wazua Thu, Apr 25, 2024

US First Public Impeachment Hearing
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 13, 2019 6:35:08 PM

Eish why is this not here yet?
It's only here where one can get meaningful and factual political conversations.
Haya wasomi we are waiting..
thuks
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2019 8:41:20 AM

It's only here where one can get meaningful and factual political conversations.

@Hardwood
I care!
Conquestador
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2019 9:57:12 AM

First day: Kent and Taylor on one hand, Democrats and Republicans on the other. There are several postmortem discussions and commentaries in US media and blogs; taking the partisan route like the hearings.

Trivia: Kent is very sharp - reminds one of Rosenstein.
Taylor brightened up bigly when a bloke asked him about his Westpoint record (he graduated top 5/800 in that millitary school in 1969). I could not help but wonder: who are our top ex militaries and what do they do?
Congressman Jordan is the kind of guy yo want in your corner. Members were yielding their question time to him rather too frequently. And boy does he sting!
Castro's swag and confidence: he should be CEO of something.

Repubs said that the 2 gentlemen were Demos best witnesses. I think that is not accurate; there is a red herring strategy somewhere. Methinks the best is been kept for the last, and that could be Bolton.

Following the hearings makes an interesting sport and a break from KRA vs everyone else.

That said, I route for Trump.

#4 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2019 9:26:59 PM

shindwe
#5 Posted : Friday, November 15, 2019 8:56:20 AM

You may need to ask a question that limits the scope of investigation and analysis.

But my question to you is, what are you listening or watching out for, in these proceedings?
#6 Posted : Friday, November 15, 2019 3:22:00 PM

#7 Posted : Friday, November 15, 2019 6:11:05 PM

Trump is sure he can't be removed by the senate. That is not the problem. The kizungumkuti is running for office when you have been impeached by the house. Many Americans even the ones who are Trump supporters to a large extent believe in the system.Long before Trump came into the Republican party and took it over, it was mainly a party of Christians and people who believe in the rule of law and wanting government to leave them alone. There are many who will think twice about voting for someone who has been impeached. This will be made more complicated by Republicans like Mitt Romney who have strong moral principles.
#8 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2019 4:15:42 AM

Trump is sure he can't be removed by the senate. That is not the problem. The kizungumkuti is running for office when you have been impeached by the house. Many Americans even the ones who are Trump supporters to a large extent believe in the system.Long before Trump came into the Republican party and took it over, it was mainly a party of Christians and people who believe in the rule of law and wanting government to leave them alone. There are many who will think twice about voting for someone who has been impeached. This will be made more complicated by Republicans like Mitt Romney who have strong moral principles.

Hence the possibility of a Nixon style resignation. The circulated Republican memo on Trump's defense has such hints too.
#9 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2019 9:37:56 PM

Hence the possibility of a Nixon style resignation. The circulated Republican memo on Trump's defense has such hints too.

Trump hawezi resign!! He is the "wewe mwaga mboga nimwage ugali sote tulale njaa" kind of guy. He is not the kind of guy to resign for the sake of the party. His attitude is more of "If I am going down you are all going down with me. If you want to save yourselves you have to save me."
#10 Posted : Saturday, November 16, 2019 10:19:55 PM

Trump hawezi resign!! He is the "wewe mwaga mboga nimwage ugali sote tulale njaa" kind of guy. He is not the kind of guy to resign for the sake of the party. His attitude is more of "If I am going down you are all going down with me. If you want to save yourselves you have to save me."

True that.
#11 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2019 4:39:44 AM

It's true that Trump appears to be the kind of person who wouldn't want to resign so easily. Besides, he might be good for the domestic economy.

But let us base our analysis on some of the forces in play. We have a background where Trump lost the popular vote but won in the electoral college. In my opinion such a close call is dangerous for the Republicans especially when the suitability of its front runner is almost beyond doubt, guilty.

Look at the charges against Trump and compare and contrast with the defence (assuming the Republican memo is it). The key defence is on Ukraine mainly. Yet Trump's charges go beyond Ukraine. It would appear that the Republicans are using a strategy that keeps them barely alive.

Moreover, there are fears that the Republicans are not well coordinated in their defence. Witness testimony casts doubt on the claimed innocence of Trump, yet the party appears not to have come with a new defence. Why? Because Trump may be bullying members to position.

But the impeachment process is dangerous for the Republican lawmakers. If the lawmakers support Trump blatantly, then they may also lose support at home. So they must show their loyalty to the constitution and 'democracy'.

Hence probably the best deal out of the impeachment is Trump plays his card as you suppose; the Republicans say, "we can protect you even from jail if you cooperate with us".

Remember, Pelosi and others in the Democratic party know that it may be difficult to unseat the President via impeachment. But they gain advantage if the public proceedings will depict the weak side of the Republicans. If Trump is acquitted they know it will be difficult for Republicans to keep a straight face. If Trump resigns, then Republicans have a chance at keeping the Presidency.

In the end, Trump is likely to see a resignation as a victory.
#12 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2019 10:29:24 AM

It's true that Trump appears to be the kind of person who wouldn't want to resign so easily. Besides, he might be good for the domestic economy.

But let us base our analysis on some of the forces in play. We have a background where Trump lost the popular vote but won in the electoral college. In my opinion such a close call is dangerous for the Republicans especially when the suitability of its front runner is almost beyond doubt, guilty.

Look at the charges against Trump and compare and contrast with the defence (assuming the Republican memo is it). The key defence is on Ukraine mainly. Yet Trump's charges go beyond Ukraine. It would appear that the Republicans are using a strategy that keeps them barely alive.

Moreover, there are fears that the Republicans are not well coordinated in their defence. Witness testimony casts doubt on the claimed innocence of Trump, yet the party appears not to have come with a new defence. Why? Because Trump may be bullying members to position.

But the impeachment process is dangerous for the Republican lawmakers. If the lawmakers support Trump blatantly, then they may also lose support at home. So they must show their loyalty to the constitution and 'democracy'.

Hence probably the best deal out of the impeachment is Trump plays his card as you suppose; the Republicans say, "we can protect you even from jail if you cooperate with us".

Remember, Pelosi and others in the Democratic party know that it may be difficult to unseat the President via impeachment. But they gain advantage if the public proceedings will depict the weak side of the Republicans. If Trump is acquitted they know it will be difficult for Republicans to keep a straight face. If Trump resigns, then Republicans have a chance at keeping the Presidency.

Has your account been hacked?

Asking for a close friend.
#13 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2019 7:55:50 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Has your account been hacked?

Asking for a close friend.

He has spoken very simple clear English.
Kudos human being.

#14 Posted : Friday, December 20, 2019 5:28:29 PM