wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

281 Pages«<178179180181182>»
Coronavirus
#1791 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 3:18:13 PM

I am still using Cameroon as a test case.
They relaxed restrictions, taxis are packed to capacity, pubs and discos are open.
Churches can admit up to 50 people.
Masks are put on the chin mainly to avoid police persecution.
Total reported cases 3,529. Actual number expected to be over 5000
Most importantly, hospitals not crowded. Bodies not dropping.
There is something about Africa. Maybe this thing is not new to us after all.
#1792 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 3:44:26 PM

They relaxed restrictions, taxis are packed to capacity, pubs and discos are open.

I think Malaria may have helped us. When most people feel anything malariaish, they self medicate fast. That may be what is helping
#1793 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 7:39:10 PM

I think Malaria may have helped us. When most people feel anything malariaish, they self medicate fast. That may be what is helping

Cameroon and Tanzania will emerge as the true independent thinkers in Africa. It took them one month to understand the infection in their local environment. The adoption of the stay at home order was not suited for Africans. Herd immunity was the only way out.
Malaria is a parasite covid is a virus. Thare is no relationship uless you have decided to adopt trumps theories. I have never criticized any form of medication to combat this infection because the world is still learning. We should try everything untill we get it right. What I know is that Chloroquine is best in relieving fever. That's why early usage gave an impression that it was fighting covid.
now we know it's not taken as a cure . The ultimate cure comes from within the human body which is called antibodies.
Dahatre
#1794 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 8:36:29 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Heh!!!
Guys, for lazy wazuans like myself, what is the TL;DR version of these threads?
Dahatre
#1795 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 8:56:50 PM

Maghufuli amesema anafungua mashule hii wiki! His son got Covid... drunk Lemons and is now OK and doing press-ups. He says Covid will come and go! He is waiting for you guys to come from lockdown muaanze kupewa misaada na Tanzania.
he has planes full of tourists coming in until August. No quarantine for them - Just temperature checks... that's it. Waende waka Coronize huko kwa wanyama.

Maghufuli is a punk!
He is self isolating at his home (has not been seen in Dar or Dodoma recently) while running his mouth.

Luckily, many Tzedians do know that they need to take care of hygiene and keep physical distance..
#1796 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:30:10 PM

https://youtu.be/a0NCSMIQwAM

Ajab!!
whiteowl
#1797 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2020 9:58:37 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Maghufuli amesema anafungua mashule hii wiki! His son got Covid... drunk Lemons and is now OK and doing press-ups. He says Covid will come and go! He is waiting for you guys to come from lockdown muaanze kupewa misaada na Tanzania.
he has planes full of tourists coming in until August. No quarantine for them - Just temperature checks... that's it. Waende waka Coronize huko kwa wanyama.

I mean...
I can only laugh.
The guy is turning himself into a Cartoon!

The supporters of his method are about to log in. Newly energized by JPM's speech

this is one of those things one hopes the mainline narrative is wrong (I look around but cannot see how but wish we are wrong). Coz Maghufuli being right makes us the largest bunch of cowards that walk the earth... if the mainline is right... Tanzanians will undergo lots and lots of troubles and they will run here. It happened in Iran/Afghanistan.

If we are right - Tanzanians will flee here and it will not be nice for us. I hope akina @whiteowl, @Mpobiz, @kaka2za and @sqft are right... I don't see how they are right but I hope they are!

The number of bodies dropping is the gold standard for judging seriousness of any pandemic.There is no way of hiding that during this internet age. I take seriously something killing 1000 per day than something else killing 5 people a day.Its not that I want more people to die from COVID-19 but i can't give it more seriousness than it death count deserves. The currents floods are 10 times more lethal. This is like the movie contagion and the only thing that's spreading across the African continent right now is fear. I believe in #FactsNotFear and time will vindicate me,all the wazuans you've tagged above and Maghufuli.
#1798 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 8:34:08 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
MoH is definitely under-testing, someone tell me why pris?

Bureaucratic Red Tape.
Lethargic Civil Service.
Distracted Political Machinery.
Fiscal Indiscipline and Insufficiency.
Health Personnel Inadequacy.
Distrust Of Anything Government On The Ground.
Lack of appropriate equipment, and where available, lack of operation, repairs, and maintenance technician level personnel.
(All Cadre of Public Health Personnel Have Given A Strike Notice.)
A Distracted Political Leadership.
I could on all day but this is really depressing.

Pressure on Kagwe to appoint labs board

By ROSELYNE OBALA | May 20th 2020 at 12:00:00 GMT +0300

HEALTH & SCIENCE
Board accused of approving companies to import test kits, including those for Covid- 19 tests, without due process

Pressure is piling on Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe to appoint new board members for the Kenya Medical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians (KMLTT) to replace those whose term expired two years ago.

The KMLTT board has a crucial task of licensing laboratories to test Kenyans for the Covid-19 disease.

More than 500 members of KMLTT have signed an online petition to compel Mr Kagwe to reconstitute the board.

In the petition they expressed concern that the delayed appointment of the board had allowed former officials to continue discharging duties yet they were in office illegally.

The petitioners now want the old board sent packing because their continued stay and exercise of functions "is illegal, improper and unlawful".

The petition also wants the CS to reconstitute the board for proper operations.

Critics have questioned the running of the board affairs.

The board has been accused of approving companies to import test kits, including those for Covid- 19 tests, without due process.

Source: The Sub Standard. Link:https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/health/article/2001371931/pressure-on-kagwe-to-appoint-labs-board
#1799 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 9:49:48 AM

whiteowl wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:

I mean...
I can only laugh.
The guy is turning himself into a Cartoon!

The supporters of his method are about to log in. Newly energized by JPM's speech

this is one of those things one hopes the mainline narrative is wrong (I look around but cannot see how but wish we are wrong). Coz Maghufuli being right makes us the largest bunch of cowards that walk the earth... if the mainline is right... Tanzanians will undergo lots and lots of troubles and they will run here. It happened in Iran/Afghanistan.

If we are right - Tanzanians will flee here and it will not be nice for us. I hope akina @whiteowl, @Mpobiz, @kaka2za and @sqft are right... I don't see how they are right but I hope they are!

The number of bodies dropping is the gold standard for judging seriousness of any pandemic.There is no way of hiding that during this internet age. I take seriously something killing 1000 per day than something else killing 5 people a day.Its not that I want more people to die from COVID-19 but i can't give it more seriousness than it death count deserves. The currents floods are 10 times more lethal. This is like the movie contagion and the only thing that's spreading across the African continent right now is fear. I believe in #FactsNotFear and time will vindicate me,all the wazuans you've tagged above and Maghufuli.

a 'PANDEMIC' is AN EPIDEMIC THAT IS EVERYWHERE. it has nothing to do with the perceived 'potency' of the disease. Sijui the "bodies dropping" notion ilitoka wapi. A good use of this word is that HIV has been classified as a PANDEMIC. Ebola was not a PANDEMIC but an EPIDEMIC since it never went everywhere. PAN is from the greek word that means 'everyone, everywhere' same as the 'PAN' before PANAFRICAN.

About something killing 1,000 per day - yesterday this thing started the 1,130+ deaths a day in Brazil. What people don't understand is that it looks like a small disease... PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL COUNTRIES THAT HAVE HIT 1,000+ REPORTED dead a day have that thing in common... they despise it at the beginning and called it a 'flu'.
it looks like its a few hundreds, the infects more and the numbers of deceased don't seem to be going up AND THEN BOOM!! Brazil is now in the eye of the storm ... Will Tanzania get there? Let's see... I don't see how they will escape it unless they have some factor we don't know.
#1800 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2020 10:01:18 AM

We know that the mentality of citizens is key in fighting this thing. do the citizens take it seriously? do individuals not only the government take the disease seriously? remember such things as shaking hands or hugging spread it and have nothing to do with government. The government can try and control the spread to other areas but not within an area. The dynamics of human interactions are quite high. Swedes have restaurants open but the traffic is low. The population is taking the disease seriously. I just checked the stats on tests in Cameroon and I cannot see any information on that. I don't know what that means.

On testing - Africa is doing badly on testing! Kenya with it's poor testing is 10th ahead of Tunisia and Nigeria. Senegal with its $1 test have done less than 25k. With this poor testing regime tuko 93,000 as a continent.
281 Pages«<178179180181182>»