5 Pages123>»
Daniel Toroitich arap Moi
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 6:38:38 AM

May God console the family.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 7:44:10 AM

May he rest in peace. May these words linger in Uhuru Kenyatta's ears.
Fyatu
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 7:44:53 AM

Kwaheri ya kuonana Mzee.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Tokyo
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 8:07:39 AM

Sleep well Mzee
work to prosper
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 8:09:06 AM

Luckily he got enough time to make peace with his maker.hope he did so
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 9:54:58 AM

Rest in Peace Baba Moi. You are a true story of no human is limited. From a herds boy to a President.
wukan
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 10:29:57 AM

Rest in peace. As a Nairobian I have good memories of his administration in the 80s and early 90s when things worked-public transport through KBS and Nyayo bus, water was available everyday and you would drink straight from the tap, garbage was collected on Wed and Sat, public schools worked and everyone went to a public school, nyayo stadium and Kasarani were built, HELB was introduced.

But he was a despot who oversaw the tribal clashes in the rift valley, detention without trial, political killings, muzzling freedoms and wrecking the economy in his last term. kwaheri
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 10:41:26 AM

I do not drink.

Today, the drinks are on me.

What the hell, I am going on a drinking spree today.

I will have a nice day.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 11:41:47 AM

So many people on soc media whose parents/family etc were detained by Moi.... its shocking.
gk
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 11:59:04 AM

Save for the school milk and the joy of being released from study to see/greet him at the roadside during his country tours, I have hardly anything else positive to remember Baba Moi for.

But hakuna asiye na mazuri yake na mabaya, so may he rest peacefully.
sqft
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 12:03:34 PM

I have relatives who had their homes burnt and property stolen/destroyed in 1992 in the nyayo instigated RV tribal clashes. They are still traumatized.

https://www.globalsecuri...itary/world/war/molo.htm
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
Thitifini
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 12:08:05 PM

May he RIP.

Though he oversaw a lot of violence, he tried to stabilise the country in a region under turmoil and opened up a lot of places infrastructurewise in the 80's.

I don't wholly blame him for the economic mismanagement, as I see a lot of foreign hands after collapse of cold war politics and it did happen all over africa during the 90's.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
sqft
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 12:24:09 PM

Thitifini wrote:
May he RIP.

Though he oversaw a lot of violence, he tried to stabilise the country in a region under turmoil and opened up a lot of places infrastructurewise in the 80's.

I don't wholly blame him for the economic mismanagement, as I see a lot of foreign hands after collapse of cold war politics and it did happen all over africa during the 90's.

Nyayo error was synonymous with potholes, power rationing and printing money. In the 90s bank interest rates hit 85% (yes, eighty five per cent) compared to current 14%. During nyayo era, kenya was a real banana republic. It was the time many kenyans fled to the west for economic and political reasons. Raila himself was imprisoned at kamiti by nyayo for 9yrs without trial.

https://www.kenyans.co.k...-things-police-did-raila
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
T-Bag
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 1:24:25 PM

The 2nd worst post-independence despot that kenya has ever had after Jomo.

May God's Mercies and forgiveness be sufficient

RIP Mzee
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 5:05:12 PM

Although Daniel arap Moi, the Kenyan president who has died at the age of 95, lacked the aura that surrounded Africa’s founding presidents, he belonged in their ranks.

He was an autocratic paternalist who ensured his own survival by dispensing patronage in the name of the state, the government and the ruling party.

For Moi, like so many of the continent’s postcolonial leaders, these were one and the same thing.

As a result, he leaves behind a country sapped by mismanagement and corruption and with lingering ethnic tensions.

When he took office in 1978 Kenya was still regarded as an African success story, although its reputation was becoming tarnished.

Well before his departure from the scene, however, this judgment was being reversed, although some defend the Kenya that has since emerged as a successful African economy with a vibrant private sector and an innovative technological base.

Moi’s time in power spanned Africa’s transition from the cold war period, when most of its leaders played the role of protégés of the superpowers, to the subsequent rapprochement between Washington and Moscow, and the era of structural adjustment programmes and attempted democratisation of African politics.

Economic and political reforms, however, were painful exercises for most African governments, long used to running state-dominated economies and suppressing dissent.

Kenya under Moi provided the most striking illustration of why in much of the continent the two processes were incompatible.

Source Link from The Financial Times
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 5:12:29 PM

Yote yawezekana bila Moi

Unbuogable (whatever)

Inchi Ya Kitu Kidogo

I love Keroche Breweries. I really do.

Moi Must Go

Dear Doctor Robert Ouko, May The Good Lord Rest Your Soul In Eternal Peace.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2020 5:39:59 PM

The best memory of Moi that I have, is during my boyscout days as we marched during Jamuhuri day. 'Eyeeees, right!' And there he was. 'Left, right, left'. 'Eyeeees front!' And he was lost. All those men and weapons, intelligence networks; fear and awe.

Yet now I am something different, and though I may recall scary and attractive incidences regarding the late, I am 'flummoxed' that all that matters is weighing his heart against the feather of light.

No fanfare, or tears. Just somberness and weights and measures.

sqft
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2020 12:13:00 AM

From a goat herder to a billionaire.

https://www.the-star.co....e-mois-business-empire/

Late president Daniel Moi’s family is arguably one of the richest in Kenya, based on the business empire it has built over years, with a net worth estimated to be in excess of Sh310.2 billion.

A revelation by WikiLeaks in the early 2000s linked the Mois to shell companies, secret trusts and front men used to steal over $2 billion worth of state money, with finances laundered across the world to buy properties and companies in London, New York and South Africa.
Uhondo
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2020 4:28:37 AM

As Sr Pvt. Hezekiah Ochuka said, moments before he was executed in 1987, to the Hangman at Kamiti Maximum Security Prison: "Tupatane Mbele!"

RIP, Mzee.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2020 5:47:34 AM

A lot of the posts here are from kids who's only interaction with President Moi is what they were told by their parents.

Please give some respect to the great man.

Without him, after the World Bank decided to decimate the African continent, a lot of you would poor gishagi kumi kumi children.

He chose to educate you and take you to school free, through high school and university. and even give you free milk, mpende msipende.

The result? You.

Have some respect.