wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

Which Business For a Diasporian with 1.5M ??
kyukkamba
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 27, 2010 11:28:54 AM

Guys I need ur Help.
Have been outside the country for sometime now. Enough is enough I need to come back home for good. B4 doing it I wanna secure myself some business that I will easily get into when I get back.I wanna start a ka-small business while am still outside and say after a year or two go back and run it by myself.
With a maximum of 1.5M what do you guys think I can start?
The fear here is failure
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
qw25041985
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 27, 2010 11:40:15 AM

Buy shares in nairobi stock exchange. I am already up 70% since the start of the year. What business can give such a quick return.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
kyukkamba
#3 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 12:21:19 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
Buy shares in nairobi stock exchange. I am already up 70% since the start of the year. What business can give such a quick return.

That is real great ..Lucky yousmile . I have been in stocks for sometime now lakini the maximum I have ever earned is 20%. The issue is how to pick them up. What method r u using? and how long do u hold to the shares? I guess there is something wrong am doing of which I dont know.... I feel shares has more to do with luck ... I dont see a proper pertern that one can follow to ensure a good return in a given period of time. Today u r up the next month ur underground Sad and u never know when u need ur money most that is when u find urself below waterNot talking .
I am not saying that Business guarantees u a cool return but atleast you'll be on the ground on daily basis doing your best to ensure a good return. Lakini shares with all these rubbish brokers and the third party news that one has no control of is just beyond my take.
#4 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 1:05:30 PM

Although the matatu business has alot of issues I would recommend it,but long distance saccos like Molo line ,eldoret line etc .The best thing about this business you just need to get a good Driver then you start earning.

just buy a good vehicle from japan for kido 1.2m pimp it a little with 100k the sacco ask about 50-60k to join license & insurance 100k.
kyukkamba
#5 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 3:21:12 PM

selah wrote:
Although the matatu business has alot of issues I would recommend it,but long distance saccos like Molo line ,eldoret line etc .The best thing about this business you just need to get a good Driver then you start earning.

just buy a good vehicle from japan for kido 1.2m pimp it a little with 100k the sacco ask about 50-60k to join license & insurance 100k.

Thank u very much for ur contribution. Matatu business is out of question. I have more than 4 very close friends who started it some years ago na sasa they wish they never did it. One is a very close relative. The only way out with Matatu is you being the driver and your son the conductor otherwise u r in for a nervous breakdown ... and so they say..smile
#6 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 3:39:32 PM

Woi dnt try matatu. Afadhali ukunywe hiyo dough yote! Shares...or small time real estate in the small towns till u come back n sell them...
#7 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 4:04:08 PM

mukikuyu-mukamba:
do you want to run a business or to be an investor?

I assume the former;
Close your eyes and see the place you live today....in Kenya, that is. Draw a circle of 500m radius. How many people live within that circle?

Now ask yourself, what do they need bu they can't get (enough of)?

There you have it:- your business idea
#8 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 4:05:39 PM

Moral of my story: you cannot decide what business you are going to start until you get here. Come with a level head...not a sharp one!
kyukkamba
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 10:11:11 AM

@Mukiha,
Thanx. I want to Run a business. Have been thinking the same way. A mean go home, get my feet on the ground, do a ka-small research on any business around and start something.
But the point of starting something while u r away is trying to secure your survival or rather playing it safe. Yaani if I fail (while am away)i'll still be holding on my job it's like eating ur cake and having it at the same time...smile Unajua the problem of comming home and start looking for employment againd'oh! after living abroad for a looooog time is realy frightening.

But I think there is no way out. I have to sacrifice. leave this country go home with a brave heart and do what others do otherwise they'll keep on eating my money till the end of time....and that story of "Unajua tulianza vizuri sana..lakini kitu mbaya ikatokea and we were forced to close down with a very big loss" itakwisha.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 11:32:49 AM

@kyukkamba; I see where you are coming from. Whatever you do you, remember the rule that the more money you spend on starting a business the more likely it is to fail!!

There are THREE key things needed for a business to succeed:
1)The idea
2)Capital to actualise it
3)Customers to keep it moving

Most people start with capital, then seek an idea and finaly look for customers. No wonder, most people fail! 85% of new businesses do not survive to the first birthday!

Those that do survive and succeed start with customers, then get and idea (what to sell to them and how) and then look for capital.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 5:04:32 PM

1.Buy 4 secondhand Toyota 110's and open a taxi company 'kyukamba tours'

2.Go to kayole,Ruai,Dandora or kagundo rd, buy an old complete flat do a little renovation and whalaaa you start making your money.

3.Open a cyber cafe and monitor it from where you are.

4.open a consultancy that links desperate Kenyans with jobs or colleges from wherever you are .

5.computers Phones and accessories business or any latest gizmo's from wherever you are shop.

6.we can open a business where you get pple looking for cheap property to buy and we split the commission.

kyukkamba
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 12:50:00 PM

@Mukiha.
Thank u very so much. It can not be told any better. Now I have a clear picture of how / where I went wrong. I thought just dispatching capital to them will do the trick but everytime i did it i FAILED.
I also blame the guys on the ground for not being honest .. It's loud and clear that they misappropriated alot of cash. (Hii ni taabu yangu should have thought in advance).

I think i'll be forced to pump an extra year or so here then decide what to do after taking into account ur advice.

@ Selah... kama uko na "cheap property" si useme ni ngapi ina cost? may be I'll manage by myself. Lakini usinitende kunitenda kama vile wale wengine walifanya....smile
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 30, 2010 4:26:27 PM

@kyuk

I know several pple selling their built houses for kido a milli along kagundo rd. Just behind the double M workshop .The problem is the land does not have a title only allocation certificates from the scheme.