#14121 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2019 9:53:25 AM

Ericsson wrote:
SAA has lost $700mn in two years
Its debt burden is at $1.5bn

Yet they are...

https://m.fin24.com/Comp...n-south-africa-20191101

"that government will help SAA to repay its R9.2bn in government-guaranteed debt over the next three years." Bailout.

Looks like we don't need state owned airlines in Africa...Air Namibia is an embarrassment to my country...we are killing it off by 2020...
Ericsson
#14122 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2019 11:43:25 AM

South Africa's national airline is being placed under bankruptcy protection

South African Airways (SAA) is likely to get a 2 billion rand ($136 million) boost from the government and another 2 billion from existing lenders as it enters rescue proceedings from Dec. 5, a minister said on Thursday.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#14123 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2019 1:17:21 PM

the deal wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
SAA has lost $700mn in two years
Its debt burden is at $1.5bn

Yet they are...

https://m.fin24.com/Comp...n-south-africa-20191101

"that government will help SAA to repay its R9.2bn in government-guaranteed debt over the next three years." Bailout.

Looks like we don't need state owned airlines in Africa...Air Namibia is an embarrassment to my country...we are killing it off by 2020...
Your guys are more sensible than ours!
Ericsson
#14124 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 9:55:44 AM

#14125 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 10:54:14 AM

Ericsson wrote:

This is huge. Could this be the nail in the coffin for KQ?
Ericsson
#14126 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 11:00:46 AM

Ericsson wrote:

And Jkia too.
Rwanda wants to become hub for east and central Africa
Ericsson
#14127 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 11:03:35 AM

Ericsson wrote:

The airport will be more than twice bigger than Greenfield airport that was shelved

#14128 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 6:50:05 AM

A South African power company has given former Kenya Airways chief executive Mbuvi Ngunze a plum board position.

Mr Ngunze will chair Mettle Solar Investments, which provides energy solutions to its pool of clients across Africa, and will see him steer the firm’s continental growth ambitions.

He left Kenya Airways in 2017 after backlash from labour unions for the poor performance of the airline, which had sunk into heavy losses, largely seen as an impact of poor decisions by previous management.

He has since been appointed as a senior adviser with Catalyst Principal Partners.

In a statement last week, Gridworks, the firm which appointed Ngunze to the board after making an investment in Mettle, said the company plans to grow its presence in Africa where it has projects in just a handful of countries.

Btw Interim CEO to be announced in a few.
nairobby
#14129 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 9:11:03 AM

Ericsson wrote:

The airport will be more than twice bigger than Greenfield airport that was shelved

No way. Greenfield terminal was going to be much bigger and would handle double the amount of pax as Kigali's new airport. We really should have never cancelled that contract. By the time they decide to do it watch the contract cost go above $1 billion sighd'oh! d'oh!

Btw @maka what was a KQ 787 doing at LAX jana?
#14130 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 10:06:12 AM

Ericsson wrote:

I might be wrong but I still wonder how Rwanda will progress after PK, most of the ministers are corrupt to the core only that they tone it down coz they know once caught you are done. But good thing with development is that as a nation the rich will be having something to protect
#14131 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 11:39:05 AM

nairobby wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

No way. Greenfield terminal was going to be much bigger and would handle double the amount of pax as Kigali's new airport. We really should have never cancelled that contract. By the time they decide to do it watch the contract cost go above $1 billion sighd'oh! d'oh!

Btw @maka what was a KQ 787 doing at LAX jana?

Something to do with livery....
Ericsson
#14132 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 12:37:19 PM

https://www.afdb.org/fil...rminal_Building_Eng.pdf

#14133 Posted : Wednesday, December 11, 2019 5:13:08 PM

Ericsson wrote:

And Jkia too.
Rwanda wants to become hub for east and central Africa

I think they will. Look at the Map

They are literally the hub of the continent. They have the vision, they have the leadership and they are executing on it.

Kenya is most radar less country in East Africa except maybe for Burundi. We are only ahead of the other countries because of better investment by colonialists during their 60 year settlement. We have barely improved on what the British did.

Our neighbors are waking up. In Magufulis Tanzania they have had 10 fold increase in production of Tanzanite, 6 fold increase in production of Gold all in 4 years after tackling corruption. State corporations have increased their contribution to the budget 6 fold in 4 years. They are building a better all electric SGR with internally generated revenue, building a new hydroelectric dam themselves, building massive bridges in Mwanza by themselves, adding 400km of tarmac road every year etc.

Uganda produces food items at a fraction of Kenyas production costs, everything from sugar to eggs to maize. Uganda production of coffee is almost ten times that of Kenya.

Rwanda has branded its coffee and is getting better prices, they have a booming conference tourism package. They are building their tourism with better paying products and good marketing.

Ericsson
#14134 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2019 6:52:38 AM

https://www.businessdail...383580-30fo2o/index.html
Fyatu
#14135 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2019 10:58:13 AM

I think they will. Look at the Map

They are literally the hub of the continent. They have the vision, they have the leadership and they are executing on it.

Kenya is most radar less country in East Africa except maybe for Burundi. We are only ahead of the other countries because of better investment by colonialists during their 60 year settlement. We have barely improved on what the British did.

Our neighbors are waking up. In Magufulis Tanzania they have had 10 fold increase in production of Tanzanite, 6 fold increase in production of Gold all in 4 years after tackling corruption. State corporations have increased their contribution to the budget 6 fold in 4 years. They are building a better all electric SGR with internally generated revenue, building a new hydroelectric dam themselves, building massive bridges in Mwanza by themselves, adding 400km of tarmac road every year etc.

Uganda produces food items at a fraction of Kenyas production costs, everything from sugar to eggs to maize. Uganda production of coffee is almost ten times that of Kenya.

Rwanda has branded its coffee and is getting better prices, they have a booming conference tourism package. They are building their tourism with better paying products and good marketing.

Thank you my friend for spelling-it-out to all who have ears to hear.

I sometimes laugh when the disgraced so called wazua elders(who lost credibility long ago) post guesswork on this forum on what may be ailing the Kenyan economy. I feel like crying when the usual suspects copy-paste sensational poorly written and shallow newspaper articles from business daily reporting sijui retrechment, sijui factories closing down etc.

One major thing that Kenyans conveniently choose to ignore/forget is that over the years Kenya economy has been overly reliant in exporting kawaida goods to Uganda and Tanzania.However, over the same same years, Tanzania and Uganda manufacturing sector has grown exponentially. They(UG, TZ and Rwanda) no longer import cooking oil,detergents,biscuits,diapers,cement,juice, mabati, assembled cars and other kawaida goods that they used to import from Kenya. If you doubt me, look at latest Kenya trade statistics. Long gone are the days where almost all FMCG's found in supermarket shelves and village shops/dukas in TZ and UG were labelled "made in Kenya". Tanzanians for example no longer drink Bidco cooking oil as they used to.They now have Said Salim Awadh Bakhresa to manufacture such goods for them locally and export excess to Kenya. Jubilee government through the KRA/KPA allowing importation of washing detergents e.g., Fasclean, pampers(e.g., Moflix diapers), cooking oil etc from China,turkey etc has not helped matters. This nonsense cannot be tolerated in TZ for instance.

Our main export is tea to Pakistan and UK and this too under sieke from Rwanda as you correctly put it. Tourism is another area that is also under immense pressure. Just recently we saw data that the over-exploited/overated Maasai Mara is no longer number one. Wazungus now prefer the less crowded Serengeti on the other side of the river.

In my opinion Tanzania is the economic powerhouse of East Africa and soon Uganda might trash KE once their oil starts flowing to China. Rwandair is also seeking to get a license to fly direct to USA and this coupled with a new airport might spell doom to Kenyan aviation industry as a whole which Mikoz and MJ tried to salvage but failed.

Kenya needs to re-invent itself quick but in the meanwhile waKenya tukule jeuri yetu kimya kimya.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
muandiwambeu
#14136 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2019 1:05:41 AM

Spikes wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Spikes wrote:
KQ is about to crash 2.20 KES support and is mostly destined to sub 2 bob for @obiero to load more lowering his ass pricking average now at 8.42 KES to a more psychological soothing level of KES 5 or below.

Go get armoured jacket before @Obiero see this.☠️🤺

To wallow with pigs is not Godly. Rise above pettiness without surrender. Blessed new month

Boss, you mean pigs like those who siphoned KQ dry?

Today I did something very uncommon with me in December, took too much hard substances, lots of tea and now am feeling very high. But before I get boring, kindly @Obiero, tell me whats your reaction on the sliding kq prices and what advisory would u offer to your Reverend citzens living with kqueer or within it's areas of influence
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
FUNKY
#14137 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2019 9:52:03 AM

#14138 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2019 10:03:36 AM

A South African power company has given former Kenya Airways chief executive Mbuvi Ngunze a plum board position.

Mr Ngunze will chair Mettle Solar Investments, which provides energy solutions to its pool of clients across Africa, and will see him steer the firm’s continental growth ambitions.

He left Kenya Airways in 2017 after backlash from labour unions for the poor performance of the airline, which had sunk into heavy losses, largely seen as an impact of poor decisions by previous management.

He has since been appointed as a senior adviser with Catalyst Principal Partners.

In a statement last week, Gridworks, the firm which appointed Ngunze to the board after making an investment in Mettle, said the company plans to grow its presence in Africa where it has projects in just a handful of countries.

Allan Kilavuka...
Superprime1
#14139 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2019 10:55:42 AM

Allan Kilavuka...

Allan Kilavuka, currently the Chief Executive Officer of Kenya Airways’ subsidiary Jambojet Limited, has been appointed as acting KQ Plc CEO effective January 1, 2020, until a substantive holder of the position is recruited. He will remain Jambojet CEO too during the period.
Ericsson
#14140 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2019 12:02:18 PM

Superprime1 wrote:

Allan Kilavuka...

Allan Kilavuka, currently the Chief Executive Officer of Kenya Airways’ subsidiary Jambojet Limited, has been appointed as acting KQ Plc CEO effective January 1, 2020, until a substantive holder of the position is recruited. He will remain Jambojet CEO too during the period.

https://twitter.com/trad...469749825245185/photo/1