wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

23 Pages«<1415161718>»
This Man Ferdinand Clifford Ndung'u Waititu
#301 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 5:47:06 PM

Shak wrote:
Some 2 governors have also been charged in court but still continuing with their duties. Who will make them leave?

Of corruption? Who else?

Ojamoong ....
#302 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 6:18:21 PM

Shak wrote:
Some 2 governors have also been charged in court but still continuing with their duties. Who will make them leave?

it is not that they leave on being charged. it is all about bail terms as set by the trail court. if trail court doest not put a restriction on governors going to their offices then they can just go..
#303 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 6:18:33 PM

Even the murderer should step aside.
#304 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 6:51:10 PM

Did the court say that Waititu should step aside or just that he should not be allowed back in his office? My guess is, he can operate from Thika as this does not interfere in anyway with policy dispensation.
#305 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 7:00:06 PM

Did the court say that Waititu should step aside or just that he should not be allowed back in his office? My guess is, he can operate from Thika as this does not interfere in anyway with policy dispensation.

Those are the shortcuts the cartel lawyers are looking for.

I think the Judges did not use OFFICE as a physical location. Otherwise, they would have said so expressly. The issue was would the governor and his ilk interfere with investigations.

Bwana Waititu and co should dissuade themselves from paying more money to these cartel lawyers who cheated him that hiding until Sunday and claiming his human rights was illegal. He should be looking for money to pay for his bail and look for other lawyers. I hear he's spending another night in jail.

Wakahare is gone whether his wins an appeal or not. Kiambu people are not impressed by his antiques.

#306 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 7:32:51 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Shak wrote:

it is not that they leave on being charged. it is all about bail terms as set by the trail court. if trail court doest not put a restriction on governors going to their offices then they can just go..

Oh I see
#307 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 7:38:10 PM

Shak wrote:

Of corruption? Who else?

Ojamoong ....

Migori 1. My understanding of the ruling is that it applies to public and state officers charged with any criminal offence not just corruption.
limanika
#308 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:17:30 PM

The ruling effectively meant that he should cease exercising powers of the office of county governor until case is heard and determined. Sadly, I note the County Government Act 2012 did not contemplate this scenario. Due to the weak legislation this ruling may be quashed by either Court of Appeal or SC.
#309 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:28:08 PM

limanika wrote:

The ruling effectively meant that he should cease exercising powers of the office of county governor until case is heard and determined. Sadly, I note the County Government Act 2012 did not contemplate this scenario. Due to the weak legislation this ruling may be quashed by either Court of Appeal or SC.

Judge Mumbi was clearly not referring to physical office but there is a lacuna in law that will make it difficult to enforce the ruling
#310 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:30:48 PM

limanika wrote:

Actually we are going too far in interpretation.

The ruling by Mumbi was specifically on the legality of the constitutionality of keeping state officials in their place of work on moral issues such as corruption. She ruled that particular section of the act was unconstitutional.

As we stand any law that violates this principle is by fact unconstitutional.

She wasn't ruling on whether governors were to be called governors when charged. She ruled on a constitutional issue.

To over turn that ruling you have to go to the Court of Appeal and I'm sure they will not touch that ruling.

Ipso facto. The problem are all these ACTS of Mpigs that have effectively been watering down the constitution.

As to whether Waititu is still governor etc, that's now for the Mpigs to fix with an act of gov't. Otherwise it is now unconstitutional for a conman to continue RUINING counties on the basis of a flawed law that Mpigs have been using to remain in power.

I think that is what the Waititu judge said over and over again.

Lawyers are free to interpret. That's how they make their money. By obfuscating and pontificating.

#311 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:47:54 PM

Waititi was only barred from going to the county offices, not performing his functions as county governor. Basically he can run the county from his private offices or home or wherever he deems fit. He can even be parking outside the county offices gate and be signing all the documents and hold meetings from there. As I said earlier sonko has been holding cabinet meetings in his machakos home which is legal.
#312 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:49:59 PM

Waititi was only barred from going to the county offices, not performing his functions as county governor. Basically he can run the county from his private offices or home or wherever he deems fit. He can even be parking outside the county offices gate and be signing all the documents and hold meetings from there. As I said earlier sonko has been holding cabinet meetings in his machakos home which is legal.

He can always do that, then we shall have a more substantive ruling. Including the fact that he may have to forfeit his bail and stick in Industrial Area until he's done.

He can always try that.

Maybe you haven't noticed but the cartel lawyers having been losing cases left right and center in the past year. They have now found great careers as very good twirraras.

limanika
#313 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:50:18 PM

limanika wrote:

The ruling by Mumbi was specifically on the legality of the constitutionality of keeping state officials in their place of work on moral issues such as corruption. She ruled that particular section of the act was unconstitutional.

She wasn't ruling on whether governors were to be called governors when charged. She ruled on a constitutional issue.

To over turn that ruling you have to go to the Court of Appeal and I'm sure they will not touch that ruling.

Ipso facto. The problem are all these ACTS of Mpigs that have effectively been watering down the constitution.

As to whether Waititu is still governor etc, that's now for the Mpigs to fix with an act of gov't. Otherwise it is now unconstitutional for a conman to continue RUINING counties on the basis of a flawed law that Mpigs have been using to remain in power.

Lawyers are free to interpret. That's how they make their money. By obfuscating and pontificating.

The ruling by Mumbi can be challenged in a higher court. Since the law protects the rights of both the accused and the accuser, I dont think the ruling will stand with the current weak legislation. There could be cases where someone with a grudge with the governor takes him/her to court and files phantom charges just so he can step aside. In this case it is not impossible to project a situation whereby so many governors (in fact all 47 of them) have been barred from office (some on phantom charges) same time and their deputies have taken over in acting capacity.

But Mumbi has stirred up debate and hopefully we'll go in the right direction in the fullness of time.
#314 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:56:03 PM

limanika wrote:

The ruling by Mumbi can be challenged in a higher court. Since the law protects the rights of both the accused and the accuser, I dont think the ruling will stand with the current weak legislation. There could be cases where someone with a grudge with the governor takes him/her to court and files phantom charges just so he can step aside. In this case it is not impossible to project a situation whereby so many governors (in fact all 47 of them) have been barred from office (some on phantom charges) same time and their deputies have taken over in acting capacity.

But Mumbi has stirred up debate and hopefully we'll go in the right direction in the fullness of time.

The aftermath of an unconstitutinal law can be devastating. It is not up to the courts to decide on aftermaths or lack thereof.

It's up to the legislature to come up with honest and sane laws. They knew why the put those clauses there. They are now unconstitutional.

I am sure that such a case shall not be taken up by the court of appeal as it is not unconstitutional. That's the only way the Court of Appeal takes that case. It is unconstitutional. It is not.

The only option for these governors is go straight to the Supreme Court to get a legal opinion.

These people are fried. Now every magistrate will rely on it going forward.

I may be wrong, but I find nothing unconstitutional with her ruling on that specific section of the law. So it shall stand.

limanika
#315 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 8:56:41 PM

The term 'office' in this case does not refer to a physical place. It refers to the 'functions' that go with the office. You are right that Sonko was 'running' Nairobi from Mua hills since it's not about the physical place.
#316 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 9:15:55 PM

Did I just see Nyoro and Gakuyo (the one who has confessed stealing billions from wananchi via ekeza and gakuyo sacco) saying that they are now the ones in charge of kiambu?

#317 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 9:22:34 PM

Waititu is down and Kabogo is up. Someone is about to get finished. I hold this. The County Assembly of Kiambu will impeach Waititu and this will happen inside 90 days.
#318 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 9:34:08 PM

Njunge wrote:
Waititu is down and Kabogo is up. Someone is about to get finished. I hold this. The County Assembly of Kiambu will impeach Waititu and this will happen inside 90 days.

It is a gloomy day for buffalo too if the squirrel is impeached
#319 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 9:35:18 PM

Njunge wrote:

Embu governor was impeached many times and still continued in office. If impeached waititi will also go mpaka supreme court.
#320 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2019 9:40:17 PM

Did the duo, being state officers, step aside when they were battling their cases at the hague?