wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

38 Pages«<2021222324>»
Why dustbowl is the future
#421 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2019 3:42:12 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Difference?
Traditional septic - You will have to pay for an exhauster whenever your septic is full. It can stink up your property big time. Huge tank needed compared to biodigester.
Biodigester - No paying for anything for the rest of your life. Perhaps only introducing more of the microorganisms into the biodigester every 5 years or so. Only waste is clean H20 and small amounts of methane. It does not stink. Very tiny compared to full septic tank.
There's a firm that adds the "sewage eating micro-organisms" in the tanks. They also have a "fat digester" micro-organisms. The claim is that it reduces the organic sludge by 80%. If true then Applause Applause Applause
MugundaMan
#422 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2019 4:04:44 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Isn't there a risk of the effluent from the biodigester contaminating water in an underground tank? Note that its difficult to make an undergound water tank 100% leak proof.

Hardly a chance. The water coming out of the biodigester is hardly harmful to begin with but of course for an added measure of safety you would not build them side by side.

What about E. coli and other pathogens?.

Biodigesters perform several functions at once. As it breaks down, the manure separates into flammable natural gases, mostly methane, a liquid fertilizer called biol and solid waste. The high-methane environment inside the biodigester chokes out all of the aerobic bacteria normally found in manure, like e. Coli.
#423 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2019 4:06:27 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Isn't there a risk of the effluent from the biodigester contaminating water in an underground tank? Note that its difficult to make an undergound water tank 100% leak proof.

Hardly a chance. The water coming out of the biodigester is hardly harmful to begin with but of course for an added measure of safety you would not build them side by side.

What about E. coli and other pathogens?.

Biodigesters perform several functions at once. As it breaks down, the manure separates into flammable natural gases, mostly methane, a liquid fertilizer called biol and solid waste. The high-methane environment inside the biodigester chokes out all of the aerobic bacteria normally found in manure, like e. Coli.

ok
MugundaMan
#424 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2019 7:27:57 PM

Only in DC Laughing out loudly

Kitengela is construction central so it is no irony he and his supuu wifey decided to romp in with earthmovers

https://www.sde.co.ke/ar...with-earth-shaking-entry
MugundaMan
#425 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2019 7:45:11 PM

When will Kenyans ever learn, jameni?

Diasporan loses 2.3m in Ngong land scam

https://www.google.com/a...23m-in-ngong-land-scam/

When you can't even do the most simple of due diligence:
* Ask for copy of title
* Verify title with search through lawyer
* Visit plot at your own time and talk to neighbours regarding who owns the plot
* as a bare minimum,

Jameni who can you blame except yourself. Buying property on promises and "trust" in this day and age is laughable.
Poor chap. We know how tough it must have been for him to make that money majuu. Pole sana to him and his sister. Lakini that "senior city lawyer" must have been in on the scam. If I were him, this (the lawyer) is who I would sue.
MugundaMan
#426 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 5:09:00 PM

Chinese wares offer thriving business amid Kenya's construction boom

http://www.xinhuanet.com...9-08/31/c_138354060.htm

NAIROBI, Aug. 31 (Xinhua) -- Plastic water pipes, bags of cement, floor and wall tiles, kitchen sinks and wooden doors are some of the items displayed outside many shops in Kitengela, a fast-growing suburb south of Kenya's capital Nairobi.

Looking at the items as one strolls in the suburb, one may think that the whole area is under construction.

But this is the norm in most suburbs across Nairobi and the east African nation. The business has become the most popular in Kenya, including in rural areas, fanned by a thriving construction sector and ready imported items from China.

The latter has injected new life in the business that in yesteryears was in the hands of a few individuals.

The affordable Chinese-made construction materials have enabled many join the trade amid a booming real estate sector.

Taps, hammers, saws, tiles, water pipes, sinks, doors, locks, ceiling boards, nails and electrical materials are some of the popular items sourced from China.

"This is a good business because the market is there and affordable prices of the Chinese wares make the goods move faster," Edward Mugo, who owns a construction items shop in Kitengela, said in a recent interview.

Mugo sources the items for sale from shops in Nairobi's Industrial Area, where there are several dealers who import them from China.

"The Chinese items have really revolutionized this industry and brought business in our hands," said Mugo who has been in the business for four years.

Initially, most of the items used to be imported from Europe and India. "But we never had plastic water pipes for instance. The plastic pipes from China have now taken over the market because they are not only affordable but also long-lasting and are not prone to rust," he said.

He sells a five-meter water pipe at 650 shillings (6.3 U.S. dollars), around half the cost to buy the same-length steel water pipes.

Besides the pipes, he isolates plastic taps as other products from China that have addressed the local Kenyan realities.

"Residents in this area and many others in Nairobi use saline water from boreholes which corrodes metal taps over time. Plastic taps, gate valves and other related items from China are therefore very popular with home owners," he said.

One needs between 3,500 dollars and 5,000 dollars to start a construction items shop, noted Mugo but acknowledged competition is tough in the sector.

"With so many shops around, you really need to stand out by selling diversified items to attract customers," he said.

Joseph Kitilu, who sells only bathroom and kitchen construction wares, noted the affordable imported items helped him specialize.

"There are people who have specialized in tiles, others on doors and locks while myself on pipes and taps and related items. The business opportunities are huge," he said in phone interview.

Kenya's construction sector grew by 5.6 percent in the first quarter of this year, a slight decline compared to a growth of 6.6 per cent in the corresponding quarter of 2018, according to the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics (KNBS).

However, the value of imported construction related materials rose to 122 million dollars in the first three months of this year, up from 70 million dollars in a similar quarter in 2018, KNBS data shows.

Ernest Manuyo, a business management lecturer at Pioneer Institute in Nairobi, observed that the affordable items from China now drive Kenya's construction sector.

"The fact that they are readily available and affordable gives builders power to access them. They have certainly helped stabilize construction costs as prices of things like sand and stones rise," he said.

According to him, the Chinese have studied and understood the African market, enabling them to deliver items that meet needs of local people.

Join us in DC or perish!
MugundaMan
#427 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 7:19:33 AM

By the way, I have a noticed a huge flood of people moving into DC and starting to build within the past 3 months alone. For example I went to check on one of the properties I own in another part of DC and was shocked to find 3 new palatial homes are done all the way to the upper floor ring beam within the three months I was away. Then Jewel in the Crown traffic seems to have doubled overnight. Juzi driving back from tao there was a traffic jam all the way from "the tunnel' at MSA rd to Eastmatt yet there was no accident anywhere. And then the population of the place is extremely young. Probably 70% of Jewel in the Crowners are under 40 years old. Artcaffe, Davis and Shirtliff, Kitengela Mall, Glovo (will deliver to your doorstep)..and so many other high end corporates have also flooded in. Wukan, I was shocked to be zulularing in DC's CBD juzi and GUESS WHAT I FOUND. An ex-Canada shop. Can you believe that? In DC! And they were selling everything down to 110v goods! Maanjabu ya Muza! #DCisTheFuture
Ryko
#428 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 5:56:32 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
By the way, I have a noticed a huge flood of people moving into DC and starting to build within the past 3 months alone. For example I went to check on one of the properties I own in another part of DC and was shocked to find 3 new palatial homes are done all the way to the upper floor ring beam within the three months I was away. Then Jewel in the Crown traffic seems to have doubled overnight. Juzi driving back from tao there was a traffic jam all the way from "the tunnel' at MSA rd to Eastmatt yet there was no accident anywhere. And then the population of the place is extremely young. Probably 70% of Jewel in the Crowners are under 40 years old. Artcaffe, Davis and Shirtliff, Kitengela Mall, Glovo (will deliver to your doorstep)..and so many other high end corporates have also flooded in. Wukan, I was shocked to be zulularing in DC's CBD juzi and GUESS WHAT I FOUND. An ex-Canada shop. Can you believe that? In DC! And they were selling everything down to 110v goods! Maanjabu ya Muza! #DCisTheFuture

offloading 1000 note
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
MugundaMan
#429 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 6:11:04 PM

Ryko wrote:

offloading 1000 note

Ahaa! You might actually be right. Very unusual pace of activity lately.
gk
#430 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 8:14:11 PM

@ Shambaman
Perhaps you have info about whether or when Old Kajiado rd will be paved.
MugundaMan
#431 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 9:13:28 PM

gk wrote:
@ Shambaman
Perhaps you have info about whether or when Old Kajiado rd will be paved.

No idea papa but it is just a matter of time. KURA & Kajiado County already announced last November that it would be tarmacked in due course. You are a very lucky jomba kama uko na ka-acreage fronting that road.
sqft
#432 Posted : Friday, January 10, 2020 9:52:05 PM

Residents flee from overcrowded and chaotic Kileleshwa, Lavington to dustbowl in search of privacy

The dustbowl is the future.

https://www.businessdail...13288-7yxr7yz/index.html
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
winmak
#433 Posted : Saturday, January 11, 2020 7:08:14 PM

[quote=sqft]Residents flee from overcrowded and chaotic Kileleshwa, Lavington to dustbowl in search of privacy

https://www.businessdail...3288-7yxr7yz/index.html[/quote]

You will read about DC in the same way in 15-20 years
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
NewMoney
#434 Posted : Sunday, January 12, 2020 4:54:49 AM

winmak wrote:
[quote=sqft]Residents flee from overcrowded and chaotic Kileleshwa, Lavington to dustbowl in search of privacy

https://www.businessdail...3288-7yxr7yz/index.html[/quote]

You will read about DC in the same way in 15-20 years

20 years later, these people will realize how naive they were.

Most people living in Kileleshwa today don't live there because it's "cool". They just value the convenience and this will not change any time soon. The old guards are free to get out but serious people would be buying into it
deadpoet
#435 Posted : Sunday, January 12, 2020 11:20:54 AM

I suppose the expressway will make dustbowl more viable as an option?
amorphous
#436 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2020 6:50:26 AM

seems the wily Mugundaman was right after all

https://www.businessdail...3710-tfjwtiz/index.html

Kajiado construction sector rivals Nairobi’s

Rongai, Ngong, Kiserian, Kitengela leading in Kajiado county
Age and family mellows us all over time
amorphous
#437 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2020 6:26:17 PM

Wororo! Wacha mimi pia nitafute kaburoti maguta maguta hapo dustbowl. Who knew?
sqft
#438 Posted : Monday, May 25, 2020 11:53:08 PM

Dustbowl has really grown. Looks great. It is the future.

Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
tinker
#439 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2020 7:48:59 AM

sqft wrote:
Dustbowl has really grown. Looks great. It is the future.

MugundaMan spotted, thanks for the video.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
amorphous
#440 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2020 5:28:49 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

2. Konza Smart City -yet another gamechanger not just for Kenya but for Africa - is, for all intents and purposes, in dustbowl

Mulmulwas was also right about Konza City being a game changer.