wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

Building an apartment complex. Too good to be true?
#21 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2020 9:02:40 AM

amorphous wrote:
Just got a quote from a contractor as follows:

Plot size necessary for apartments : 1/8th
Total plinth approx 1300 sqm
16 units of 2br @ 70 sqm each
construction period: 50 weeks
Total cost 15,600,000 meaning 12k per sqm!
Is this possible or am I dealing with a con company
The final design (wish I could upload) looks very nice!
In fact if this is true I want to get started immediately.

that must be a barebone structure.

assume, its a 4 floors building with a slab roof and ground floor is only parking area.

a. clearance, stripping and excavation for foundation - 100,000/-
b. reinforced concrete strip footing - 2,250,000/-
c. sub-structure (foundation) wallings - 500,000/-
d. sub-structure columns - 250,000/-
e. hardcore rock-fill under ground slab - 200,000/-
f. reinforced concrete ground slab and ground beams - 2,500,000/-
g. 30,000l reinforced concrete under ground water tank - 400,000/-
h. 50,000l masonry underground septic tank + rock drain - 250,000/-
i. super-structure columns (say 300mm*300mm) 0th-4th floor - 2,250,000/-
j. super-structure beams (say 450mm*200mm) 1st - 4th floor - 2,450,000/-
k. suspended slabs (say 150mm thick) 1st-4th floor + roof - 7,100,000/-
l. 10,000l roof top water tank + shade - 100,000/-
m. 5nr. 200watts solar panels + solar water pump - 120,000/-
n. electrical works + kplc - 500,000/-
o. plumbing works - 500,000/-
p. plastering, painting - 500,000/-
q. consultancy fees (architect, engineer, qs, eia etc) - 500,000/-
r. statutory fees - 100,000/-

this is already 20,000,000 and its not comprehensive.

amorphous
#22 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2020 1:09:05 PM

amorphous wrote:

assume, its a 4 floors building with a slab roof and ground floor is only parking area.

Thanks brother! Applause
I thought so.Very helpful breakdown that has given me additional insights and ideas!
Age and family mellows us all over time
tinker
#23 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2020 3:25:00 PM

amorphous wrote:

f. reinforced concrete ground slab and ground beams - 2,500,000/-.

Thanks brother! Applause
I thought so.Very helpful breakdown that has given me additional insights and ideas!

This is way too high.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
amorphous
#24 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2020 8:19:46 AM

Underground tank and septic are also high. I built a 20,000 litre reinforced underground tank for under 120k. For septic I would do biodigester as it is much cheaper and smaller. Solar water pump makes lots of sense over the long term. I would also quadruple the water storage at the top. Plumbing seems a bit high. Electrical seems a little low, given the number of floors and units. Then there is "county and NCA tax" to think about Drool
Ryko
#25 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2020 9:28:55 PM

amorphous wrote:

I actually think this breakdown is fair by current rate, my outlier is plastering (it will blow past this)
na bado chuma/rail, tiling, MDF....assuming you will add all this.

When you done if you are a lazy landlord you get a property manager/agent at around 5-7%.

I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
amorphous
#26 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 7:19:54 AM

Ryko wrote:

I actually think this breakdown is fair by current rate, my outlier is plastering (it will blow past this)
na bado chuma/rail, tiling, MDF....assuming you will add all this.

When you done if you are a lazy landlord you get a property manager/agent at around 5-7%.

Agreed on plastering. And yes we have not even talked of
-Bathroom and sanitary ware for every single apartment
-Doors n WINDOWS for every single apartment
-Kitchen cabinets and wardrobes for every single apartment
-Other small extras hapa na pale..water, shuttering etc

Thats why I said that estimate of 15m for the whole shebang ni jokes kabsaaaa.
ngapat
#27 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 10:34:49 AM

I got a quotation of ksh 1,150,000 for a two bedroom residential house master ensuite (not storey). Feel like its on the higher side.
Plus whats the approximate cost to build a perimeter wall for a 100 by 100 ft plot
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
amorphous
#28 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 8:58:18 PM

ngapat wrote:
I got a quotation of ksh 1,150,000 for a two bedroom residential house master ensuite (not storey). Feel like its on the higher side.
Plus whats the approximate cost to build a perimeter wall for a 100 by 100 ft plot

1,15 m for a 2br is too low jameni.
Unless it is just the shell of a very tiny house with
-thinnest gauge mabati roof
-keying with no plaster nje na ndani
-cement screeded floors
-concrete countertops
-cheapest of the cheap bathroom and toilet fixtures
-rough electricals done
1 or 2 very tiny windows per wall or no windows at all

and of course other madoidos are out of the question

perimeter wall for 1/4 acre is 500k minimum.
ngapat
#29 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 10:26:23 PM

amorphous wrote:
ngapat wrote:

1,15 m for a 2br is too low jameni.
Unless it is just the shell of a very tiny house with
-thinnest gauge mabati roof
-keying with no plaster nje na ndani
-cement screeded floors
-concrete countertops
-cheapest of the cheap bathroom and toilet fixtures
-rough electricals done
1 or 2 very tiny windows per wall or no windows at all

and of course other madoidos are out of the question

perimeter wall for 1/4 acre is 500k minimum.

Thanks for the info. The 2br house is 78 sqm.
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
amorphous
#30 Posted : Sunday, March 29, 2020 8:27:57 AM

ngapat wrote:

Thanks for the info. The 2br house is 78 sqm.

For 78sqm inawezekana (barely) but under certain conditions.

- Low end finishes
- Building yourself with fundis or with a very cheap foreman
- You bring all materials to site yourself
- You build quick without approvals from the "big boys" but this is risky

The house will end up looking like this at best (if you are lucky!);

#31 Posted : Sunday, March 29, 2020 11:32:21 AM

ngapat wrote:

From basic principals again;

A. EXCAVATION FOR FOUNDATION (They come with tools)
A.1 - Fundi (1 day @ 1,200/-) = 1,200/-
A.2 - Watu wa mkono (3 guys @ 500/-) = 1,500/-

B. FOUNDATION (strip footing and foundation wall)
B.1 - Fundi (3 days @1,200/-) = 3,600/-
B.2 - Watu wa Mkono (3 guys, 3 days @500/-) = 4,500/-
B.3 - Foundation Stones (1,200ft @ 27/-) = 32,400/-
B.4 - Cement (50 bags @ 600/-) = 30,000/-
B.5 - River Sand (6 Tons @2,200/-) = 13,200/-
B.6 - Gravel (6 Tons @ 2,200/-) = 13,200/-
B.7 - Water (2,000 liters) = 2,000/-
B.8 - Transportation of materials = 10,000/-

C. SUPER-STRUCTURE WALL (Keyed only on one wall)
C.1 - Fundi (21 days @1,200/-) = 25,200/-
C.2 - Watu wa Mkono (6 guys, 21 days @500/-) = 63,000/-
C.3 - Ndarugu 6" Stones (4,400 pieces @ 20/-) = 88,000/-
C.4 - Cement (50 bags @ 600/-) = 30,000/-
C.5 - River Sand (11 Tons @2,200/-) = 24,200/-
C.6 - Water (3,000 liters) = 3,000/-
C.7 - Transportation of materials = 20,000/-

TOTAL ESTIMATED COST = KSHS. 365,000

amorphous
#32 Posted : Sunday, March 29, 2020 9:10:04 PM

ngapat wrote:

From basic principals again;

A. EXCAVATION FOR FOUNDATION (They come with tools)
A.1 - Fundi (1 day @ 1,200/-) = 1,200/-
A.2 - Watu wa mkono (3 guys @ 500/-)
= 1,500/-

B. FOUNDATION (strip footing and foundation wall)
B.1 - Fundi (3 days @1,200/-) = 3,600/-
B.2 - Watu wa Mkono (3 guys, 3 days @500/-) = 4,500/-

B.3 - Foundation Stones (1,200ft @ 27/-) = 32,400/-
B.4 - Cement (50 bags @ 600/-) = 30,000/-
B.5 - River Sand (6 Tons @2,200/-) = 13,200/-
B.6 - Gravel (6 Tons @ 2,200/-) = 13,200/-
B.7 - Water (2,000 liters) = 2,000/-
B.8 - Transportation of materials = 10,000/-

C. SUPER-STRUCTURE WALL (Keyed only on one wall)
C.1 - Fundi (21 days @1,200/-) = 25,200/-
C.2 - Watu wa Mkono (6 guys, 21 days @500/-) = 63,000/-

C.3 - Ndarugu 6" Stones (4,400 pieces @ 20/-) = 88,000/-
C.4 - Cement (50 bags @ 600/-) = 30,000/-
C.5 - River Sand (11 Tons @2,200/-) = 24,200/-
C.6 - Water (3,000 liters) = 3,000/-
C.7 - Transportation of materials = 20,000/-

TOTAL ESTIMATED COST = KSHS. 365,000

Are you a slave driver?Sad Sad Sad
Jameni please pay your workers a living wage
What can soo tano buy these days?
Imagine a mtu wa mkono with hungry wife and 5 kids waiting nyumbani for him. Not only must he bring home unga na sukuma na madondo (meat being a luxury) but must also jipanga for their school fees, stima or makaa, rent, na kadharika with his daily wage.
Jameni how will he survive on soo tano crumbs?Sad Sad Sad