wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Precious Talent School Tragedy
#1 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 9:46:04 AM

School building collapses on pupils in Ngando, Nairobi

Just yesterday there was a Nyandarua school in the news whose buildings had developed huge cracks
wukan
#2 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 10:45:52 AM

RIP and condolences to the parents.

That said and this being wazua that will be end of comments here. If you know you know.
#3 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 12:29:21 PM

Sad. RIP. How could such a building have been allowed to exist? Eti ground floor was timber and mabati white top floor was concrete. Total madness. Heads should roll.
#4 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 2:02:19 PM

Very sad. But we do not value life so this is bound to happen again.
Iganamagana
#5 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 2:14:17 PM

Sad. RIP. How could such a building have been allowed to exist? Eti ground floor was timber and mabati white top floor was concrete. Total madness. Heads should roll.

For real?
Fyatu
#6 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 2:45:15 PM

Kenyans we are damned.

We earn very little salaries/wages where we work. These modest earnings condemn us to live in concrete tombs in Embakasi, Githurai, Mathare north, RoySambu etc where God's sunlight never passes through the window. We can only afford to take our kids to neighborhood academies build on 1/8 plots in the middle of the slums where we live. We can only patronize two-roomed clinics that stock expired drugs which are run and operated by quacks.

Meanwhile, cabinet secretaries and PS's and other aficionados just cool their balls and bums in air-conditioned offices hapo community and/or Harambee avenue.

The fact remains that ever since Baba Moi left power in the year 2002, government has not built a single primary school in Nairobi leave alone rural Marsabit. Already existing ones built by Nairobi City Commission are under sieke from land grabbers. Warias/somalis for instance, have grabbed land belonging to most schools along General Waruinge road and Juja road and built skyscrappers. They boast everywhere how smart/successful they are and yet their greed has killed many honest, hardworking and peace loving Kenyans.

Politicians are always the first ones to cry machozi ya mamba and tweet condolences everywhere. In retrospect, ever since 2002, no political parties/presidential candidate has ever given a clear plan on education in their manifestos. All they talk about is free free free free...free tuition, free education etc. They ought to be ashamed of themselves. All they talk about is how they chucked baba Moi from power and how they brought democracy, sijui katiba mpya and other bullshit.

My heart bleeds for the loss of lives in Dagoretti and many other lives that are lost due to wanton greed,poverty, negligence and abdication of duty by government.

P.S. Uhuru should expedite social housing complete with amenities such as proper built schools. Whatever he is doing in Pangani/Ngara though commendable is still childs play.

Ni ajenge Kilamba hapa Nairobi
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#7 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 6:06:19 PM

Fyatu wrote:
...Warias/somalis for instance, have grabbed land belonging to most schools along General Waruinge road and Juja road and built skyscrappers. They boast everywhere how smart/successful they are and yet their greed has killed many honest, hardworking and peace loving Kenyans....

Another careless, racial comment, just uttered with no evidence whatsoever! Sad.

My heart goes to Precious Talent Top school for the dead children. From God we come from and to Him we shall all return!
Fyatu
#8 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 6:24:28 PM

Fyatu wrote:
...Warias/somalis for instance, have grabbed land belonging to most schools along General Waruinge road and Juja road and built skyscrappers. They boast everywhere how smart/successful they are and yet their greed has killed many honest, hardworking and peace loving Kenyans....

Another careless, racial comment, just uttered with no evidence whatsoever! Sad.

My heart goes to Precious Talent Top school for the dead children. From God we come from and to Him we shall all return!

I recall the unfortunate statement i have made about Somali community above. Pole sana to those offended.
#9 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2019 9:09:10 PM

The sad thing is that nobody will be held capable. Many buildings have collapsed and killed people in Kenya and the criminals who owned those buildings still roam our streets like the untouchable bosses they are... But I know one day soon, this country will change.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:41:01 AM

Tamaa the school had 800 pupils probably with no room to expand on the ground up was the only way to accommodate all of them.
The greed manifested by private school owners is on another level they NEVER turn away prospective students they even dish out commissions to those parents who will introduce others to the school.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 6:38:57 AM

Really?

How is this possible?Even a layman like me should know that concrete cannot be on top of timber??

Meanwhile,how long has the school been in existence in that state?Could the owner be having a point by pointing a finger at NCG over the sewerage trench that they dug which affected the integrity of the foundation?

That's is not to excuse him for the situation.

May the little Angel's rest well.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 12:11:03 PM

Owner used chicken wire in slabs. I also understand that school charges 15k per term for 806 pupils, thus total income of over 36m per yr...

#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 12:45:48 PM

Owner used chicken wire in slabs. I also understand that school charges 15k per term for 806 pupils, thus total income of over 36m per yr...

Woi!Jehovah!

No excuse for this guy.He killed the children.
Fyatu
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 1:28:08 PM

It is a big shame for government of Kenya that has allowed its loyal citizens to be shafted left-right and center by greedy landlords, businessmen, quacks, educationists etc. I will not be surprised to hear that KRA collects zero tax from the owner of this school underlining grave incompetence of GoK. All public schools in Nairobi were build between 1960 and 1980 by Fred Ngumo led Nairobi City Commission. Ever since it has been siasa galore.

If parents are willing to pay a whooping 15k for a school whose infrastructure is best fit to breed rabbits and chickens then government should build 10 schools in this area and charge 7.5k in an effort to bridge the budget/revenue deficits. Luckily, huku kwetu Mombasani, our leaders despite being academic dwarfs(D+ material), have more sense than Nairobi Mps and all cabinet secretaries and PS's and are more committed to "watu wetu".

Fyatu
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 1:36:29 PM

Nairobi voters kuleni jeuri yenu...

Your first time Mps. Akina Jaguar, Mariga, Babu owino, John Kiarie ni bure kabisa. They pocket 100 million of CDF money every year na hata they have not bought brooms to sweep a road in your constituency. Uhuru even invites them to Statehouse an indicator that mediocrity in leadership huko Nairobi ni metastatic.

wukan
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:14:00 PM

Fyatu wrote:

It is a big shame for government of Kenya that has allowed its loyal citizens to be shafted left-right and center by greedy landlords, businessmen, quacks, educationists etc. I will not be surprised to hear that KRA collects zero tax from the owner of this school underlining grave incompetence of GoK. All public schools in Nairobi were build between 1960 and 1980 by Fred Ngumo led Nairobi City Commission. Ever since it has been siasa galore.

If parents are willing to pay a whooping 15k for a school whose infrastructure is best fit to breed rabbits and chickens then government should build 10 schools in this area and charge 7.5k in an effort to bridge the budget/revenue deficits. Luckily, huku kwetu Mombasani, our leaders despite being academic dwarfs(D+ material), have more sense than Nairobi Mps and all cabinet secretaries and PS's and are more committed to "watu wetu".

Back in the city commission days I went to public primary school(most were actually built in the colonial era), they were well managed with each class with a max of 35 kids. Nyayo was quite particular about quality education. After Kibaki introduced free-primary education you have to be really reckless as a parent to have your kid in a public school except maybe Nairobi primary and few others. Even in slums parents are squeezing themselves to put their kids in private 'academy'.

public schools are not what they used to be e.g. Olympic primary was a top school. They now produce academic dwarfs. Even if there was a public school in the area that chicken shed school would still have more kids because it offers more quality education. See thread
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=33084
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:16:36 PM

Eti sewer line digging caused the building to collapse...NKT!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:28:07 PM

Woi!Jehovah!

No excuse for this guy.He killed the children.

But even the contractor, foreman and the fundis who who agreed and built these type of structures are very much on the wrong. Shows you how rotten our community/society is.
wukan
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 2:29:13 PM

A word here about the structure of Kenya’s education system. At primary school level there are public or government schools. These tend to be regarded with suspicion by ordinary Kenyans, who question the quality of their teaching. Most are in more developed areas rather than in slums, which are largely served by low-fee private schools. There are also private schools in wealthy areas, but they charge higher fees.

Research by the Africa Population and Health Research Centre has shown that over 60% (pdf) of Nairobi’s more than half a million children attend these low-fee private schools. These children, aged between five and 14, come from households that live on less than US$1 a day. Their families struggle to put food on the table.

It is these obviously needy people who do not benefit at all from the Kenyan government’s free primary and secondary education policies.

https://qz.com/africa/51...aking-inequality-worse/

@Fyatu see this. Public schools are not the solution
Fyatu
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 3:44:00 PM

wukan wrote:
A word here about the structure of Kenya’s education system. At primary school level there are public or government schools. These tend to be regarded with suspicion by ordinary Kenyans, who question the quality of their teaching. Most are in more developed areas rather than in slums, which are largely served by low-fee private schools. There are also private schools in wealthy areas, but they charge higher fees.

Research by the Africa Population and Health Research Centre has shown that over 60% (pdf) of Nairobi’s more than half a million children attend these low-fee private schools. These children, aged between five and 14, come from households that live on less than US$1 a day. Their families struggle to put food on the table.

It is these obviously needy people who do not benefit at all from the Kenyan government’s free primary and secondary education policies.

https://qz.com/africa/51...aking-inequality-worse/

@Fyatu see this. Public schools are not the solution

You miss my point @Wukan. What i am condemning is 30 years of zero government action as far as development of education,housing,transport etc in Nairobi is concerned leaving peace loving Kenyans at the mercy of hyenas ready to fill the gap where government has failed flat.

I am proposing we go back to the days where government built proper schools complete with all amenities. Further, I am also proposing we go back to an education system that worked complete with school inspectors who would randomly check into schools with their piki pikis to keep drunken teachers on check. Schools where pretty(supuu) teaching practice teachers trained at Highridge teachers college would be posted for their elective year. Schools that participated in music festivals, sports, drama, science congress etc after practicing hard in facilities in their own compounds. schools where every child sat on a desk and chair. That is what i count as quality education.

Problem is that government has abdicated its role of building schools for over 3 decades and yet the population has grown exponentially. Another big problem is Kenyans are a "FAD" society. If it is fashionable to take your kids to academy then everyone rushes to take their kids there. If it is fashionable to live in matchbox apartment then everyone rushes there etc. Ban the fad and everything will be alright.

Take for example rural areas of Kenya.... Wananchi still send their kids to public schools and the existing private ones are spacious and well built.I have not heard my relatives from rural Nyeri lamenting about the quality of education in the village primary school. Take another example of public hospitals. Wanachi (sanasana wa Nairobi) would be caught dead going to a public hospital where they are guaranteed of a qualified physician and standard quality drugs but would rather go to those funny funny clinics where they are shafted proper and all their life savings taken away.Kuleni jeuri yenu pole pole.