Where will you be counted...???
Are you saving your constituency? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 11/15/2010 Posts: 454 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? I'll save my constituency where I live with my children ....not where I once lived when I was a child. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
tinker wrote:murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? I'll save my constituency where I live with my children ....not where I once lived when I was a child. Ndhiwa Constituency where Awiti is eating our county allocation pole pole. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? Yes I have to. Nyeri tuko vibaya. Tetu,othaya and mukurweini are all below the population threshold. Unfortunately it feels like stopping floods with bare hands. Every year, the young men and women clearing high school and colleges pack their bags and leave in search of opportunities. Coming back is seen as being a failure. Nobody comes back. In my village, there are atleast 50 homesteads either manned by a shamba boy or completely abandoned. Of course the media guys have been running with the story of abandoned schools due to lack of kids. And then they attribute it to alcoholism and low birth rates. But I will still go.
FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? Yes I have to. Nyeri tuko vibaya. Tetu,othaya and mukurweini are all below the population threshold. Unfortunately it feels like stopping floods with bare hands. Every year, the young men and women clearing high school and colleges pack their bags and leave in search of opportunities. Coming back is seen as being a failure. Nobody comes back. In my village, there are atleast 50 homesteads either manned by a shamba boy or completely abandoned. Of course the media guys have been running with the story of abandoned schools due to lack of kids. And then they attribute it to alcoholism and low birth rates. But I will still go. What ails Nyeri? It is beautiful country with lots of potential. When I see the Nyeri young population gathering in the dustbowl and in the Ruai-Kangudo road areas . Those are low potential areas compared to Nyeri. I wish Nyeri folks could try integrate themselves to the Nakuru economy instead of the Nairobi one. Their leaders are now pushing for dualling of the Kenol-Marua road instead of focusing on the B5-Nakuru-Nyeri highway. Look at the figures for local revenue 9 months to 2018/2019 Quote: Nairobi 8,242 Narok 2,664 Mombasa 2,612 Nakuru 1,959 Kiambu 1,837
Kajiado 731 Uasin Gishu 680 Bungoma 605 Nyeri 601 Laikipia 573
FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? Yes I have to. Nyeri tuko vibaya. Tetu,othaya and mukurweini are all below the population threshold. Unfortunately it feels like stopping floods with bare hands. Every year, the young men and women clearing high school and colleges pack their bags and leave in search of opportunities. Coming back is seen as being a failure. Nobody comes back. In my village, there are atleast 50 homesteads either manned by a shamba boy or completely abandoned. Of course the media guys have been running with the story of abandoned schools due to lack of kids. And then they attribute it to alcoholism and low birth rates. But I will still go. If nobody wants to live there, let the constituency die. That money can be channelled elsewhere instead of wastage by governors and MPs. As for the Nakuru suggestion @wukan, why not build the Nyeri economy? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
tinker wrote:murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? I'll save my constituency where I live with my children ....not where I once lived when I was a child. Interesting answer
Kalonzo still lives in those herode days "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
The dreaded qustion by husbands, Mzee uko na mabibi wangapi? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
Coming to Nairobi to be counted then back to current base till 10th October.Just time for the mbuzi. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Bigchick wrote:Coming to Nairobi to be counted then back to current base till 10th October.Just time for the mbuzi. Plus service I thought wewe ni wa Thika? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
Angelica _ann wrote:Bigchick wrote:Coming to Nairobi to be counted then back to current base till 10th October.Just time for the mbuzi. Plus service I thought wewe ni wa Thika? Nilihama. Thika became to shags and dusty.I upgraded to Sonkos City. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Katiba 2010 wrote:(1) There shall be two hundred and ninety constituencies for the purposes of the election of the members of the National Assembly provided for in Article 97 (1) (a). (2) The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission shall review the names and boundaries of constituencies at intervals of not less than eight years, and not more than twelve years, but any review shall be completed at least twelve months before a general election of members of Parliament.
(5) The boundaries of each constituency shall be such that the number of inhabitants in the constituency is, as nearly as possible, equal to the population quota, but the number of inhabitants of a constituency may be greater or lesser than the population quota in the manner specified in clause (6) to take account of--
(a) geographical features and urban centres; (b) community of interest, historical, economic and cultural ties; and (c) means of communication.
(6) The number of inhabitants of a constituency or ward may be greater or lesser than the population quota by a margin of not more than--
(a) forty per cent for cities and sparsely populated areas; and (b) thirty per cent for the other areas.
(7) In reviewing constituency and ward boundaries the Commission shall--
(a) consult all interested parties; and (b) progressively work towards ensuring that the number of inhabitants in each constituency and ward is, as nearly as possible, equal to the population quota.
(8) If necessary, the Commission shall alter the names and boundaries of constituencies, and the number, names and boundaries of wards. (9) Subject to clauses (1), (2), (3) and (4), the names and details of the boundaries of constituencies and wards determined by the Commission shall be published in the Gazette, and shall come into effect on the dissolution of Parliament first following their publication. (10) A person may apply to the High Court for review of a decision of the Commission made under this Article. (11) An application for the review of a decision made under this Article shall be filed within thirty days of the publication of the decision in the Gazette and shall be heard and determined within three months of the date on which it is filed. (12) For the purposes of this Article, “population quota” means the number obtained by dividing the number of inhabitants of Kenya by the number of constituencies or wards, as applicable, into which Kenya is divided under this Article.
Some karatasi ya kufunga nyama wrote: Lamu East, Lamu West, Mvita, Mwatate, Wundanyi, Voi, Bura, Galole, Isiolo South, Kilome, Laisamis, North Horr, Saku, Mbeere North (formerly Siakago), Ndaragwa, Tetu, Mukurweini, Othaya and Kangema. Others are Mathioya, Samburu East, Marakwet East, Keiyo North, Mogotio, Vihiga and Budalang’i.
The constituencies were protected in the 2010 Andrew Ligale-led boundary review commission and their fate lies in the upcoming national population census. Some will be combined and new ones will come up. I have a feeling we might see Githurai constituency. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
MaichBlack wrote:I'm guessing one of the questions the enumerators will ask is 'How many wives do you have?'. Now imagine you are an enumerator and you are supposed to ask that question to Baba Jimmy while Mama Jimmy is seated like one metre from you!!! I think the enumerator will need some sort of insurance or skip the question altogether - with permission from his/her supervisor! Or he/she can just ask and get answers like kubaff,mavi ya kuku,bure kabisa! Wewe umetoka huko huko,ukatupata hapa hapa... in addition to makofi mazito from the mrs. 'How many times wirro you pipo ask that question? We aro going to dealo with you...' Some things never change. Same question is exercising Kenyans minds, ten years later "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
FRM2011 wrote:murchr wrote:Are you saving your constituency? Yes I have to. Nyeri tuko vibaya. Tetu,othaya and mukurweini are all below the population threshold. Unfortunately it feels like stopping floods with bare hands. Every year, the young men and women clearing high school and colleges pack their bags and leave in search of opportunities. Coming back is seen as being a failure. Nobody comes back. In my village, there are atleast 50 homesteads either manned by a shamba boy or completely abandoned. Of course the media guys have been running with the story of abandoned schools due to lack of kids. And then they attribute it to alcoholism and low birth rates. But I will still go. Too late my brother. Demographic decline, once started, is almost impossible to reverse. And the biggest factor in fertility decline is girls education, which we are all rightfully proud of in Central (not alcoholism). In fact I predict some serious political recalculations will be necessary come 2022, when it becomes clear a certain tribe is not the behemoth it was assumed to be. Some political bigots will need to be placed on death watch. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
CS interior Mr Matiang'i made pronouncements to the effect that pubs be closed at 5pm and patrons go home to be counted. Is that a binding requirement or is it just a recommendation! Will Matiang'i stand up and be counted! Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Angelica _ann wrote:The dreaded qustion by husbands, Mzee uko na mabibi wangapi? Uongo itakuwa mingi sana kesho Most men will lie without batting an eyelid! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Angelica _ann wrote:The dreaded qustion by husbands, Mzee uko na mabibi wangapi? na census ikikupata kwa mpango utasemaje.will you deny her Infront of the enumerators? will she accept her position if you say you are there visiting a friend? punda amecheka
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
newfarer wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:The dreaded qustion by husbands, Mzee uko na mabibi wangapi? na census ikikupata kwa mpango utasemaje.will you deny her Infront of the enumerators? will she accept her position if you say you are there visiting a friend? Ukiwa kwa mpango,wewe ni mgeni sio mzee wa boma! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Liverpool vs Arsenal @ 7.30pm Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Where will you be counted...???