Devolution Revenue Sharing Formula
#121 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 11:53:27 AM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:
I support wa iria 100%. Each muranga resident gets 4k while others get 60k. No justice at all.

it's like a comedy... ati Wakikuyu wamefinywa!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Of all people... Miaka yote serikalini! mumefinywa? such a joke! after tasting Equity for 5 years mumeanza kulalamika Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . FYI... there are areas of this country that have lived generations under skewed revenue sharing and this has always caused conflict and disharmony in this country. Remember - 2007 was caused by such disparity! So tulieni! Uzeni maji mkitaka (nani amewakataza?)... but remember KATIBA YES!

I think i need to remind you who the biggest gainers are. Muranga is not even on the list. Stop making this a kikuyu affair.

I did not make it a Kikuyu affair - the video that you put here made it a Kikuyu affair! You by quoting it made it a Kikuyu Affair!

I'd argue it' a kikuyu affair since it seems only Kikuyus are catching feelings about it. Hadi they are paying trolls against Sakaja..

Sad.

yes... @sqft had what is the equivalent of an online freduian slip when he posted that tweet!! Anyway... we are not children! we know whose concerns are being pushed... kutisha tisha watu... KATIBA YES!
sqft
#122 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 11:57:58 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:

These are the same arguments that white people make against affirmative action in the US or South Africa.

You need to drive out of Central Kenya and visit a county like Marsabit or Samburu where the ground is basically untillable and water is super scarce while the temperatures are so hot that spending 30 minutes in the sun makes you immediately thirsty.

These challenges faced by our brothers in the Northern District are not to be encountered in fertile and wet parts of Kenya such as Central.

So for whatever reason, the average citizen in Central Kenya starts off at a big advantage compared to the average citizen in the dry parts of the country who has to worry about the most basic things such as water. Which is why as you drive by dry parts of the country you see kids begging you for water. That never happens in Central.

So if we are to talk about equality, we need to at least get the citizen in dry parts of the country having access to water/food. A visit to one of these dry parts of the country would really help to dispel the feeling of injustice.

Ever heard of something called land use? In high rainfall areas such as central, uasin gishu, nandi, kericho, cheranganyi, mt elgon, kakamega, siaya, taita etc the best land use is growing crops. The warmer lowlands where grass grows very fast after the rainy seasons are best for livestock keeping. Agriculture is not just about crops but also livestock. Agriculture is the science and art of cultivating plants and livestock. Being in an arid area doesn not mean that you cant practice your form of agriculture. I posted earlier that most beef, goats and sheep worth billions come from these arid and semi arid areas (ASALS). You can also use those asals to keep wild animals and benefit from tourism just like narok gets billions from masai mara park, or the way mzungus are doing in laikipia, or samburus in their county. So dwelling on tillability of land, high temperatures and thirst is missing the point. Do you know that in all those dry areas you are talking about, the livestock and wildlife has to drink water every day to survive meaning there are water sources to sustain the millions of livestock? Also they can drill boreholes to further promote the livestock enterprise.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#123 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 12:08:44 PM

sqft wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

These are the same arguments that white people make against affirmative action in the US or South Africa.

You need to drive out of Central Kenya and visit a county like Marsabit or Samburu where the ground is basically untillable and water is super scarce while the temperatures are so hot that spending 30 minutes in the sun makes you immediately thirsty.

These challenges faced by our brothers in the Northern District are not to be encountered in fertile and wet parts of Kenya such as Central.

So for whatever reason, the average citizen in Central Kenya starts off at a big advantage compared to the average citizen in the dry parts of the country who has to worry about the most basic things such as water. Which is why as you drive by dry parts of the country you see kids begging you for water. That never happens in Central.

So if we are to talk about equality, we need to at least get the citizen in dry parts of the country having access to water/food. A visit to one of these dry parts of the country would really help to dispel the feeling of injustice.

Ever heard of something called land use? In high rainfall areas such as central, uasin gishu, nandi, kericho, cheranganyi, mt elgon, kakamega, siaya, taita etc the best land use is growing crops. The warmer lowlands where grass grows very fast after the rainy seasons are best for livestock keeping. Agriculture is not just about crops but also livestock. Agriculture is the science and art of cultivating plants and livestock. Being in an arid area doesn not mean that you cant practice your form of agriculture. I posted earlier that most beef, goats and sheep worth billions come from these arid and semi arid areas (ASALS). You can also use those asals to keep wild animals and benefit from tourism just like narok gets billions from masai mara park, or the way mzungus are doing in laikipia, or samburus in their county. So dwelling on tillability of land, high temperatures and thirst is missing the point. Do you know that in all those dry areas you are talking about, the livestock and wildlife has to drink water every day to survive meaning there are water sources to sustain the millions of livestock? Also they can drill boreholes to further promote the livestock enterprise.

sqft
#124 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 12:11:07 PM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:
I support wa iria 100%. Each muranga resident gets 4k while others get 60k. No justice at all.

[TWEET]1290878259454980096/TWEET]

it's like a comedy... ati Wakikuyu wamefinywa!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Of all people... Miaka yote serikalini! mumefinywa? such a joke! after tasting Equity for 5 years mumeanza kulalamika Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . FYI... there are areas of this country that have lived generations under skewed revenue sharing and this has always caused conflict and disharmony in this country. Remember - 2007 was caused by such disparity! So tulieni! Uzeni maji mkitaka (nani amewakataza?)... but remember KATIBA YES!

I think i need to remind you who the biggest gainers are. Muranga is not even on the list. Stop making this a kikuyu affair.

I did not make it a Kikuyu affair - the video that you put here made it a Kikuyu affair! You by quoting it made it a Kikuyu Affair!

I'd argue it' a kikuyu affair since it seems only Kikuyus are catching feelings about it. Hadi they are paying trolls against Sakaja..

Sad.

The nandis are also saying the same thing. One man one vote one shilling. Are the nandis also kikuyu?

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
sqft
#125 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 12:18:05 PM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

[TWEET]1290878259454980096/TWEET]

Sad.

The nandis and RV are also saying the same thing. One man one vote one shilling. Are the nandis also kikuyu?

sqft
#126 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 12:38:43 PM

Murkomen's elgeyo marakwet county. Farmers cant access markets due to poor roads. Him and wananchi cant also travel in his own county coz of poor roads. The elgeyo marakwet governor is right that they need more funds.

https://www.standardmedi...s-as-rains-damage-roads

Nyandarua county. No roads to access markets. They also need more devolution cash.

https://www.construction...nyandarua-county-roads/

sqft
#127 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 12:51:15 PM

Meanwhile Marsabit:

#128 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 3:11:53 PM

sqft wrote:
Meanwhile Marsabit:

indeed Marsabit is much better place to live than Nyandarua and Elgeyo Marakwet!
#129 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 3:22:44 PM

sqft wrote:
Meanwhile Marsabit:

indeed Marsabit is much better place to live than Nyandarua and Elgeyo Marakwet!

They should travel around the country wajionee. In some places they cannot even sleep, pissing on themselves the whole night.
#130 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 3:58:52 PM

We are missing the point, its about service delivery to the county residents. Not what you can do in Marsabit. No amount of money can make Marsabit be as green and their land be as tillable as Nyandarua...nothing, but funds can be used to create rroads that would be used to supply food from Nyandarua to Marsabit. Farmers should not throw away milk and cabbages yet citizens are dying of hunger in Marsabit.

Equally, residents of Nyandarua should be able to move out of Nyandarua and travel to Marsabit to tour ala?
#131 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 6:16:46 PM

sqft wrote:
Meanwhile Marsabit:

They should travel around the country wajionee. In some places they cannot even sleep, pissing on themselves the whole night.

Wachana nao! Kazi ni kuGoogle photos za places halafu waweke hapa to push their selfish agenda... don’t they know that there are parts of this country called Kenya that say they are going to “Kenya” when traveling to the 100km belt of land around the railway?
#132 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 9:00:33 PM

Baba has now rescinded his support for the new formula.

https://www.the-star.co....-backs-sakaja-proposal/
#133 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2020 10:41:58 PM

Gathige wrote:

Baba always want to be on the right side of history...
#134 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 6:35:49 AM

What are the new numbers in the new formula? The other one had inflated Kirinyaga's numbers by 1B

sqft
#135 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 8:57:53 AM

Gathige wrote:

Baba always want to be on the right side of history...

It's all about his 2022 presidential bid. Very selfish. Doesnt want to lose coast support especially after joho has been funding him for ages. Nothing to do with being on the right side of history.
sqft
#136 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 11:03:44 AM

sqft wrote:
Meanwhile Marsabit:

Wachana nao! Kazi ni kuGoogle photos za places halafu waweke hapa to push their selfish agenda... don’t they know that there are parts of this country called Kenya that say they are going to “Kenya” when traveling to the 100km belt of land around the railway?

Most of the development and facilities that people admire are actually private property. The nice estates kina runda, karen, kitisuru etc all those were bare lands that private individuals came together and developed including the associated infrastructure ie roads, boreholes, sewer, high speed fibre etc. You will find that the only thing the govt gave them is KPLC power. All the glittering malls in nairobi are privately funded. All the nice apartments, hotels, clubs, hospitals are private property. All the factories huko industrial area, mombasa road are private property. All the schools brookhouse, kianda, banda are private property.

The most the govt can do is build a road (tarmac or murram) to connect your town or village to the rest of the country, provide security (police stations) provide power (KPLC), telephone services (or licence 3rd parties like safaricom), build public schools, hospitals, dispensaries. Then the local authorities can handle things like water, markets, sewer etc. The last time I checked, and am widely travelled, nearly all former provincial headquaters, district hqs, townships, urban centres from lokichogio to lamu, migori to moyale, garissa to loitoktok are connected by tarmac roads, have electricity, telephone, internet, have public hospitals, public schools, police stations etc.

The govt has done its part in providing the infrastructure, hiyo ingine its upto to the residents and investors kujipanga. If an engineer from marsabit would invest his cash in his county and build a leather tanning factory due to abundance of livestock, and also build a hotel. If a lawyer from kendu bay would invest in his town and put up a fish factory and some nice club. If a businessman from mandera would invest in his town and put up a nice hotel, camel milk factory. If a bank manager from kangema would invest his cash in kangema town and put up a macadamia factory. If a businessman in kitui would invest in his town and put up a honey processing factory and a nice hotel etc. But what do all these individuals do. They all troop to nairobi to build apartments, hotels, clubs, malls, private hospitals, private schools etc. Then everyone becomes envious of the "development" in nairobi and surrounding areas. And then wrongly blames the govt for not taking development to all parts of the country. It is a big shame that many governors, senators, MPs are living in nairobi and also investing in nairobi, buying houses huko karen and building apartments, hotels hapa nairobi while they should be the ones leading private investment in their counties. Isn't it ironical that the more cash you send to the counties the more cash is brought back to nairobi for private investment?

If you want malls, apartments, clubs, hotels, gyms in your towns and villages, pole sana there is little the govt can do. Mjipange.
#137 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 3:14:58 PM

Marsabit county has a lot of arable land with plenty of water but some wazungus long ago decided that the land is best used as a a National Park and Reserve. People of Marsabit were never consulted when these reserves were created. Now is the time for people to decide what they want to do with their land. Kila county ifanye hesabu yake. Tourism na ukulima ni nini iko na faida. Let the residents of each county decide. If they choose tourism sawa, if they choose other ways to use the land sawa pia.

In Tanzania Magufuli has confronted this problem head on. They have a very large national park there called Selous which is 50,000 square kilometres through which the great River Rifiji passes. The place had been taken hostage by wildlife conservationists who built lodges there in the wilderness and airstrips there for the guests to fly in, live in luxury with nature and then fly out. Tanzania was not benefitting from its great resource because the wazungus organized to declare the park a UNESCO world heritage site for its wildlife diversity and undisturbed nature. By the way this is a trick they use to tell you not to touch what is yours. For years they had done studies to show that they could build a dam to generate power from the Rifiji at Stieglers Gorge but because of this designation no one could fund the project because they would be "destroying nature".

Magufuli threw out the conservationists and they started building the dam. If you Google Stiegler's Gorge Dam you will mostly get negative stories about how they are destroying nature and the contractors are not qualified etc. When people take back they own resources, exploiters are not happy and they are the ones with the newspapers and radios and TV and Internet.

Let each county decide how best to use the resources they have for themselves.
#138 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 5:13:46 PM

I'm not like Masukuma...The math and small stuff. He was against it. Coz he saw the loopholes in small stuff. Me? I believe in choices. So choose yours.

This is a good constitution.

If you vote for a thief, ukae pare pare.

The thieves are now talking about the pie...They can't even deal with what they have.

It's like giving your wife a whole baby back rib. Then she boils it in water and blames the pig.

If Moses Kuria "the voice of Kikuyus" was given 1 billion shillings, what would he do?

I can assure you I don't know....I won't judge him or pretend to know what he'd do. But

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Equitable of the 15%...It's politics. And it shall be.

Now vote wisely. Sio kulia lia wazua kila siku.

What has Iria done with his 8 year billions? Ama everytime one of these incompetents can't deal with real questions they start saying...

Laira
Raila
BBI
Looto
Sonko
Uhuru
Wamashati
Ruto

Useless!!!!

If Iria has not bought you a Bugatti in the years he was Governor....You supporting him to take 1k from someone in Wajir will not buy you a Bugatti.

#139 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 5:22:42 PM

I'm not like Masukuma...The math and small stuff. He was against it. Coz he saw the loopholes in small stuff. Me? I believe in choices. So choose yours.

The thieves are now talking about the pie...They can't even deal with what they have.

It's like giving your wife a whole baby back rib. Then she boils it in water and blames the pig.

If Moses Kuria "the voice of Kikuyus" was given 1 billion shillings, what would he do?

I can assure you I don't know....I won't judge him or pretend to know what he'd do. But

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Thus says a non-voter.

Leta hio hesabu. Kangata's formula had loopholes inflating money to some counties eg Kirinyaga. Equity to me is enabling not necessarily equal. Marsabit can never be Nairobi, Marsabit may not necessarily want to be Nairobi, they can grow organically to be what they want to be and that can be achieved by pumping just enough money to sustain their growth. Having large tracks of land does not mean you need to throw money and fill that all out. Hence money should serve the people.
#140 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2020 5:36:42 PM

I'm sure he will say

Raila, BBI, Ruto etc

You get?

Thus says a non-voter.

Leta hio hesabu. Kangata's formula had loopholes inflating money to some counties eg Kirinyaga. Equity to me is enabling not necessarily equal. Marsabit can never be Nairobi, Marsabit may not necessarily want to be Nairobi, they can grow organically to be what they want to be and that can be achieved by pumping just enough money to sustain their growth. Having large tracks of land does not mean you need to throw money and fill that all out. Hence money should serve the people.

This Kikuyu and Kaleo superiority syndrome surely must end one day...

I personally last night had an amazing wonderful dinner and none of them were there.