate communications manager Stephen Njogu said.

The ongoing construction is causing huge traffic snarl-ups during morning and evening rush hours.

China Qinjian is the contractor of the Sh2 billion 9.8-kilometre stretch from Dagoretti Corner to Karen Shopping Centre.

Njogu said 22 per cent of the sub-contractors had been downsized due to the coronavirus and limited sources of materials, a condition also blamed on the pandemic.

The road will have five footbridges and five lanes, with walkways and cycle tracks on both sides.

The expansion is in line with the Bus Rapid Transport project to be implemented to reduce traffic congestion to and from Nairobi.

President Uhuru Kenyatta commissioned the first phase in 2016. This phase, which starts at the Kenya National Library to Prestige Plaza, was completed on December 17, 2017.

It was built by World Kaihatsu Kogyo, a Japanese company, at a cost of Sh1.3 billion. It covers three kilometres.

Phase 2 is a four-kilometre stretch from Prestige Plaza to Dagoretti Corner. It was completed on April 30, this year, by the same Japanese contractor at a cost of Sh2 billion.

Three pedestrian footbridges are to be built at the Kenyatta National Hospital gate, Coptic Church, and the Kenya Science Technical College in the next 18 months.

The footbridges will ease the movement of vehicles, which are now forced to stop to allow patients, students, and other users to cross the road.

According to Kura, the government invests over Sh300 billion annually on roads which are among the drivers of Vision 2030 and Agenda 4. The two economic blueprints are intended to propel Kenya into a medium-income level country in the next few years.Applause Applause Applause

The improvement of non-motorised transport, installation of street and traffic lights, guard rails, traffic signs, and other amenities are vital components of modern road infrastructure.
New Normal!
amorphous
#686 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2020 5:59:30 PM

Delivery firm Glovo extends reach to Ngong, Ongata Rongai

https://www.businessdail...o-ngong-rongai--2463618

Online delivery firm Glovo has expanded into Ngong and Ongata Rongai towns as it grows its network in the country.

The firm has partnered with retailer Carrefour and fast-food chain KFC to deliver food and groceries to the populous Kajiado County towns, currently underserved by e-delivery players.

“This move is part of Glovo’s strategic expansion in Kenya, in which our long-term aim is to have a presence in all towns in the country,” said Priscilla Muhiu, Glovo’s General Manager for Kenya.

Glovo is the first of the food delivery apps to venture into the two towns with its competitors including Jumia Food, Uber Eats, and Yum still operating within the city limits.

Glovo, having introduced the dynamic pricing of its delivery services based on distance in January 2020, has now reduced its prices by 20 percent. The pricing was previously a flat fee of Sh100.

The firm reported an increase in cashless payments on its platform in Kenya as customers increasingly opt for bank cards and mobile money to make payments. This was accompanied by a corresponding 30 percent rise in grocery orders as well as a 25 percent increase in the sale of cleaning agents and hygiene products.

And please note:
a) There are "richer" and more developed satellite towns around Nairobi but Glovo chose these DC cities first. They have done their research and they know what the migration patterns of the moneyed middle classes are.
b) Jewel in the Crown had been already covered by Glovo kitaaambo. (In fact we are now bored with it a bit as it seems to have been here for forever) given it has, in my humble opinion, the biggest upside fo the least cost even for corporates.

Ni hayo tu!
New Normal!
tony stark
#687 Posted : Sunday, October 25, 2020 9:50:03 AM

I can't debate facts.

Mjengo inakataa kuisha.

I will nominate you for the dust bowl champion. Endelea na kazi ya kujenga dust bowl. Applause Applause Applause Applause

amorphous wrote:
tony stark wrote:

Tony,
Good to see you brathee. Mjengo ulimaliza? Sisi pia tunaenendelea tu.
So you believe self-confessed SATANIST Darwin ati you came from a baboon? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

If so, why did you evolve yet your BABOON FATHERS did notLaughing out loudly d'oh!

You need to watch this video by this brilliant SCIENTIST before you respond:

Even if you believe in the big bang FAKE theory. WHERE DID THAT INITIAL ATOM FROM WHICH THE BIG BANG ALLEGEDLY OCCURRED COME FROM?
Answer me that and not only will we award you a NOBEL PRIZE for being the man who solves the evolution conundrum that has mystified all, be we can also have a FULL debate on facts vs Satanic theories za Darwin Drool

But let us not derail this beautiful DC is the Future thread though smile If you want to really debate about your baboon fathersLaughing out loudly we can do so on a new evolution thread ama namna ngani jameni?

amorphous
#688 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 7:49:07 AM

tony stark wrote:
I can't debate facts.

Mjengo inakataa kuisha.

I will nominate you for the dust bowl champion. Endelea na kazi ya kujenga dust bowl. Applause Applause Applause Applause

Mjengo itaisha tu mbradzee, kaa ngumu

We thank GOD for DC mbroh. Bila DC tungekuwa wapi jameni.

Kazi iendelee....

https://web.facebook.com...videos/4245196125554095

Kitengela is one of the fastest growing towns in Kenya & is becoming one of the most popular locations to build or buy a home

Na siyo mimi nimesema!

Ni hayo tu.
New Normal!
amorphous
#689 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 7:59:35 AM

Pavilion Kitengela.

Wukan, now talk about funk!Laughing out loudly

Kitengela is a town found within the greater kajiado county located along the kajiado namanga road.
It is a bee hive of activities and among the fastest growing towns in the region.Herein are a number of cool entertainment joints, one being PAVILLION CLUB, its a chill place to watch sports, have a cold one and enjoy some good food.
Will be camping in the town soon to bring you the sites and sounds of this lovely place, subscribe to catch all videos as they come, enjoy!

Again .. siyo mimi nimesema Drool

And rest assured 99% of the faces you see hapa are former Nairobi Core refugees, currently DC homeowners(and their slay queens) who wanted a better quality of life (bigger home, more space etc) at a lower cost. As I have been saying from day one..its a no brainer to move to #DCIsTheFuture

New Normal!
#690 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 10:28:24 AM

@Amorphous

Not so good health news for DC.

https://www.standardmedi...e-county-of-unfit-people
#691 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 10:48:30 AM

@Amorphous

https://www.standardmedi...e-county-of-unfit-people
amorphous
#692 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 11:34:06 AM

Gathige wrote:
@Amorphous

https://www.standardmedi...-county-of-unfit-people

Asante for this.
Just call it Affluenza. A very normal ailment in rapidly developing middle class cities the world over. Yet another opportunity for our DC entrepreneurs to open up jogging parks and fitness studios + Zumba/pilates for the ladies in DC. They will make money hand over fist!

The county of unfit people
Nutrition and Wellness - By Gatonye Gathura

Growing wealth in Kajiado, one of Kenya’s fastest urbanising counties, has also triggered runaway unhealthy lifestyles.

Rates of hypertension and blood sugar, both precursors to heart diseases and diabetes, research shows, are well above the national average.

Researchers from the Kyoto University of Japan, the African Population and Health Research Centre, Nairobi, National Taiwan University, and the University of Eldoret, say events in Kajiado are a reflection of growing urbanisation in Kenya.

The team had investigated the prevalence of elevated blood pressure, blood glucose and weight status in Kajiado County, a typical rapidly urbanising area.

The study appearing in the International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health last month (September) had picked on Kajiado for its dramatic change from a rural to suburban county.

Kajiado is one of the four counties within the Nairobi Metropolitan area, making it a popular location for expanding upper and middle-class settlements, industries and businesses.

The county boasts of several major manufacturing factories and natural resources extractors, large-scale floriculture and horticulture and a vibrant real estate sector,” says the study.

The team recruited 593 adult men and women from all over rural and urban Kajiado and tested them for three indicators for heart disease and diabetes.

The participants, 221 men and 372 women aged 25-64, were tested for blood pressure, blood sugar and blood cholesterol.

High salt in the urine

They were also assessed for weight and obesity. A fifth but rare test was carried out to determine the salt ratio in their urine.

This latter test, the authors explain, was taken because domestic water in Kajiado is mainly salty due to the underlying soda volcanic rock.

Seventy per cent of the participants, the report says, had urinary salt ratio way above the recommended safety levels.

This, the team says, is of concern and advice for practical ways to desalinate water for domestic use in Kajiado to avoid possible health problems. Last year the county government banned the sale of salty water for domestic use.

Hypertensive and obese dwellers

But back to the main problem, more than a quarter of the study participants, or 26.2 per cent, were hypertensive. This was higher than the national average with more men than women exhibiting high blood pressure.

On the other hand, the prevalence of elevated blood sugar, a red flag for diabetes, was 17.6 per cent and significantly higher in women than men.

“The prevalence of diabetes of 7.7 per cent was higher than the national average of 2.4 per cent, suggesting higher risk of non-communicable diseases in Kajiado,” says the study.

Overweight and obesity was also high; almost 40 per cent of men and 60 per cent of women had weight problems. This is against a national prevalence of 34 per cent in males and 43 per cent in females.

To find out why Kajiado residents are facing such serious risks of lifestyle diseases, the researchers investigated their dietary habits.

They found their dietary habits were not much different from in other urbanising areas in the country, with in fact low consumption of sugary foods and drinks.

But three things stood out; extremely low intake of fruits and vegetables, use of salty domestic water and high alcohol intake among young men.

“Over half of the participants in our study population did not consume vegetables daily and over 70 per cent did not consume fruits daily as recommended.”

This is curious, considering Kajiado has become a major greenhouse-vegetable and fruits producing area though with little available in local markets.

To address the issue, the authors suggest county government require companies producing fruit and vegetables in greenhouses make a portion of them available to the local market.

Younger alcoholics

Secondly, the researchers found high alcohol and tobacco consumption among younger men. “Of greater concern is that half of the current drinkers were younger than 35 years.”

This, the study says, was contrary to what was found in rural areas of western Kenya where drinking was more prevalent among older men (45–54 years).

Although over 90 per cent of study participants were involved in physical activity such as work, walking and cycling, only 39 per cent engaged in adequate physical activity.

“Ethnicity-wise, the Kikuyu and other ethnic groups were at higher odds of elevated blood pressure compared to the Maasai women,” says the study.

This, researchers suggest, is because many local Maasai women still keep some of their traditional ways of life that are preventive of elevated blood pressure.

For unexplained reasons, the authors found people in self-employment were at higher risk of being hypertensive than those in formal employment.

To remain healthy, Kajiado residents are advised to eat more fruits and vegetables, engage in more physical activities, young men should cut on alcohol and tobacco and know their health status.

That, experts suggest, may be the only way for them to enjoy their growing wealth for a long, healthy and prosperous life.

This study confirms what I have been saying all along about DC

- Youth bulge middle class that is becoming increasingly affluent
- Vibrant real estate sector (which -amazingly- some hapa disputed at high decibel)
- High disposable/discretionary incomes which lead to alcoholism and people getting fat like Americans.

As for me and my house
1. We do not touch salty water for both cooking and drinking. Lots of water purification companies in DC that supply to your doorstep nywee
2. Tizi tunachapa daily
3. Nyama choma at Enkare, Pavilion, etc once in a blue moon
4. Fruits and veggies ni lazima

These are more or less an indictment on personal habits/choices rather than county health

NIMESEMA!
New Normal!
wukan
#693 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2020 7:08:13 PM

amorphous wrote:

Pavilion Kitengela.

Wukan, now talk about funk!Laughing out loudly

Kitengela is a town found within the greater kajiado county located along the kajiado namanga road.
It is a bee hive of activities and among the fastest growing towns in the region.Herein are a number of cool entertainment joints, one being PAVILLION CLUB, its a chill place to watch sports, have a cold one and enjoy some good food.
Will be camping in the town soon to bring you the sites and sounds of this lovely place, subscribe to catch all videos as they come, enjoy!

Again .. siyo mimi nimesema Drool

And rest assured 99% of the faces you see hapa are former Nairobi Core refugees, currently DC homeowners(and their slay queens) who wanted a better quality of life (bigger home, more space etc) at a lower cost. As I have been saying from day one..its a no brainer to move to #DCIsTheFuture

Good to see you getting the funk bro. But you need performing arts DJ spinning wheels doesn't cut it.

DC is where Nairobi core was in the 80's. You reminded me of this one from old school 'now I got my high fence'smile

When you get to this point of live performance I will consider DC

amorphous
#694 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2020 3:46:48 PM

wukan wrote:

Good to see you getting the funk bro. But you need performing arts DJ spinning wheels doesn't cut it.

DC is where Nairobi core was in the 80's. You reminded me of this one from old school 'now I got my high fence'smile

When you get to this point of live performance I will consider DC

hehehehe come to Jewel in Crown we show you tings. Clearly hujafika in a very loooooooooong time

New Normal!
amorphous
#695 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2020 8:14:53 AM

NEW DAWN
Nairobi Commuter rail service game changer in public transport

https://www.the-star.co....er-in-public-transport/

Commuters in Nairobi will soon be spared anger and frustration associated with matatus after the much-anticipated Nairobi Commuter Rail Service is launched.

The launch, in a few weeks' time, is set to provide new dawn in public transportation in the capital.

Travellers will be ferried to and from the Nairobi Central Station under the Commuter Rail Project, a collaboration of the Kenya Railway Service and the Nairobi Metropolitan Services.

The project will be a game-changer in the reduction of both vehicular and human traffic jams in the city.

Passengers will save both time and money and at the same time enjoy much-needed comfort on their way to and from the city centre.

Commuters tell sad stories of their experiences in matatus. They are verbally and physically abused, robbed of money and personal items and even hijacked. Violence is meted on women, with some sexually harassed and raped.

The commuter rail is part of the Master Plan of an integrated commuter system within the city and its environs. It also comprises the Bus Rapid Transit, monorail and underground rail.

Some of the infrastructures and amenities are still under installation. Recently, KR imported high capacity Diesel Mobile Units.

Operations have started in Embakasi, Pipeline and Doonholm railway. The three railway stations are among the 10 stations the KR is upgrading and constructing.

The others are at Umoja, Kibera, Thika, Mbagathi Way, Kenyatta and Strathmore universities, Kitengela and Thogoto.

Park and ride services will be available at the designated stops. The motorists will park at the stations and board the City Rail System buses to and from the city.

President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to launch the termini next month, NMS director-general Mohamed Badi said when he recently appeared before the National Assembly’s Committee on Administration and National Security.

Kenya Railways had in February announced it would purchase 11 refurbished DMUs for Sh1.15 billion from 11 refurbished DMUs, five coaches and spare parts from Serveis Ferroviaris de Mallorca.

The new DMUs will ply five routes from Nairobi Central Station to Embakasi Village, Syokimau, Kitengela, Kikuyu and Thika.

The city’s commuter rail service was introduced in May 1992 in response to a series of strikes by PSVs. With time, the demand plummeted due to poor management.

KR is targeting a daily commute to the CBD of 1.5 million people.

Matatus will be barred from the city centre next month, according to the NMS city decongestion plans announced in September.

Matatus using Jogoo Road and Haile Selassie Avenue will terminate their journeys at Muthurwa and those using Mombasa and Lang'ata roads at the Railway Golf Club.

Those plying Thika Superhighway will terminate their journey at the newly completed Ngara and Parklands termini.

Also, an expressway will be set up running from the Kenya Planters Cooperative Union near the Wakulima Market all the way to Jogoo Road.

The NMS is also searching for other grounds to be used as bus termini outside the CBD.

When the NMS was established and handed over to Badi on March 18, the President called for the operationalisation of two matatu termini at Desai Road and Park Road.

The Badi-headed NMS has also come up with the Non-Motorised Transport Corridors from some estates to the CBD.

This gives city residents the options for walking and cycling safely. Phase One of the NMT runs parallel to Nairobi River from Doonholm to Westlands.

Phase Two will run from the city centre to Lang'ata along the railway while Phase Three will start from the CBD to Roysambu through Ngara.

In June, President Kenyatta inspected the NMT along Kenyatta Avenue and Wabera Street.

NMS engineer Michael Ochieng said at the time that the intention of NMT was the decongestion of the CBD.

“This NMT network runs from Kenyatta Avenue to the Integrity Centre through Serena Hotel. Another will be along Moi Avenue to join yet another one from City Hall to University Way roundabout,” he said at the time.

New Normal!
amorphous
#696 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2020 7:30:04 PM

Oil exploration to begin in Kajiado

https://countypress.co.k...Ua5cxDBcQve0CNQcphisQhM

By Obegi Malack

obegimalack@gmail.com

The National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK) plans to drill oil at its Block 14T in Magadi, Kajiado County next year.

NOCK CEO Morintat Leparan said they are looking for a drilling company to start the exploration by February next year.

“Oil drilling is expensive that is why it is taking long, but we will advertise and get the correct drilling company,” he said.

He said to do one well needs more than Sh3 billion, but they are sourcing for funds before moving into the next phase of zeroing in on the well.

Drilling a very risky business with chances of either striking oil and gas or getting nothing but in most cases countries look for partners to inject cash in exchange of a stake.

Speaking in Kisamis Kajiado West Sub County, the CEO said they had gathered data in an area covering 500 kilometres where they have been operating since 2011.

NOCK has drilled water boreholes in Magadi and erected 10,000 litre tanks to serve the community, build a secondary school, a police post and another school at Nkurman.

The national government corporation also allocated some money to group ranches in the area to fund some of the projects such as irrigation, schools among others.

Earlier, Governor Joseph ole Lenku welcomed the partnerships and challenged NOCK to ensure the community benefits from Corporate Social responsibility.

Tullow Oil, a UK company has been drilling oil in Turkana County since February 2012 with an estimated one billion barrels found in Blocks 10BB and 13T near Lokichar.

Tullow and Toronto-listed Africa Oil, holds a 25 percent stake in the blocks. They first discovered crude oil in the Lokichar Basin in 2012.

The fields contain 560 million barrels and are expected to produce up to 100,000 barrels per day from 2022.

The fields currently produce about 2,000 barrels of oil per day.

Check the first post in this entire thread. Tulisema haya maneno zamaaani and some did not believe us Drool

#DCisTheFuture
New Normal!
amorphous
#697 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2020 5:21:19 AM

Remember the Sportpesa jackpot winner Abisai? Here is his story...hosted where else but in Jewel in the Crown's beautiful Galaxy Resort Drool

#DCIsTheFuture
New Normal!
amorphous
#698 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2020 9:48:27 AM

Paradise for your kids to enjoy..

#DCisTheFuture
#JewelInTheCrown
New Normal!
amorphous
#699 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2020 12:21:46 PM

Where else is the best hidden gem in the Nairobi Metro area except in Jewel in the Crown, DC? Drool
Enjoy..Drool

New Normal!
amorphous
#700 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2020 9:34:37 AM

Lerruat Log Resort, near Kajiado town.

@Wukan, as Nairobi core crumbles, DC builds world class Swiss Resorts Drool

As I said..in ten years time you will regret why you decided to rot in cramped Nai core Grogon/River Road filthy bedsitters.Laughing out loudly

The standard of living for the middle classes who move to DC is getting better by leaps and bounds month after month.
New Normal!