wazua Tue, Apr 30, 2024

17 Pages«<151617
Nairobi Rains
#321 Posted : Friday, December 06, 2019 6:09:28 PM

There's a guy giving Met Dept compe on fb. Check Samuel Kairu handle. He predicts even before they do. For the region, not just Kenya
#322 Posted : Friday, December 06, 2019 6:24:08 PM

There's a guy giving Met Dept compe on fb. Check Samuel Kairu handle. He predicts even before they do. For the region, not just Kenya

He does not predict rather show information already online in international weather stations
#323 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2019 5:46:31 PM

sqft
#324 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2019 10:32:58 AM

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#325 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2020 6:28:00 AM

amorphous
#326 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2020 5:28:23 PM

These past long rains were the best yet for DC. I suspect because the swarming middle classes who started planting trees 5-10 years ago in their compounds have caused a change in the micro-climate in the area as all those trees mature. This would explain why areas further past Isinya toward Kajiado and beyond did not have the same benefit. The goats and sheep eat everything in their wake there! At this rate we might have to baptise DC as RAINBOWL if the settlement (and tree planting) patterns continue Laughing out loudly
Age and family mellows us all over time
#327 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2020 5:48:52 PM

amorphous wrote:
These past long rains were the best yet for DC. I suspect because the swarming middle classes who started planting trees 5-10 years ago in their compounds have caused a change in the micro-climate in the area as all those trees mature. This would explain why areas further past Isinya toward Kajiado and beyond did not have the same benefit. The goats and sheep eat everything in their wake there! At this rate we might have to baptise DC as RAINBOWL if the settlement (and tree planting) patterns continue Laughing out loudly

DC sio Nairobi, hii ni Nairobi Rains smile
amorphous
#328 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2020 6:16:06 PM

amorphous wrote:

Double A,
Go back to seco pronto and ask your Geog teacher for a hefty refund. Hata kama ulilamba sakafu KCSE twaff!, that was a long time ago, so no excuse at present to not know smile. Did you NOT KNOW that 2/3 of the area of Nairobi Metropolitan IS DC? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Little wonder due to the vast land, affordability and proximity the whole of Nairobi core is organically moving into DC Nairobi metropolitan shwaaaaaaaasmile

#329 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2020 10:00:48 PM

amorphous wrote:

Double A,
Go back to seco pronto and ask your Geog teacher for a hefty refund. Hata kama ulilamba sakafu KCSE twaff!, that was a long time ago, so no excuse at present to not know smile. Did you NOT KNOW that 2/3 of the area of Nairobi Metropolitan IS DC? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Little wonder due to the vast land, affordability and proximity the whole of Nairobi core is organically moving into DC Nairobi metropolitan shwaaaaaaaasmile

KCSE sio changu but good to learn. Keep it up. smile
amorphous
#330 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2020 5:58:02 PM

Tanks receiving loads and loads of water nywee. What a glorious sight and sound. God truly is goodsmile ! This is by far the most rain DC has ever received in a year. Plant more trees fellow dustbowlites na tuendelee vifyo hifyo
sqft
#331 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2020 6:24:08 PM

amorphous wrote:
Tanks receiving loads and loads of water nywee. What a glorious sight and sound. God truly is goodsmile ! This is by far the most rain DC has ever received in a year. Plant more trees fellow dustbowlites na tuendelee vifyo hifyo

Saw some DIY water tanks like these ones made of wire mesh and plastic or dam liners/tarpaulin (hema). Someone can collect as much rain water as they wish. Good thing is that you can disassemble the tank and put it away after the rains.

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
amorphous
#332 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2020 6:40:43 PM

sqft wrote:
amorphous wrote:

Saw some DIY water tanks like these ones made of wire mesh and plastic or dam liners/tarpaulin (hema). Someone can collect as much rain water as they wish. Good thing is that you can disassemble the tank and put it away after the rains.

Wow fantastic idea. I need one of these!
I want to do the same liner concept and create a 1 acre lake at my kasmall ranch further up DC. I know it will be costly but totally worth it. Then direct the water from the kerbs of the roads into it. There is so much water off the roads in the rainy season it is like a raging seasonal river. A few good rains each year and one is set for the year!
amorphous
#333 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2020 6:46:18 PM

I system kind of like this one by this innovative mzee, but for me all the water will go directly into the 1 acre rain pond.