wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Precious Talent School Tragedy
wukan
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 4:52:07 PM

Fyatu wrote:

You miss my point @Wukan. What i am condemning is 30 years of zero government action as far as development of education,housing,transport etc in Nairobi is concerned leaving peace loving Kenyans at the mercy of hyenas ready to fill the gap where government has failed flat.

I am proposing we go back to the days where government built proper schools complete with all amenities. Further, I am also proposing we go back to an education system that worked complete with school inspectors who would randomly check into schools with their piki pikis to keep drunken teachers on check. Schools where pretty(supuu) teaching practice teachers trained at Highridge teachers college would be posted for their elective year. Schools that participated in music festivals, sports, drama, science congress etc after practicing hard in facilities in their own compounds. schools where every child sat on a desk and chair. That is what i count as quality education.

Problem is that government has abdicated its role of building schools for over 3 decades and yet the population has grown exponentially. Another big problem is Kenyans are a "FAD" society. If it is fashionable to take your kids to academy then everyone rushes to take their kids there. If it is fashionable to live in matchbox apartment then everyone rushes there etc. Ban the fad and everything will be alright.

Take for example rural areas of Kenya.... Wananchi still send their kids to public schools and the existing private ones are spacious and well built.I have not heard my relatives from rural Nyeri lamenting about the quality of education in the village primary school. Take another example of public hospitals. Wanachi (sanasana wa Nairobi) would be caught dead going to a public hospital where they are guaranteed of a qualified physician and standard quality drugs but would rather go to those funny funny clinics where they are shafted proper and all their life savings taken away.Kuleni jeuri yenu pole pole.

I get your point but I am saying is that govt has never been least bothered about nairobi and public services are not likely to improve anytime soon. The good old days are not coming back. Take an example when garbage collection collapsed, Nairobians were not going to stay in garbage stink waiting for the good old days. The city had to move on and start engaging private garbage collectors.

Even in Education govt is not going to build a school anytime soon or upgrade the public schools. Look at their Flagship housing project at Park Road, the existing schools in the area have not been upgraded even as the population is expected to swell from the housing projects. That's how govt works. Look at the areas with public housing on google maps those are the most decayed parts of the city.

In Ngando there is no public land for public schools. The only land available is at Lenana/Patch. It took a tragedy for the politicians to consider hiving part of the lenana land for a public school. It is not something budgeted for, no planning, no arrangement on staffing. Just a knee-jerk PR reaction.

Nairobians have learned the hard lessons on what works so it is not really a fad or fashionable thing look for 'shule private/academy or a private hospital. Nairobians know govt offers shitty services with an 'mta do' attitude

Fyatu
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 6:04:49 PM

wukan wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

You miss my point @Wukan. What i am condemning is 30 years of zero government action as far as development of education,housing,transport etc in Nairobi is concerned leaving peace loving Kenyans at the mercy of hyenas ready to fill the gap where government has failed flat.

I am proposing we go back to the days where government built proper schools complete with all amenities. Further, I am also proposing we go back to an education system that worked complete with school inspectors who would randomly check into schools with their piki pikis to keep drunken teachers on check. Schools where pretty(supuu) teaching practice teachers trained at Highridge teachers college would be posted for their elective year. Schools that participated in music festivals, sports, drama, science congress etc after practicing hard in facilities in their own compounds. schools where every child sat on a desk and chair. That is what i count as quality education.

Problem is that government has abdicated its role of building schools for over 3 decades and yet the population has grown exponentially. Another big problem is Kenyans are a "FAD" society. If it is fashionable to take your kids to academy then everyone rushes to take their kids there. If it is fashionable to live in matchbox apartment then everyone rushes there etc. Ban the fad and everything will be alright.

Take for example rural areas of Kenya.... Wananchi still send their kids to public schools and the existing private ones are spacious and well built.I have not heard my relatives from rural Nyeri lamenting about the quality of education in the village primary school. Take another example of public hospitals. Wanachi (sanasana wa Nairobi) would be caught dead going to a public hospital where they are guaranteed of a qualified physician and standard quality drugs but would rather go to those funny funny clinics where they are shafted proper and all their life savings taken away.Kuleni jeuri yenu pole pole.

I get your point but I am saying is that govt has never been least bothered about nairobi and public services are not likely to improve anytime soon. The good old days are not coming back. Take an example when garbage collection collapsed, Nairobians were not going to stay in garbage stink waiting for the good old days. The city had to move on and start engaging private garbage collectors.

Even in Education govt is not going to build a school anytime soon or upgrade the public schools. Look at their Flagship housing project at Park Road, the existing schools in the area have not been upgraded even as the population is expected to swell from the housing projects. That's how govt works. Look at the areas with public housing on google maps those are the most decayed parts of the city.

In Ngando there is no public land for public schools. The only land available is at Lenana/Patch. It took a tragedy for the politicians to consider hiving part of the lenana land for a public school. It is not something budgeted for, no planning, no arrangement on staffing. Just a knee-jerk PR reaction.

Nairobians have learned the hard lessons on what works so it is not really a fad or fashionable thing look for 'shule private/academy or a private hospital. Nairobians know govt offers shitty services with an 'mta do' attitude

What you have said is true and very unfortunate.I have just seen(on twitter) that DP has annexed part of Lenana school(Changez) to build a new public primary school for Ngando area. It goes to show that the British colonialist was much far superior in thinking than our Mwafrika government that has ruled and stolen from us for over half a century. The fact that they(mubeberu) allocated space in the kichaka/swamp that was Nairobi in 1900 for schools like Lenana and Nairobi school plus other spaces like Nairobi club, Muthaiga Golf club, Karura forest shows that Mwafrika sanasana Mukenya leaders since independence have been nothing but pebble brains. Uhuru's ten years are gone and clearly when he was coming to power he had no long-term vision on how Kenya is going to prosper sustainably. DP on the other hand is running all over the place like a headless chicken. If you asked the DP what he thinks Kenyan urban space would look like in 50 years time, i'm sure his answer will leave a lot to be desired. He is not alone. Ask any other leader planning to be president about this and your guess is as good as mine.

The only solution is to start afresh as far as urbanization/industralization is concerned. Lets build a scalable modern new city in Konza or Marsabit. The President just needs to go to China and sign a Govt-to-Gvt syndicate loan and let the Chinese help us to save ourselves and bring dignity to our people.I like what is happening in Tatu city as well as in Vipingo.There is hope.

I also hope that other cities like Nakuru and Kisumu are learning from this thoughtless mismanagement of Nairobi urban area and should lay down elaborate plans for sustainable growth.

Finally, I like that We are in agreement that Nairobians/Kenyans are damned especially those from modest backgrounds. Take home Message for wazuans is that you BETTER MAKE LOTS OF MONEY NOW...lots of it, otherwise surviving in shithole Kenya sio mchezo..you are on your own
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 7:16:01 PM

You want to know where Kenya's disregard for planning started, watch this video starting from 27:10

If you have time watch the whole thing. People actually praise Kenyatta's disobedience of law and due process as great leadership. It would have been OK if these were ordinary village people with no positions but no, these are people who later occupied positions of leadership. The culture that has been created is one where the law means nothing.

It is very tragic that children died but people are also celebrating KJs and Ruto's arbitrary grabbing of Lenana School land without due process. It is understandable for KJ as the local MP to ask for it but it is the height of lunacy for the Deputy president to say "Haya Chukua". But then again that is the kind of thing he thinks leadership is.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 9:53:31 PM

Owner used chicken wire in slabs. I also understand that school charges 15k per term for 806 pupils, thus total income of over 36m per yr...

Woi!Jehovah!

No excuse for this guy.He killed the children.

But even the contractor, foreman and the fundis who who agreed and built these type of structures are very much on the wrong. Shows you how rotten our community/society is.

I don't think they used ati a contractor, foreman etc. They use those people who come with acquired experience from doing koroga in gated estates na constructions za wahindi. It's not your professionals.

But what I know is we need 3 people to go to jail at the very least; a county official, a ministry of education official and the owner of the school. That would be a small surface for the angels we've lost if this ODPP is not just a kifunga macho political PR thing.

Fyatu
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 10:28:20 AM

You want to know where Kenya's disregard for planning started, watch this video starting from 27:10

If you have time watch the whole thing. People actually praise Kenyatta's disobedience of law and due process as great leadership. It would have been OK if these were ordinary village people with no positions but no, these are people who later occupied positions of leadership. The culture that has been created is one where the law means nothing.

It is very tragic that children died but people are also celebrating KJs and Ruto's arbitrary grabbing of Lenana School land without due process. It is understandable for KJ as the local MP to ask for it but it is the height of lunacy for the Deputy president to say "Haya Chukua". But then again that is the kind of thing he thinks leadership is.

The board and old boys of Lenana school should RESIST this move strongly. This mediocrity SHOULD NOT be allowed to metastasize any further. KJ should be ashamed of himself. His colleague Mohammed Ali MP for Nyali is building schools ground up yet KJ yeye ni kutanga tanga(pun fully intended) from one venacular Tv station to another...senji kabisa. As i said earlier, It is evident people seek leadership in Kenya without having figured out what the problems of the people/constituents are.

A good example of a guy who seems to have had it all figured out before ascending to power is Paul Kagame. Rwanda is the poster child of a nation that seems to be heading in a particular direction. Direction of progress.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 12:06:00 PM

If govt is always ready to compulsorily acquire land for roads and railways, dams etc how come they cant do the same and get 3 acres of land to put up that school instead of grabbing lenana land? Is this a plot for some individuals to grab lenana land?
#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 1:18:46 PM

If govt is always ready to compulsorily acquire land for roads and railways, dams etc how come they cant do the same and get 3 acres of land to put up that school instead of grabbing lenana land? Is this a plot for some individuals to grab lenana land?

But they can allocate 10 acres to a church e.g. Parklands Baptist... NOTE: this was allocated during M01 era just like that!
#28 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 1:20:17 PM

There is nothing wrong with acquiring land from Lenana school. You just can't do it without a process.

What part is being acquired?
How much land?
For what purpose?

There must be proper surveying and change of the legal documents showing changes in ownership and boundaries.

If you do it just fuaaa you are inviting an invasion of that land the same way Mau Forest was invaded and grabbed. It starts out like this and soon there will be a kijiji inside Lenana School and then you can't move anyone.
Fyatu
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 1:27:51 PM

RESIST APPROPRIATION OF LENANA SCHOOL LAND BY RUTO AND KJ. Say no to laziness,incompetence, clueless leadership and roadside decrees.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 3:24:00 PM

Fyatu wrote:
RESIST APPROPRIATION OF LENANA SCHOOL LAND BY RUTO AND KJ. Say no to laziness,incompetence, clueless leadership and roadside decrees.

Non of them have the powers to appropriate anything. The national land commisssion was created for this purpose and even they can not do it without public participation.

People still have hangover of the Moi days.
Fyatu
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 3:46:29 PM

There is nothing wrong with acquiring land from Lenana school. You just can't do it without a process.

What part is being acquired?
How much land?
For what purpose?

There must be proper surveying and change of the legal documents showing changes in ownership and boundaries.

If you do it just fuaaa you are inviting an invasion of that land the same way Mau Forest was invaded and grabbed. It starts out like this and soon there will be a kijiji inside Lenana School and then you can't move anyone.

This has already happened in Nairobi school. There is a kijiji behind Kirinyaga and Baringo houses all the way to the football pitch. Check out google maps.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2019 9:39:18 PM

Anybody has a "before" photo of the school?

#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 15, 2019 11:34:12 AM

Meanwhile in Rwanda....

gazeti wrote:

Private schools in Rwanda are on the verge of closing down due to low patronage. A report by Daily Nation says desperate proprietors who face closure of their institutions are now asking the government to sponsor students in private schools at public rates.
But the government has rejected the idea.

The “problem” started with the government’s twelve-year basic education policy which made public schools affordable and preferable.
According to the report, the Ministry of Education invested hugely in expanding capacity and teaching infrastructure at public schools across the country; introduced the school feeding programme and abolished school fees.

More than 30 private schools are said to have closed indefinitely this year, while others are struggling to stay afloat after losing students to public schools.
School owners told Rwanda Today that even those that had managed to stay open were struggling to meet their operational costs.

“We’ve suffered a sharp decline in the number of students enroled, yet the school has accumulated debt, unpaid salaries and owes arrears to suppliers. It is not clear if the school will re-open,” said Samuel Batamba, the head teacher at College Nkunduburezi in Gakenke District.

Mr Batamba said the school used to have 900 students but now has only 80 students after it failed to attract new students while others enrolled in public schools.

According to statistics from the Ministry of Education, the government owns 460 out of the more than 1,575 schools in the country.
The rest are run by religious bodies with the Catholic church owning 620 schools, the Anglican church 279, Adventist church 22 and Muslim schools are at 16. Another 178 schools are run by parents’ associations and individuals.
The most affected institutions are private boarding schools.

Figures show that students in private schools decreased from 101,510 in 2012 to 79,076 last year while enrolment in public and government-aided schools almost doubled in the same period.

According to John Gasana, the Vice chairman of the Private Schools Association, competing with public schools requires huge capital investment to improve infrastructure, equipment and hiring skilled teachers, something many private schools cannot afford.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 15, 2019 7:03:00 PM

I see the owner of the school has been charged with murder. That is a defective charge that will just see him walk free. He did not murder the kids, this was not premeditated, conspiracy or otherwise.

tom_boy
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 15, 2019 10:55:31 PM

Meanwhile in Rwanda....

gazeti wrote:

Private schools in Rwanda are on the verge of closing down due to low patronage. A report by Daily Nation says desperate proprietors who face closure of their institutions are now asking the government to sponsor students in private schools at public rates.

The “problem” started with the government’s twelve-year basic education policy which made public schools affordable and preferable.
According to the report, the Ministry of Education invested hugely in expanding capacity and teaching infrastructure at public schools across the country; introduced the school feeding programme and abolished school fees.

More than 30 private schools are said to have closed indefinitely this year, while others are struggling to stay afloat after losing students to public schools.
School owners told Rwanda Today that even those that had managed to stay open were struggling to meet their operational costs.

“We’ve suffered a sharp decline in the number of students enroled, yet the school has accumulated debt, unpaid salaries and owes arrears to suppliers. It is not clear if the school will re-open,” said Samuel Batamba, the head teacher at College Nkunduburezi in Gakenke District.

Mr Batamba said the school used to have 900 students but now has only 80 students after it failed to attract new students while others enrolled in public schools.

According to statistics from the Ministry of Education, the government owns 460 out of the more than 1,575 schools in the country.
The rest are run by religious bodies with the Catholic church owning 620 schools, the Anglican church 279, Adventist church 22 and Muslim schools are at 16. Another 178 schools are run by parents’ associations and individuals.

Figures show that students in private schools decreased from 101,510 in 2012 to 79,076 last year while enrolment in public and government-aided schools almost doubled in the same period.

According to John Gasana, the Vice chairman of the Private Schools Association, competing with public schools requires huge capital investment to improve infrastructure, equipment and hiring skilled teachers, something many private schools cannot afford.

If the morons who run this country would wake up from their drunken stupor and use NHIF effectively to fund public hospitals, very few so called private hospitals would be left standing, ..... And thats a Fact
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Fyatu
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 16, 2019 8:57:25 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Meanwhile in Rwanda....

gazeti wrote:

If the morons who run this country would wake up from their drunken stupor and use NHIF effectively to fund public hospitals, very few so called private hospitals would be left standing, ..... And thats a Fact

I said it here that Paul Kagame had it all figured out before he took over as president of Rwanda. Clearly he had a plan after observing all bullshit that was going on in Rwanda pre-genocide and came in with a checklist of what to do to solve each and every problem, including changing the national flag. He(Kagame) is a living testament of a leader who has actually drained the swamp or if you like a leader who has drained the stinking abscess common in shithole nations. I don't see Kenya getting such a leader in the next 100 years not unless the situation becomes so dire that the citizens themselves take the law into their hands and drain the swamp themselves.