wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

9 Pages«<34567>»
Barclays - 2018 and beyond
#81 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 10:30:19 PM

FUNKY wrote:
They recently approved a loan for 300 million shillings to choppies super market. I don't have any link to prove but it's a true fact came out of a senior manager in Barclays

The same Choppies which is dying? http://dailyactive.info/...in-choppies-supermarket/

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
FUNKY
#82 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 11:05:37 PM

[quote=FUNKY]They recently approved a loan for 300 million shillings to choppies super market. I don't have any link to prove but it's a true fact came out of a senior manager in Barclays

The same Choppies which is dying? http://dailyactive.info/...n-choppies-supermarket/[/quote]

Choppies is not dying there were some problems which they faced but now everything is sorted in two weeks time all their branches will be fully restocked
#83 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 11:14:13 PM

FUNKY wrote:
They recently approved a loan for 300 million shillings to choppies super market. I don't have any link to prove but it's a true fact came out of a senior manager in Barclays

The same Choppies which is dying? http://dailyactive.info/...n-choppies-supermarket/

Choppies is not dying there were some problems which they faced but now everything is sorted in two weeks time all their branches will be fully restocked

In wazua we support arguments with links https://sokodirectory.co...losing-down-who-is-next/

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
FUNKY
#84 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 11:19:47 PM

Sorry I do not have a supporting link but it is true the boardroom wrangles in Botswana have been solved and choppies Kenya will rise again to its glory
#85 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 11:30:39 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
babashuge wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
I did my own analysis of banks and realised Barclays is doing better than most of of the listed lenders;
NON PERFORMING LOANS
Barclays-8%
Kcb-7%
Equity-8%
Co-op-12%
I&M-14%

LOAN LOSS PROVISION
Barclays- 4%
Kcb-3%
Equity-3%
Co-op-4%
I&M-5%

INTEREST EXPENSE
Barclays-24%
Kcb-26%
Equity-22%
Co-op-28%
I&M-40%

How would interest expense be a percentage

Their papers and wallet have been ok for the last few years but what i wonder is whats the deal with all this closing of branches, is it a sign of inability to get new customers, cost cutting to keep the balance sheets pretty, or some part of some moving to digital strategy...

Is it a good thing?

Based on my statistics,the reason is consolidation.They are trying to preserve their capital.They are no longer the market leaders they used to be and have accepted the reality.
They took a more conservative approach thats neither robust(like kcb and equity) nor a mean approach(like co-op).
Going forward,i see them stabilising slowly and buoyed by separation from the UK father,they will try to grow slowly.

Slow growth in a rapidly expanding sector is as good as death
BUT unlike some firms, BBK doesn't have net debt. Doesn't need a Rights Issue. Pays a healthy dividend. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Sounding like a broken record chief.. How's ARM doing? Likely to resume trading?

ARM? Dead. Kabisa. No bailout. Nothing. Zero. Hapana.

BTW, did BBK make loans to ARM or KQ?

Has it ever had recent capacity to lend to any serious Kenyan corporate.. What is their core capital? L:D ratio?

I don't follow/have BBK so I don't look at it in detail BUT the the Dividend Yield is attractive. I can't answer your question but perhaps @Ebenyo can.

BBK (& SCBK) were among the smart banks that didn't lend to a money pit like KQ.

That said, unfortunately my buddy JM of Equity lent 5bn to KQ.
I&M lent 800mn.
NIC lent 3bn.
And I have shares in all 3. I don't know why local banks got sucked in.
#86 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2019 11:34:38 PM

FUNKY wrote:

The same Choppies which is dying? http://dailyactive.info/...n-choppies-supermarket/

In wazua we support arguments with links https://sokodirectory.co...osing-down-who-is-next/

1) Approved does not mean disbursed. Or there may be conditions that allows BBK to ring-fence the loan.
2) "In wazua we support arguments with links" Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly like GoK will definitely buy out KQ's minority shareholders at 10/12/21? d'oh!
Ebenyo
#87 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2019 6:20:58 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
babashuge wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
I did my own analysis of banks and realised Barclays is doing better than most of of the listed lenders;
NON PERFORMING LOANS
Barclays-8%
Kcb-7%
Equity-8%
Co-op-12%
I&M-14%

LOAN LOSS PROVISION
Barclays- 4%
Kcb-3%
Equity-3%
Co-op-4%
I&M-5%

INTEREST EXPENSE
Barclays-24%
Kcb-26%
Equity-22%
Co-op-28%
I&M-40%

How would interest expense be a percentage

Their papers and wallet have been ok for the last few years but what i wonder is whats the deal with all this closing of branches, is it a sign of inability to get new customers, cost cutting to keep the balance sheets pretty, or some part of some moving to digital strategy...

Is it a good thing?

Based on my statistics,the reason is consolidation.They are trying to preserve their capital.They are no longer the market leaders they used to be and have accepted the reality.
They took a more conservative approach thats neither robust(like kcb and equity) nor a mean approach(like co-op).
Going forward,i see them stabilising slowly and buoyed by separation from the UK father,they will try to grow slowly.

Slow growth in a rapidly expanding sector is as good as death
BUT unlike some firms, BBK doesn't have net debt. Doesn't need a Rights Issue. Pays a healthy dividend. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Sounding like a broken record chief.. How's ARM doing? Likely to resume trading?

ARM? Dead. Kabisa. No bailout. Nothing. Zero. Hapana.

BTW, did BBK make loans to ARM or KQ?

Has it ever had recent capacity to lend to any serious Kenyan corporate.. What is their core capital? L:D ratio?

18.4%
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ericsson
#88 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2019 5:04:44 PM

Barclays aggressively marketing its mortgage lending product
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#89 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2019 1:01:41 PM

23 million shares traded so far today.
Who is buying/selling?
babashuge
#90 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2019 8:20:14 AM

I don't know how legit this is, but seeing that Mpesa already works with Wechat pay, is BBK on to something?

http://www.xinhuanet.com...9-09/28/c_138431779.htm
#91 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2019 6:57:30 AM

babashuge wrote:
I don't know how legit this is, but seeing that Mpesa already works with Wechat pay, is BBK on to something?

Kenya's Barclays Bank mulls integrating WeChat Pay, Alipay into digital platform
Ericsson
#92 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2019 10:49:15 AM

babashuge wrote:

Kenya's Barclays Bank mulls integrating WeChat Pay, Alipay into digital platform

Inconsequential
#93 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2019 5:42:05 PM

Ericsson wrote:
babashuge wrote:

Inconsequential
Haba na haba...
#94 Posted : Friday, December 20, 2019 8:22:53 PM

Ericsson wrote:
babashuge wrote:

Inconsequential
Haba na haba...

Barclays hires 1200 new staff, after years of retrenchment and redundancies
Ericsson
#95 Posted : Sunday, December 22, 2019 9:36:21 PM

Next year trading name changes to ABSA Kenya
Ericsson
#96 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2020 10:44:44 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Next year trading name changes to ABSA Kenya

Barclays to Trade as ABSA on the NSE from Monday.
cdsckenya instructed brokers to fast-track the settlement of Thursday’s trades, often known as trade acceleration and the NSE_PLC has Halted Barclays_Kenya from trading in today's session to allow transition to Absa.
Ericsson
#97 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2020 5:58:33 PM

There will be loss of ome customers and corporates who had ties to UK who will most likely shift to Standard Chartered Bank.
Ericsson
#98 Posted : Tuesday, March 24, 2020 9:40:29 AM

https://www.nse.co.ke/ph...ar-ended-31-dec2019.pdf

Final dividend sh.0.9
#99 Posted : Tuesday, March 24, 2020 10:45:02 AM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.nse.co.ke/phocadownload/Daily-Downloads/absa-bank-kenya-plc---audited-group-results-for-theyyear-ended-31-dec2019.pdf

Final dividend sh.0.9

At current price of 10 bob net earning (all costs inclusive) of 8.37% even if you missed the interim dividend. Plus likely capital gains after Corona is gone!!!!
rwitre
#100 Posted : Tuesday, March 24, 2020 2:48:51 PM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.nse.co.ke/phocadownload/Daily-Downloads/absa-bank-kenya-plc---audited-group-results-for-theyyear-ended-31-dec2019.pdf

Final dividend sh.0.9

At current price of 10 bob net earning (all costs inclusive) of 8.37% even if you missed the interim dividend. Plus likely capital gains after Corona is gone!!!!

Looks like 2020 we'll just eat dividends.

NSE was falling without corona.
Even after the virus there are the endemic problems that were chocking our economy.

Negative market sentiment likely to continue.

You could always do a Kirubi and take advantage of the discounts to increase ownerships of the solid firms.