24 Pages«<1112131415>»
Ken Okoth,MP Kibra..It shall be well
#241 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 12:43:29 PM

You should understand the importance of those cultural practices (cleansing and wife inheritance) before dismissing them.

After a woman's husband dies, she must engage in sexual intercourse without a condom with a “cleanser,” often a non-relative of the deceased husband, to remove the impurity she is believed to have acquired from the death of her husband. A condom is not used because the practices are considered incomplete unless fluids mix during intercourse. The Luo believe that the death of a husband confers impurity upon the widow and restricts her from participating fully in certain social events. Sexual ritual is thus performed to cleanse her and fully reintegrate her into normal community life.

After a widow has been “cleansed,” she is expected to be inherited by a man, traditionally an in-law. Inheritance is important in that the designated male assumes responsibility for the social and economic support of a widow upon the death of her husband.

For a young widow with children, inheritance by a brother or cousin to the husband allows for continued support by her husband’s extended family. Widows without children or with few children are expected by the extended family to bear children, particularly sons, who would continue the lineage of the deceased husband.

Also many women are widowed young, and fulfillment of sexual desire is a major reason for being inherited.

Aside from the initial cleansing ritual, widows, as well as married women, are expected to observe other sexual norms common in the Luo community. For example, they are expected to engage in sexual intercourse during the establishment of a home; during agricultural cycles such as tilling the land, planting, and harvesting; and when participating in the funeral or marriage ceremonies of some relatives. In each of these cases, a widow must find a sexual partner to help her fulfill these required rites. Fulfilling these sexual rituals often means engaging in sex without a condom, because the practices are considered incomplete unless fluids mix during sexual intercourse . Women engage in these practices to conform to societal norms or because they are compelled to do so by their husbands’ families, their own families, or the belief that engaging in the tradition will ensure that they or their children will not be ostracized or face illness or other misfortunes (chira).

If a woman does not have a resident partner with whom she can carry out ritual sexual practices, she is expected to look for a man with whom to observe the sexual ritual. An inherited widow can observe this ritual with the inheritor when such occasions arise, but a widow who is not inherited has to seek another man with whom to observe the sexual rituals.

As you can see those practices are important to ensure the welfare of the woman in luo society.

What you have written is very good. But as i told you earlier, the same elders didn't guide their son accordingly while he was still alive. Kwani the Elder's council is only useful in death. If theyw ere serious, they would have helped thier 'son' while he was alive to perform prior sites and have a house/home.

By the way i am talking from a point of knowlge and see this things in my many villages. Okoth is not the 1st and last married Luo to die without a home. But their are prior rituals performed before we get into the inheritance point which comes much later.

Your Elders need to be whipped properly.

The elders believed that Ken was still a young man who had time to build a home in the village. But now that tragedy had occurred they had to play their role by giving advice on the way forward. So don't blame the wazee for doing their job.

Also I believe that this cremation issue put into disarray the rites that should have happened before, during and after interment. Could this be why cremation was chosen, despite it being basically unknown in the community?

As i had indicated earlier, the your so called 'Elders' were not there when Okoth was alive and therefore their advice becomes useless and irrelevant when Okoth is dead.

Hizo zingine ni kelele.

#242 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 1:53:29 PM

As i had indicated earlier, the your so called 'Elders' were not there when Okoth was alive and therefore their advice becomes useless and irrelevant when Okoth is dead.

Hizo zingine ni kelele.

A man or woman does not exist in isolation. They are part of the larger community which is governed by traditions and customs, and no one knows about those societal matters better than the elders. Therefore elders, not just luo ones, have a duty to remind members of their communities on the correct procedures to follow during events such as deaths, marriages, initiations etc. Or should we also fault our judges when they remind us what our laws and katiba say regarding the procedures to follow when certain events occur? The luo elders are just telling you what the "luo katiba" says, its nothing personal.
#243 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 2:29:57 PM

Hizo zingine ni kelele.

A man or woman does not exist in isolation. They are part of the larger community which is governed by traditions and customs, and no one knows about those societal matters better than the elders. Therefore elders, not just luo ones, have a duty to remind members of their communities on the correct procedures to follow during events such as deaths, marriages, initiations etc. Or should we also fault our judges when they remind us what our laws and katiba say regarding the procedures to follow when certain events occur? The luo elders are just telling you what the "luo katiba" says, its nothing personal.

Luo katiba doesn't start at death, thanks. You must be a wholesome elder. Let your Elders grow up and take there role seriously.
#244 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 2:49:39 PM

Hizo zingine ni kelele.

Luo katiba doesn't start at death, thanks. You must be a wholesome elder. Let your Elders grow up and take there role seriously.

Elders are knowledgeable in all matters touching on the community and individuals - right from an individuals birth to after his or her death. In the current case, they have only referred to the relevant kipengele in that katiba. If you dont like some contents of that katiba the way to go is ask for a referendum to review hicho vipengele, not rebuking the elders for reading the kipengele to you.
#245 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 3:12:47 PM

Hizo zingine ni kelele.

Elders are knowledgeable in all matters touching on the community and individuals - right from an individuals birth to after his or her death. In the current case, they have only referred to the relevant kipengele in that katiba. If you dont like some contents of that katiba the way to go is ask for a referendum to review hicho vipengele, not rebuking the elders for reading the kipengele to you.

There in lies the reason why they FAILED miserably.
#246 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 4:12:01 PM

Heshimu wazee. They mean well for the community....

#247 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 5:11:20 PM

This to be are not Elders but Jodong aich!!!
Spikes
#248 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:47:04 PM

What do you mean by 'Jadong aich'?
Please translate for Wazooo larger community.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#249 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2019 12:16:38 AM

Spikes wrote:

@Hardwood, the spokesman for the elders can translate!!!!
Spikes
#250 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2019 1:15:09 AM

Spikes wrote:

John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#251 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2019 9:09:57 AM

Spikes wrote:

She's called them "selfish elders", and she is wrong in her assessment.
#252 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2019 10:45:45 AM

I 100% fully agree with hardwood
#253 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 5:10:21 AM

Was this a paid crowd ama the okoth family are politically done after the cremation

Ken Okoth’s brother booed off by hostile crowd in Kamukunji

The youth kept shouting “Toka hapo, toka kabisa!” making it impossible for Imran to address the crowd.
#254 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 10:41:16 AM

madollar wrote:
Was this a paid crowd ama the okoth family are politically done after the cremation

The youth kept shouting “Toka hapo, toka kabisa!” making it impossible for Imran to address the crowd.

Political seats should not be hereditary. What has this okoth brother done for the people and whats his vision to deserve the seat?
#255 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 11:39:20 AM

madollar wrote:

Politics is rough game, possibly paid crowd. By the way who else is the (wo)man to beat for Kibra seat? I think Imran qualifies.
#256 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 2:20:24 PM

madollar wrote:

Politics is rough game, possibly paid crowd. By the way who else is the (wo)man to beat for Kibra seat? I think Imran qualifies.

Baba may give it to Sifuna.
#257 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 2:30:01 PM

Gathige wrote:
madollar wrote:

Baba may give it to Sifuna.

Baba should take the seat himuselefu. We need him in parliament.
#258 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 2:51:23 PM

Can't you say anything unless you mention Baba? smile

NOTE: I do not pitch for or against. Just concerned about the obsession of some people
#259 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 2:54:01 PM

You cannot say anything unless you mention Baba? smile

NOTE: I do not pitch for or against. Just concerned about the obsession of some people

Baba= Kibra, Kibra=Baba.
Thitifini
#260 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2019 8:39:27 PM

MacDonald Mariga??? I agree, that was a suave move by JP. It places them right in the Kibra eating table.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating