Rank: Elder Joined: 1/8/2018 Posts: 2,212 Location: DC (Dustbowl County)
kawi254 wrote:MugundaMan wrote:Guys, That neighbour has now become a thief. I was wondering why he was watching my property very closely in a very weird way. He has started stealing plants and I have him caught on CCTV. "Nimpeleke mbele" au should I forgive him. Remember yeye ni mzee bin mzee with grandkids my height. He does not know I have the footage as my camera is well hidden. So how did Kenneth make Gatanga so green? First, he tried very hard. Secondly, he won the “unintended consequences” lottery.
In the early period when he was pushing tree planting in his constituency, they would be planted along roads and other places on Day One, and on Day Two Gatanga would wake up only to find the people had stolen the trees.
Eventually Kenneth figured he could put the thieves to good purpose; he would use them to do for free, and on a much larger scale, what he was spending money to achieve.
And so a race started. Many trees would be planted, and many of them would be stolen a few days later. Then more would be planted, and they do would be stolen, and on, and on.
Kenneth knew that the people were not boiling the trees for healing juices or throwing them away. They were planting them in their gardens and lawns.
The plant thieves of Gatanga stole so many of the trees, that when they were done, one Gatangan citizen told me rather hyperbolically that they had achieved the highest per capita tree-planting of any constituency in Africa!
And therein is the lesson. If your environmental project involves planting something, you are more likely to succeed if you pick an item that the people will want to steal.source Just getting to see this today. Kumbe PK was a very smart man! Enyewe let the copycat steal. Any improvement to his property actually improves upon the value of mine as well.