wazua Fri, Mar 29, 2024

Building Mabati houses in Kisumu, 10 units of 10x10 ft
Jalul
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2020 2:20:53 AM

I'm thinking of building 10 mabati rooms 10ft x 10ft in Riat near Kanyamedha, Kisumu. I aim to do in 2 phases of 5 units each. Three fundis have given me material plus labour costs as follows per room (rooms only minus toilet/bath/stima):

1. sh 58,700
2. sh 56,890
3. sh 66,000

Questions I have for anyone who has done this before:

1. Are the costs realistic?
2. What are realistic rents in that area?

I have a water connection on site (1 installed meter). How do I manage the water for tenants?

Any pointers will be much appreciated.
Kahuna
#2 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2020 10:42:26 AM

Not sure of rents but the 3rd quote looks reasonable but could differ depending on quality of materials.
Kahuna
#3 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 8:13:50 AM

Jalul
#4 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2020 11:37:50 AM

[quote=Kahuna]https://www.a4architect.com/2013/09/iron-sheet-housing-on-a-50-x-100-ft-plot/

https://medium.com/mpesa...t-in-kenya-67255d045ccb[/quote]

@Kahuna, thanks for the links....very useful as I can compare with the detailed quotations I have and select the fundi accordingly.
Jalul
#5 Posted : Saturday, September 12, 2020 12:11:10 AM

I finished the project....costs were considerably higher that I initially thought but I finished 10 rooms...12x11 feet per room..Approximately 98,000 sh per room if you consider ablution block plus electricity connection e.t.c
winmak
#6 Posted : Saturday, September 12, 2020 9:46:26 AM

How much are u renting at? Time required to recoup your investment?
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
amorphous
#7 Posted : Saturday, September 12, 2020 12:30:13 PM

For 1 metre that it cost you I would have just built a conventional small SQ sized house on that plot and rented it out for 10-15k. Better quality, is permanent and no hassles of dealing with ten families. And when you decided to develop the plot properly, no having to evict 10 families who may not know where to go next!
New Normal!