wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Harun Ndubi
sqft
#1 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 9:40:12 AM

City lawyer Harun Ndubi faces auction over rent

https://www.businessdail...7640-12q8o1i/index.html

If only he had followed the amorphously @amorphous advice and got himself a 1/4 acre hapo DC and put up a home pole pole, he would be sleeping like a baby, being rent and mortgage free. But he chose to spent all his cash and life drinking hapo simmers and enriching landlords.

City lawyer Harun Ndubi has moved to court seeking to prevent his landlord from evicting him from his house in Kilimani and selling his property over rent arrears of Sh414,000.

In a case certified as urgent by Justice Weldon Korir, Mr Ndubi who has been on the forefront fighting for rights of individuals caught on the wrong side of the law, said his landlord, Young Muslim Association (YAM) has instructed auctioneers to throw him out of his apartment on Kirichwa Road and seize his household goods over rent arrears amounting to Sh414,715.

Other than the seizure of his household goods, Benwill Auctioneers said he will also be required to pay their fees of Sh150,000.

Through veteran lawyer John Khaminwa, Mr Ndubi said he was given a 14-day notice of July 9 that his goods would be seized and sold to recover the rent arrears.

The lawyer said he is an advocate of good standing and has been in practice for almost three decades and also long-serving tenant to YAM.

He started defaulting from March 2020, when Chief Justice announced closure of courts to contain the spread of coronavirus.

The lawyer said he received a call on July 18, from the auctioneer threatening to seize his household goods. Mr Ndubi said he moved into the house seven years ago and the initial rent was Sh60,000 but the landlord increased it to Sh70,000 inclusive of service charge of Sh10,000 in 2012.

He said they disagreed but nonetheless, continued staying in the house.

“As a court room practitioner, my income has hitherto been frustrated but I have nonetheless undertaken to pay all these dues as and when I am able to as long as the effects of the coronavirus pandemic persist as I am left without any other option,” he said in a sworn statement.

He wants the court to grant him temporary orders, stopping the landlord and the auctioneer from evicting him from the house.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#2 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 11:12:28 AM

What is the purpose of this thread?

Do you know how many people in Kenya are not able to pay rent let alone a mortgage right now in Nairobi?

And who told you property values are rising in DC during Covid?

Some posts ni za umama tu.

sqft
#3 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 1:33:09 PM

Do you know how many people in Kenya are not able to pay rent let alone a mortgage right now in Nairobi?

I was surprised that a top lawyer who has been practicing for ages is unable to pay his house rent. I don't want to imagine how distressed his wife and kids are.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
Taurrus
#4 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 3:37:39 PM

sqft wrote:

I was surprised that a top lawyer who has been practicing for ages is unable to pay his house rent. I don't want to imagine how distressed his wife and kids are.

My friend only the poor pay without taking advantage. This guy can feed a school.
sqft
#5 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 3:59:49 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sqft wrote:

My friend only the poor pay without taking advantage. This guy can feed a school.

Why pay Khaminwa to represent him in court in the rent arrears case instead of using that cash to pay the rent arrears? Also I believe he is in trouble coz no one would want his name dragged in court coz of rent manenos especially a lawyer of his standing since this may seriously hurt his legal career. Note that in that article he has confessed that he fought hard when his landlord increased his rent from 60k to 70k.
#6 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 4:41:39 PM

Taurrus wrote:
sqft wrote:

Rent is the most embarrassing debt. No man can stand a stranger knocking at his done very so often Kudai rent. Its not a good site.

Any way, the good lawyer to move to a place he can afford.
Tokyo
#7 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 5:16:39 PM

I would hate to be his client. A top lawyer practising for decades unable to tackle the basics.
work to prosper
#8 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2020 9:50:57 PM

Kama @ Murchr husema, apambane na hali yake!
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2020 6:50:37 AM

Didn't know there were so many jelous petty little bitches on wazua.

Every man goes through a hard time why does it affect you thus? Ama he was drinking your money?

Hii post and the replies are a shame to the men on wazua.

Why don't you write your real names here so that we can compare your life to Ndubi's?

aibu jameni.

sqft
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2020 1:43:49 PM

He needs help, even if he is drinking his own rent money.

Lawyer Harun Ndubi arrested AGAIN on drink-driving claim

https://www.nation.co.ke...nk-driving-claim-134826

Nairobi area traffic police officers apprehended the senior lawyer and took him to Kilimani Police Station, a source at the Traffic Police Headquarters told the Nation.

"He parked the vehicle in the middle of the road…he slept in the vehicle…[he was] very drunk,” Mr Koome said.

Mainat
#11 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2020 8:45:47 AM

Something strange here. Because all those yrs na baado unarent?
Tokyo wrote:
I would hate to be his client. A top lawyer practising for decades unable to tackle the basics.

Sehemu ndio nyumba
#12 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2020 10:50:02 AM

Mainat wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

Not surprised.
You want to live in Kilimani but you can only afford to build a house in Kitengela.
So you remain a tenant.
#13 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2020 12:02:17 PM

2 Things. Maybe they help understand the situation. Maybe not.

1. Lawyers make bad tenants, generally. They refuse to pay. Even big shots default in rent. I know this because I worked in real estate & we had this unwritten rule that we needed to avoid them. Apart from poor payments, they'd be looking at ways of making their leases controlled so that you can't increase rent or kick them out.

At one point, one very famous lawyer who later became a top govt official had arrears. We tried to follow up to no avail. My boss made a decision to block this top lawyer from entering the building's parking. So the dude comes & security inform him he wasn't allowed to park in the building. Problem is, this is in the CBD, he's in the street! Aibu! Yet he is this very proud top lawyer cum lecturer!

He's livid. But what to do? Long story short they make a payment. Wakili hataki aibu!

2. Ndubi is said to do a lot of pro-bono work. This I learnt while doing some consultancy for an NGO.
Queen
#14 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2020 12:08:38 PM

sqft wrote:
He needs help, even if he is drinking his own rent money.

Lawyer Harun Ndubi arrested AGAIN on drink-driving claim

https://www.nation.co.ke...nk-driving-claim-134826

Nairobi area traffic police officers apprehended the senior lawyer and took him to Kilimani Police Station, a source at the Traffic Police Headquarters told the Nation.

"He parked the vehicle in the middle of the road…he slept in the vehicle…[he was] very drunk,” Mr Koome said.

This is a classic example of "alcohol can never take you anywhere". But then again who takes alcohol as a mode of transport?
#15 Posted : Sunday, July 26, 2020 2:11:32 PM

Didn't know there were so many jealous petty little bitches on wazua.

Every man goes through a hard time why does it affect you thus? Ama he was drinking your money?

Hii post and the replies are a shame to the men on wazua.

Why don't you write your real names here so that we can compare your life to Ndubi's?

aibu jameni.

Hear hear! why should a grown man be bothered by another man's debts, where he lives, whether he rents or has built, how he spends his free time?
sqft
#16 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2020 10:07:45 AM

Mainat wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

Not surprised.
You want to live in Kilimani but you can only afford to build a house in Kitengela.
So you remain a tenant.

True. A property manager huko kilimani once told me that many tenants are trapped in a vicious circle of renting. They cant afford to buy the 15m apartment they are living in, but can afford the 70k rent so they end up paying rent forever. Interestingly, they can afford to build elsewhere but once you move your family to kilimani and enroll kids at makini, you cant take them back to donholm or DC.

Lets see the cost of renting for just 10yrs.

70,000 pm x 12 = 840,000 per yr
10yrs = 8,400,000

8.4m is enough to buy a 1.5m plot in DC and the balance of about 7m enough to put up a 280m2 mansion (like one below) at cost of about 25,000 per m2, and you live happily ever after - rent free, mortgage free and service charge free. NB a similar 280m2 mansion in kilimani will cost you 100m.

#17 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2020 3:59:52 PM

Mainat wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

renting does not mean he does not have his home somewhere else. maybe the house is in kitengela but given his type of work being in kilimani makes it easy to do his job. i know of at least two doctors with homes in karen (not rental) but who rent apartments in near the nairobi hospital to ease their work - at times they are on call 24/7.
#18 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2020 4:34:21 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Mainat wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

renting does not mean he does not have his home somewhere else. maybe the house is in kitengela but given his type of work being in kilimani makes it easy to do his job. i know of at least two doctors with homes in karen (not rental) but who rent apartments in near the nairobi hospital to ease their work - at times they are on call 24/7.

If he had another home he would move the family there then battle with the sumbua landlord
#19 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2020 4:46:38 PM

Btw I am told there is an upsurge in demand for construction stones.so it's never too late ,he can get a kabloti at DC and start over afresh
#20 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2020 9:17:58 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Mainat wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

If he had another home he would move the family there then battle with the sumbua landlord

not as simple as that. same as saying he could have moved to a bedsitter if he didn't have another house. covid-19 seemingly happened and before he knew it he was in arrears and couldn't move his stuff out coz of that. probably thought he could salvage it and it didn't happen.