wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

24 Pages«<23456>»
Ken Okoth,MP Kibra..It shall be well
#61 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:37:06 PM

To be cremated. My guess is those were his wishes. Someone is asking if this is the new way of denying people food in funerals

I want mine inside 24 hours. Those who wish wakuje na chakula Yao. Toothpicks will be available though.
#62 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:48:38 PM

Njunge wrote:
To be cremated. My guess is those were his wishes. Someone is asking if this is the new way of denying people food in funerals

I want mine inside 24 hours. Those who wish wakuje na chakula Yao. Toothpicks will be available though.

There is no benefit in keeping a dead body for days or weeks or months like other people. Unless there is very important reason, it should be buried as early as possible, while it is "fresh", no smell, no discharge from the openings (mouth, nose, airport/plane, *ss)
Ryko
#63 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:50:19 PM

What is the story behind this guy not having a kid at 41???? I cant find any info online, atleast for Saitoti, we knew, Wamalwa we know what about Ken?

On cremation, my understanding of cremation is that our grand pa/ancestors NEVER buried/cremated, they used to leave or throw guys in forest to be eaten by wild animals.
Colonialist and missionaries came to Kenya and brought the issue of burial, its a norm that never existed, Asians akina Mhindi came later and brought about cremation... This clearly means burial (Sanduku ni ya mzungu bwana) and cremation are new to us, none was done by our forefathers. So why are guys opposing Cremation like its evil.....
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#64 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 6:29:31 PM

Njunge wrote:

There is no benefit in keeping a dead body for days or weeks or months like other people. Unless there is very important reason, it should be buried as early as possible, while it is "fresh", no smell, no discharge from the openings (mouth, nose, airport/plane, *ss)

Arabs (who happen to be muslims) adopted that custom of burying someone before sunset because of the high temperatures in the arabian desert that quickly degraded the body. They also wrapped the body in shukas instead of using coffins coz of lack of wood in the desert. Just like they use carpets coz there is no wood for furniture eg chairs and tables. Should I also mention they use water to clean their a$$es coz of lack of suitable plant leaves (eg maigoya AKA Plectranthus barbatus) or wood to make tissue paper in their localities.

But for Okoth case, with current embalming technology to preserve bodies, there is no need to rush. Let people have time to mourn him and perform any rites that they may wish.
#65 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 6:46:53 PM

I support the Luo elders. Hii maneno ya burning someone with "hellfire" even before the Lord has judged him to decide whether he will burn or go to heaven sio mzuri. This msungu wife aende mos mos.

https://nairobinews.nati...-cremation-of-ken-okoth

We won’t allow Ken Okoth’s body to be burnt, vow Luo elders
By George Odiwuor
July 31st, 2019 4 min read

A faction of the Luo Council of Elders has opposed the cremation of the body of the late Kibra MP Ken Okoth saying it offends Luo customs.

The elders say they will not allow the MP’s body to be burnt.

Mr Okoth’s European wife Monica and the MP’s younger brother are pushing for the cremation of the body. According to the two, it was the MP’s wish to be cremated.

But the Luo council of elders said cremation would be against Luo customs.

Mr Ongadi argued that Okoth is a son of the Luo community whose burial arrangements must conform to the local culture.

“I was told that the late MP would be burned to ashes. This is against Luo customs and any Luo should not dare think of it,” he said.

#66 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:12:53 PM

Njunge wrote:

Arabs (who happen to be muslims) adopted that custom of burying someone before sunset because of the high temperatures in the arabian desert that quickly degraded the body. They also wrapped the body in shukas instead of using coffins coz of lack of wood in the desert. Just like they use carpets coz there is no wood for furniture eg chairs and tables. Should I also mention they use water to clean their a$$es coz of lack of suitable plant leaves (eg maigoya AKA Plectranthus barbatus) or wood to make tissue paper in their localities.

But for Okoth case, with current embalming technology to preserve bodies, there is no need to rush. Let people have time to mourn him and perform any rights that they may wish.

kapsa. let people keep their culture sio mambo na copy pasting
#67 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:14:08 PM

Njunge wrote:

These fools who just show up in funerals to eat a cow!!!

#68 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:25:01 PM

Baba has decided with finality “On Saturday, the body will be given to Okoth’s family to deal with it, just like we did with Kenneth Matiba,” said Mr Odinga.

The elders can now take a walk
#69 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:37:20 PM

This guy was truly a great leader. This article was written in 2013 when he had just been elected. He had a vision of what he wanted to do and he went ahead to do just that.

https://www.nation.co.ke...54976-je4hfqz/index.html
#70 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 8:19:18 PM

Gathige wrote:

Baba has decided with finality “On Saturday, the body will be given to Okoth’s family to deal with it, just like we did with Kenneth Matiba,” said Mr Odinga.

The elders can now take a walk

Baba should know that the community and their culture and customs are bigger than his opinion. A luo should be buried in his home, among his ancestors, so that his spirit can rest, with his people. Hapana hii maneno ya msungu wife burning him and taking his ashes to Europe. The spirit might get very angry always wanting to flee from the foreign land to nyalgunga.
#71 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 8:39:20 PM

This guy was truly a great leader. This article was written in 2013 when he had just been elected. He had a vision of what he wanted to do and he went ahead to do just that.

https://www.nation.co.ke...4976-je4hfqz/index.html

I thinks this statement that he was raised in kibera is misleading coz it conjures the image of a very poor family. The fact is that his mother was employed by the Nairobi City Council but lived in kibera. He was among the privileged ones whose parent had a decent permanent govt job. Some time back I attended a talk by Prof Oyaro, the former Moi University VC and current Daystar VC. He was also raised in kibera and his dad was a government driver. So some of those raised in kibera are actually children of govt civil servants, not children of the poorest of the poor. It's only that their job scales and pay couldn't afford them to live in middle class estates such as south B or umoja. I hope ohuru is currently paying junior civil servants much better so that they do not have to live in slums.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 9:19:39 PM

I thinks this statement that he was raised in kibera is misleading coz it conjures the image of a very poor family. The fact is that his mother was employed by the Nairobi City Council but lived in kibera. He was among the privileged ones whose parent had a decent permanent govt job. Some time back I attended a talk by Prof Oyaro, the former Moi University VC and current Daystar VC. He was also raised in kibera and his dad was a government driver. So some of those raised in kibera are actually children of govt civil servants, not children of the poorest of the poor. It's only that their job scales and pay couldn't afford them to live in middle class estates such as south B or umoja. I hope ohuru is currently paying junior civil servants much better so that they do not have to live in slums.

You can't pay enough money on earth to be this stupid.

Ati Kibera is descent?

Haki mbrogging is about to become like a traffic police cop telling he's saved and Jesus is his savior.

You can't pay enough for being this silly.

#73 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 9:27:24 PM

Njunge wrote:

But for Okoth case, with current embalming technology to preserve bodies, there is no need to rush. Let people have time to mourn him and perform any rites that they may wish.

Well saidApplause copy and paste si poa
#74 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 9:42:52 PM

You can't pay enough money on earth to be this stupid.

Ati Kibera is descent?

Haki mbrogging is about to become like a traffic police cop telling he's saved and Jesus is his savior.

You can't pay enough for being this silly.

Seems viceroy has started to walk all over your head so early tonight. What I said is that Ken Okoth's mum was a civil servant who was living in Kibera. And I added that I hoped that Ohuru is paying civil servants well so that they do not live in slums. That said some parts of kibera eg Ayany are middle class with 3 brm maisonettes. Maybe Okoth was brought up in a 2 or 3 bdrn council house hapo "kibera".
#75 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 10:01:44 PM

Njunge wrote:

I have always wondered where they got the water in the desert to wash their damn asses...water is a precious commodity in the desert.
Not unless they used sea water, for those living by the Arabian sealine.
smile smile

#76 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2019 10:21:09 PM

Njunge wrote:

I have always wondered where they got the water in the desert to wash their damn asses...water is a precious commodity in the desert.
smile smile

Yes, sea water and for those inland water from the oasis. Note that inland human settlements were always around oasis, the only water sources in the vast deserts. Also for the desert nomads its easier to carry water around on camels than some palm leaves to wipe your a$$.
#77 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2019 9:48:39 AM

Okoth's 'second wife' emerges, wants five-year-old son recognised

https://www.the-star.co....ear-old-son-recognised/

A fresh controversy has rocked Ken Okoth’s family as a second ‘wife’ emerged with his five-year-old son.

The Star has established that the woman, a Jubilee-nominated MCA, approached Okoth’s family on Tuesday evening and demanded that her son be recognised before his ‘father’ is interred.

The family was meeting on Tuesday at Silver Springs Hotel along Vallely Road with the ODM leadership to give funeral details.

The son, whose pictures with Okoth have been shared online, is well known among Okoth’s close circle and family members.

The MP’s European widow, Monica, is said to have got wind of the boy and opposed the idea of publicly recognising him. She and Okoth had no biological children but adopted three.

A source, who accompanied Okoth to Tetu, Nyeri county, to meet the woman’s parents, said the existence of the boy was an open secret known to both Okoth’s and the woman’s parents.

"Both the paternal and maternal grandparents have met the child and have lived with him for days. Ken loved the son very much and there is nothing in question," the MP’s confidant said.

Okoth and his secret lover are said to have met in 2011 while the woman was working as a nurse at the Aga Khan Hospital, Nairobi, before she was nominated to the county assembly during the 2017 General Election.

At one time, the MP is said to have stayed together with the woman at a house along Ngong Road in Nairobi.

The revelations came just hours after Okoth’s mother Angelina Ajwang’ warned that her son did not father any child outside of her marriage with Monica.

#78 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2019 9:49:01 AM

Njunge wrote:

smile smile

Yes, sea water and for those inland water from the oasis. Note that inland human settlements were always around oasis, the only water sources in the vast deserts. Also for the desert nomads its easier to carry water around on camels than some palm leaves to wipe your a$$.

Maigoya is the best tissue one can use. I wish someone can invent a way to preserve the leaf so that we can use it in the city. Which also seeks the modern toilet to be turned into a shredder.

RIP mheshimiwa
#79 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2019 10:00:13 AM

#80 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2019 10:14:19 AM