10 Pages«<678910>
Devolution Revenue Sharing Formula
#141 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 6:01:56 PM

I'm not like Masukuma...The math and small stuff. He was against it. Coz he saw the loopholes in small stuff. Me? I believe in choices. So choose yours.

This is a good constitution.

If you vote for a thief, ukae pare pare.

The thieves are now talking about the pie...They can't even deal with what they have.

It's like giving your wife a whole baby back rib. Then she boils it in water and blames the pig.

If Moses Kuria "the voice of Kikuyus" was given 1 billion shillings, what would he do?

I can assure you I don't know....I won't judge him or pretend to know what he'd do. But

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Equitable of the 15%...It's politics. And it shall be.

Now vote wisely. Sio kulia lia wazua kila siku.

Thus says a non-voter.

Leta hio hesabu. Kangata's formula had loopholes inflating money to some counties eg Kirinyaga. Equity to me is enabling not necessarily equal. Marsabit can never be Nairobi, Marsabit may not necessarily want to be Nairobi, they can grow organically to be what they want to be and that can be achieved by pumping just enough money to sustain their growth. Having large tracks of land does not mean you need to throw money and fill that all out. Hence money should serve the people.

This Kikuyu and Kaleo superiority syndrome surely must end one day...

I personally last night had an amazing wonderful dinner and none of them were there.

I think you should take off your tribal goggles and think reasonably esp since you are Nairobian. Maji ya sewage haiishi mtaani because we have expanded beyond capacity, why should Nairobi get a shave yet everything indicates we need new or refurbished infrastructure? What about the bedrooms, Kajiado, Mks Kiambu they have every right to get more money to upgrade their infrastructure otherwise they will be facing the same issues as Nrb. Unless we are planning to move industrial area to Wajir the land factor should have the least weight when considering a formula.
#142 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 6:21:47 PM

I'm not like Masukuma...The math and small stuff. He was against it. Coz he saw the loopholes in small stuff. Me? I believe in choices. So choose yours.

The thieves are now talking about the pie...They can't even deal with what they have.

It's like giving your wife a whole baby back rib. Then she boils it in water and blames the pig.

If Moses Kuria "the voice of Kikuyus" was given 1 billion shillings, what would he do?

I can assure you I don't know....I won't judge him or pretend to know what he'd do. But

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Thus says a non-voter.

Leta hio hesabu. Kangata's formula had loopholes inflating money to some counties eg Kirinyaga. Equity to me is enabling not necessarily equal. Marsabit can never be Nairobi, Marsabit may not necessarily want to be Nairobi, they can grow organically to be what they want to be and that can be achieved by pumping just enough money to sustain their growth. Having large tracks of land does not mean you need to throw money and fill that all out. Hence money should serve the people.

I personally last night had an amazing wonderful dinner and none of them were there.

we are discussing the Revenue Sharing formula and you are now on tribal superiority issues?
#143 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 7:10:03 PM

Gathige wrote:

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Thus says a non-voter.

we are discussing the Revenue Sharing formula and you are now on tribal superiority issues?

Coz Mwangi wa Iria confirmed it.

That's a fact,

Kikuyus want money to the gafana.

PERIOD!!!!!!!

#144 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 7:31:43 PM

Marsabit county has a lot of arable land with plenty of water but some wazungus long ago decided that the land is best used as a a National Park and Reserve. People of Marsabit were never consulted when these reserves were created. Now is the time for people to decide what they want to do with their land. Kila county ifanye hesabu yake. Tourism na ukulima ni nini iko na faida. Let the residents of each county decide. If they choose tourism sawa, if they choose other ways to use the land sawa pia.

In Tanzania Magufuli has confronted this problem head on. They have a very large national park there called Selous which is 50,000 square kilometres through which the great River Rifiji passes. The place had been taken hostage by wildlife conservationists who built lodges there in the wilderness and airstrips there for the guests to fly in, live in luxury with nature and then fly out. Tanzania was not benefitting from its great resource because the wazungus organized to declare the park a UNESCO world heritage site for its wildlife diversity and undisturbed nature. By the way this is a trick they use to tell you not to touch what is yours. For years they had done studies to show that they could build a dam to generate power from the Rifiji at Stieglers Gorge but because of this designation no one could fund the project because they would be "destroying nature".

Magufuli threw out the conservationists and they started building the dam. If you Google Stiegler's Gorge Dam you will mostly get negative stories about how they are destroying nature and the contractors are not qualified etc. When people take back they own resources, exploiters are not happy and they are the ones with the newspapers and radios and TV and Internet.

Let each county decide how best to use the resources they have for themselves.

I think we addressed this in an earlier thread - humans behave like they are the only creatures on this planet. You and that Lion in Nairobi National park both found themselves here... game parks are for conservation FIRST and profit second... wanyama wajipange huko na binadamu wajipange hapa...hii dunia sio ya binadamu peke yake.
wukan
#145 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 8:13:48 PM

I think you should take off your tribal goggles and think reasonably esp since you are Nairobian. Maji ya sewage haiishi mtaani because we have expanded beyond capacity, why should Nairobi get a shave yet everything indicates we need new or refurbished infrastructure? What about the bedrooms, Kajiado, Mks Kiambu they have every right to get more money to upgrade their infrastructure otherwise they will be facing the same issues as Nrb. Unless we are planning to move industrial area to Wajir the land factor should have the least weight when considering a formula.

Devolution scam is only leading to economic fragmentation. Money goes to those who multiply it not those who need it. We will have problems in future dealing with a large army of unemployed and unskilled folks because we were busy doing some affirmative socialist experiment. I expect @matharo and @alma to be telling this in the near future after we run out of other people's money to fund the devolution scam

#146 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 4:44:48 AM

wukan wrote:

Devolution scam is only leading to economic fragmentation. Money goes to those who multiply it not those who need it. We will have problems in future dealing with a large army of unemployed and unskilled folks because we were busy doing some affirmative socialist experiment. I expect @matharo and @alma to be telling this in the near future after we run out of other people's money to fund the devolution scam

Huyu ni mdomo tu, science has it that as long as a population is healthy well fed and comfortable they are bound to procreate. Those who have access to knowledge may choose ku funga uzazi, but the women who have no access to this will fill the earth.

Scam or not, it is what it is. The majority of citizens want resources drilled down home, where they reside not where they were born. Now its up to leadership to decentralize that money and take it to the people.

The constitution also allows for a marginalization fund so why should the marginalization equation show up twice?
Wakanyugi
#147 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 12:19:57 PM

wukan wrote:

Huyu ni mdomo tu, science has it that as long as a population is healthy well fed and comfortable they are bound to procreate. Those who have access to knowledge may choose ku funga uzazi, but the women who have no access to this will fill the earth.

Scam or not, it is what it is. The majority of citizens want resources drilled down home, where they reside not where they were born. Now its up to leadership to decentralize that money and take it to the people.

The constitution also allows for a marginalization fund so why should the marginalization equation show up twice?

Not quite, my Braza.

The best contraceptive ever known is Womens empowerment. Give girls an education and their tastes and aspirations change, and subsequently that of their families too. Plus the longer a woman stays in school, the lower her potential lifetime fertility.

Natembeya in fact makes this case with his example of elite, educated, women who give birth in comfort, bila kupiga duru, unlike their poor sisters.

But I think he would achieve better results long term if he enforced the law against early marriages, FGM and demanded that parents take all their children to school and keep them there.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
sqft
#148 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 4:27:43 PM

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#149 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 4:50:27 PM

#150 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 5:00:04 PM

Ruto wins over Baba smile
#151 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 5:26:03 PM

Hopefully Ngombe za Bba and chest chumping Kangata will join the Win_Win side.
#152 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2020 5:40:53 PM

Gathige wrote:

Matusi tena. Anyway the 4 jaruo Senators miscalculated this one (fatigue of being in opposition smile ). Big up to Sakaja, Malala, Mutula Jr, Ole Kina et al for standing their grown and being joined by Murkomen and others.

Kangata is such a stupid fellow, dint know that d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#153 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2020 12:44:24 AM

Gathige wrote:

Matusi tena. Anyway the 4 jaruo Senators miscalculated this one (fatigue of being in opposition smile ). Big up to Sakaja, Malala, Mutula Jr, Ole Kina et al for standing their grown and being joined by Murkomen and others.

Kangata is such a stupid fellow, dint know that d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Kangata na vitisho in today's Kenya... KATIBA YES!
sqft
#154 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 11:53:18 AM

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#155 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 4:49:37 PM

We have senators in the house who do not know what they went to do there
#156 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 5:13:45 PM

This Kang'ata guy, is he normal!!!
#157 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 5:38:15 PM

Ruto and Raila on the same page.

Like I said before, one day the Kikuyu superiority complex will end.

Learn to be nice to other people and sometimes feed your neighbours when you see they need your help.

It's a good and Godly thing to do.

Not boasting about how many children you have outside wedlock with gashungwas more than other people.

#158 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 5:40:23 PM

The senate is haggling and jostling over only 15% of national revenue. The Central Government wastes a whooping 85% of the balance quietly. The senate should just sober up and do what is right without being partisan.
#159 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 5:49:30 PM

Gathige wrote:
The senate is haggling and jostling over only 15% of national revenue. The Central Government wastes a whooping 85% of the balance quietly. The senate should just sober up and do what is right without being partisan.

Orengo's and Murkomen's arguement!!!
#160 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2020 5:51:16 PM

Gathige wrote:

These senators don't understand. There's a reason Uhuru is keeping away. He has his 85%.

If they had done their work as they were supposed to other than these kiweleke, tangatanga, inua mama sijui what, they would have got more as per the constitution.

As it is now, they are fighting over crumbs because they were out thought and outmanoeuvred by the one they call mlevi.

When you look at lining your pocket instead of doing what is right.

Sad.