5 Pages<12345>
Nation Media Group full year 2018
#41 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2019 2:04:55 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Share price now at ksh.47.15 as at close of Wednesday 10 July 2019.
I see people getting burnt in this counter on it's way down.

I'm among those burnt here;with an ABP of 101.
The best way is to average down but I don't have cash now.
I don't regret because i strive to maintain a diversified stocks portfolio.
NMG should venture into digital tv and take on Multichoice brand of Dstv and startimes.
This will be the best way to stay relevant.

Do you see them venturing into digital TV?
Their biggest revenue earner is the daily print/newspaper.
Their TV and radio stations are dead.
Multichoice and Star times invest in content research.

Whatever you do, please do not average down on this one.. Sell now and redistribute to other more viable counters. I know more about the firm than most of its current management
Like you did at I&M about 2 years ago? Since then I&M has given a bonus and increased its dividend. And profits are up huge since 2017.
*I am not saying folks should buy NMG but do you really know what you think you know?

#42 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2019 2:07:05 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

NMG should venture into digital tv and take on Multichoice brand of Dstv and startimes.

Whatever you do, please do not average down on this one.. Sell now and redistribute to other more viable counters. I know more about the firm than most of its current management
Like you did at I&M about 2 years ago? Since then I&M has given a bonus and increased its dividend. And profits are up huge since 2017.
*I am not saying folks should buy NMG but do you really know what you think you know?

How's ARM? Will it trade again? You are not a deity..

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#43 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2019 2:19:55 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

ARM is dead. Kabisa. It will NOT trade.
On the other hand, perhaps (I do NOT know) NMG has a chance to re-invent itself. It does have cash unlike some firms and isn't looking for a bailout.
Ebenyo
#44 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2019 4:55:51 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

On the other hand, perhaps (I do NOT know) NMG has a chance to re-invent itself. It does have cash unlike some firms and isn't looking for a bailout.

Applause Applause And there were rumours sometimes back that Agakhan wanted to sell his 45% holding in NMG to Mediamaxx owned by kenyatta family.
If he will exit,it will give room for the company to be more innovative.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#45 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2019 5:30:59 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Applause Applause And there were rumours sometimes back that Agakhan wanted to sell his 45% holding in NMG to Mediamaxx owned by kenyatta family.
If he will exit,it will give room for the company to be more innovative.

You should thank the gods that AKDN are still around

Ericsson
#46 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2019 11:10:28 PM

The company would have been obliterated by now.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#47 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 5:42:44 PM

rwitre wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Touched 46 intraday.

NMG single-handedly sinking my portfolio Pray Pray

you are not alone.Hata Mimi hapa naumia mbaya.My current ABP is 101 against the current price of 46.Sijui @sparky ako aje hapa.

50% below water. My ABP is 92.

The only solution for us is to average down kabisa.
And nowadays NTV is on Facebook.The challenge is to turn digital exposure into revenues.
GAA paid them half the money and they have renewed business.Thats good as long as they will pay on time.
And how are the media companies worldwide coping with digital disruptions? e.g New York times,Washington post and others?

They introduced a paywall to their news sites and limited the number of free articles one gets. This keeps people paying for news. It doesnt generate as much as newspapers but it pays more than online ads

Paywall's a step in the right direction. And that GAA debt had been quite the drag on the balance sheet. GoK should expedite payment. Deni zilipwe zote.

NMG showing me dust. My biggest capital loss as a percentage and in KShs.
#48 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 5:46:31 PM

rwitre wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Touched 46 intraday.

you are not alone.Hata Mimi hapa naumia mbaya.My current ABP is 101 against the current price of 46.Sijui @sparky ako aje hapa.

And nowadays NTV is on Facebook.The challenge is to turn digital exposure into revenues.
GAA paid them half the money and they have renewed business.Thats good as long as they will pay on time.
And how are the media companies worldwide coping with digital disruptions? e.g New York times,Washington post and others?

They introduced a paywall to their news sites and limited the number of free articles one gets. This keeps people paying for news. It doesnt generate as much as newspapers but it pays more than online ads

Paywall's a step in the right direction. And that GAA debt had been quite the drag on the balance sheet. GoK should expedite payment. Deni zilipwe zote.

With what Citizen and RMG in general are doing in the industry. I recommend you write off this one

#49 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 8:31:26 PM

rwitre wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Touched 46 intraday.

With what Citizen and RMG in general are doing in the industry. I recommend you write off this one

What are they doing?
#50 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 10:42:46 PM

rwitre wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Touched 46 intraday.

He speaks in code Laughing out loudly
rwitre
#51 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 12:57:10 PM

Ati 40 bob Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

This sell-off is getting ridiculous. Anyway, the interim dividend will be used to average down.
#52 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 1:46:04 PM

rwitre wrote:

This sell-off is getting ridiculous. Anyway, the interim dividend will be used to average down.

Never catch a falling knife nor chase a rising skirt

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#53 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 1:47:43 PM

Nations's Kodak moment is here with usPray

@SufficientlyP
#54 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 1:49:39 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Nations's Kodak moment is here with usPray

Capital murder. Pole to the occupants in the NMG bus

#55 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 2:12:46 PM

rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps
#2 (skirt) - A man has to try. No pain, no gain Drool Pray
rwitre
#56 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 2:57:44 PM

rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps

A 12.5% dividend yield on a blue chip whose plummeting price is indicative of extreme fear amongst investors? On this one I'm willing to gamble with a higher stake.
#57 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 3:02:20 PM

rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps

A 12.5% dividend yield on a blue chip whose plummeting price is indicative of extreme fear amongst investors? On this one I'm willing to gamble with a higher stake.

Centum 31.50
KenRe 2.90
NMG 40 [but can they maintain the dividend?]
Na kadhalika. Trying times but for those will balls of steel, this is what you want!
xxxxx
#58 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 7:08:57 PM

rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps

Centum 31.50
KenRe 2.90
Na kadhalika. Trying times but for those will balls of steel, this is what you want!

The question is ...at what price does NMG qualify to be considered scuttle but t??
#59 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 7:31:41 PM

xxxxx wrote:
rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps

Centum 31.50
KenRe 2.90

The question is ...at what price does NMG qualify to be considered scuttle but t??

NMG is worth no more than KES 32 per share

#60 Posted : Wednesday, August 21, 2019 8:28:31 PM

xxxxx wrote:
rwitre wrote:

#1 (knife) - Perhaps

Centum 31.50
KenRe 2.90

NMG is worth no more than KES 32 per share
Well then only -20% left to go!