wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

3 Pages<123
Where were you on this day 1982?
Liv
#41 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2019 10:13:40 PM

I was in high school, but we had closed school and we were at home (village).I was preparing to go to church and I heard my father asking if I was aware the government has been overthrown. I froze and I couldn't do anything for like 30 min. My brother and I eventually went to church only to hear Moi is back to power by the time church was over.
#42 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2019 10:22:52 PM

How would Kenya be if that thing had succeeded? Better or worse?

#43 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 8:04:30 AM

Gunshots woke us up then screams from our neighbors

I will never want to hear any military has taken over anything. Our neighbors houses doors were being smashed and our friends were being made to kneel outside their doors. All because they were muindis.

I have always been good at counting so I never understand how the media got their death numbers. Obviously the education system then did not put a premium on counting.

By the afternoon we were smack in the middle of a war zone.

By night time it was silent. Just lorries full of people in blue being told to shukeni hapa!

I tell you again. Kenyan media does not know how to count.

I shall never forget what I saw.

#44 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 10:00:17 AM

How would Kenya be if that thing had succeeded? Better or worse?

Worse. Those promises by coup leaders on transitional government were a lie.

By the end of the 80s we'd probably have had 3 more coups/changes in government

Or had an authoritarian army man at the helm for 37 yrs. His 2 sons, both Army Generals would now be fighting to inherit their old man. They're both Cabinet Ministers in their father's govt and living large. All other ministers kowtow to them

We'd have released political detainees. But in 2 years, anyone deemed an enemy of the revolution would be detained and publicly executed.

And yeah, 1st August would be a national holiday. Revolution day or Liberation Day.
#45 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 10:38:39 AM

I will never want to hear any military has taken over anything. Our neighbors houses doors were being smashed and our friends were being made to kneel outside their doors. All because they were muindis.

I have always been good at counting so I never understand how the media got their death numbers. Obviously the education system then did not put a premium on counting.

By night time it was silent. Just lorries full of people in blue being told to shukeni hapa!

You didn't go to church smile
#46 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 12:02:53 PM

Our transistor radio was not working so we only heard from a Neighbour that 'Nyayo amepinduliwa'.
Our uncles who worked in Nairobi later came to the village with cartons of T-shirts and we were all happy.

The Coup attempt turned Moi to a monster!
#47 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 12:22:12 PM

No. My Sunday morning routine used to be walk to Pangani to the sole newspaper vendor and buy Sunday Nation, Standard and Kenya Times.

When walking back, 3 KBS buses passed me with students hanging on all the doors and windows shouting

"POWER! POWER! POWER!!!"

And some KAF guys in a truck following them with guns staring straight at your eyes. Hapo ndio nilikimbia.

#48 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2019 9:19:23 PM

No. My Sunday morning routine used to be walk to Pangani to the sole newspaper vendor and buy Sunday Nation, Standard and Kenya Times.

When walking back, 3 KBS buses passed me with students hanging on all the doors and windows shouting

"POWER! POWER! POWER!!!"

And some KAF guys in a truck following them with guns staring straight at your eyes. Hapo ndio nilikimbia.

Yaani kuna watu walijua Nairobi 1982! Wengine wetu tuliona Nairobi when we joined campus in 1990s
#49 Posted : Monday, August 19, 2019 12:51:50 PM

Hii ni thread ya wazee like me.

We were living in kapsabet,I could see several thatched huts on fire from my dads shoulders.Was small but the fear which engulfed me that evening is something that remains edged in my memory till date. We were leaving for Mombasa that same day.
The atmosphere was tense and unpredictable with helicopters hovering all over town.Felt like we were going to die in a fire..all of us. Argh it was bad.
A song kept blaring the whole day..'moi songa na mbele tujenga kenya yetu'

@essyk you have reminded me far... Do you remember this song "Fimbo ya Nyayo"?? We were really taken for a ride for 24 years Liar Liar Liar
#50 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 9:06:18 AM

Waaah. On 1st August 1982, i was -3 days old. I feel for my mother. All the running she must have done in Kariokor on that day.

wal6807
#51 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 9:46:38 AM

we lived in Nakuru , knew things were bad when i heard the Coup guys on the radio say "Police wakae kama riaya !"
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#52 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 1:14:39 PM

I could not figure out which thread to put this clip. It is Photoshoped or real. I can't believe where we have come from. It seems boot-licking makes one rise up... It seems sycophantic pays?

#53 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2019 2:19:50 PM

I could not figure out which thread to put this clip. It is Photoshoped or real. I can't believe where we have come from. It seems boot-licking makes one rise up... It seems sycophantic pays?

Hehe.....seems our siasa has cooled since those days, even kibaki was jumping up and down pledging his loyalty.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly