wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

3 Pages<123
Robert (Bob) Collymore CEO of Safaricom Passes On!!!
#41 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2019 2:29:48 AM

Meet Bob's first wife and kids....before Wamboi came into the piksha.

That was number 2. Wambui was number 3.
#42 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2019 5:30:54 AM

Was also shocked to hear Michael Joseph say that Bob was a white man trapped in a black skin. He should be deported ASAP! Shindwe.

He should be taken onboard that next KQ flight to SA.
Ceitani.

#43 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2019 7:45:14 AM

Hope he will soon expound on what he meant.I believe he is wise enough not to say such in public.I am persuaded it's a joke that backfired similar to the peculiar one that he called us years gone by.

I grudgingly choose to forgive him for the greater good of the company and Kenyans who depend on safaricom.
thuks
#44 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2019 8:46:16 PM

Hope he will soon expound on what he meant.I believe he is wise enough not to say such in public.I am persuaded it's a joke that backfired similar to the peculiar one that he called us years gone by.

I grudgingly choose to forgive him for the greater good of the company and Kenyans who depend on safaricom.

We are indeed peculiar because we shall forgive
I care!
tinker
#45 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2019 7:32:13 AM

thuks wrote:

We are indeed peculiar because we shall forgive

Let MJ feel the heat, it is one consequence of ignoring the instructions of the dead -Bob's poem!!. He ought to have read the bloody poem and seat down.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#46 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2019 9:26:13 PM

was it 'white man' TRAPPED in a 'black mans' body?
#47 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2019 9:36:35 PM

When Smith Hempstone* was the US ambassador, many Kenyans said he's a black man in a white man body. That was not a problem then.
#48 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2019 11:46:14 PM

When Smith Hempstone* was the US ambassador, many Kenyans said he's a black man in a white man body. That was not a problem then.

maybe coz it could have meant that he was a white man (which he was) who had a liking for kenyan (mostly black) things and kenya? if you think that is similar to what michael joseph said then it is unfortunate
#49 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2019 11:57:23 PM

mkenyan wrote:

maybe coz it could have meant that he was a white man (which he was) who had a liking for kenyan (mostly black) things and kenya? if you think that is similar to what michael joseph said then it is unfortunate

Why wouldn't that be the case, a man is guilty for what he says not how you choose to interpret it
#50 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 5:20:25 AM

mkenyan wrote:

What DID HE SAY? I think people are bitching for no good reason.
Over the last 15 years I went from being amused by this white man in a black body pretending to be a very serious corporate person to really becoming a serious corporate leader,

Unless you knew Bob personally - you wouldn't know if he had "uzungu mwingi" in him!
Who has watched the movie "Green Book"?
#51 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 10:53:20 AM

Materere wrote:
What DID HE SAY? I think people are bitching for no good reason.

During the last polls, you started a thread on the issue of Kikuyu arrogance. You pointed out that UMK would lose due to his tribe's looking down on other communities. You went out to point out that Kikuyus have to be more careful in their conduct(and words) than other people because of their 'privileged position' or something like that.

I saw your point then. Why can't it apply here with Michael?
#52 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 10:54:44 AM

Not sure that they used those words. Smith behaved liked eating Chama choma in public places just like Kenyans. But all Kenyans are not black.
#53 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 10:56:00 AM

How many times do we say, huyu ni mzungu, huyu anaishi kama mzungu, wachana na huyu ni mzungu etc. Why then is it ok for us to say that yet MJ cannot say the same in a more elaborate manner.
#54 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 12:31:43 PM

How many times do we say, huyu ni mzungu, huyu anaishi kama mzungu, wachana na huyu ni mzungu etc. Why then is it ok for us to say that yet MJ cannot say the same in a more elaborate manner.

Exactly my point... everyone recognizes "uzungu" in black people. everyone recognizes "uwafrika" in white people. When you see someone doing something that is stereotypical someone else domain... you state it. Asians live a certain way. Waafrika the same. Wazungu the same.

When you see a mzungu chokora - you get astounded (I know I was... when I saw the first one).
What MJ was saying is the He remembers Bob Collymore being a "Mzungu Muiru" who pretending to be a serious corporate person. Since then he grew and become a serious corporate person.
He was talking about Bob... not black people... not white people. BOB!! how he saw Bob grow. The only person who can be insulted is Bob. tuwache upuzi.
#55 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 1:12:25 PM

Exactly my point... everyone recognizes "uzungu" in black people. everyone recognizes "uwafrika" in white people. When you see someone doing something that is stereotypical someone else domain... you state it. Asians live a certain way. Waafrika the same. Wazungu the same.

When you see a mzungu chokora - you get astounded (I know I was... when I saw the first one).
What MJ was saying is the He remembers Bob Collymore being a "Mzungu Muiru" who pretending to be a serious corporate person. Since then he grew and become a serious corporate person.
He was talking about Bob... not black people... not white people. BOB!! how he saw Bob grow. The only person who can be insulted is Bob. tuwache upuzi.

Taking offense is a huge industry. Unataka watu walale njaa? Even Trevor Noah admitted that the election of Donald Trump is the greatest thing that could have happened to his career.
#56 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2019 1:26:29 PM

Meanwhile, this is the way NYT did an advert for its Africa Correspondent

C&P

New York Times international editor Michael Slackman has owned up to approving a job advert for an Africa correspondent that was full of clichéd descriptions of the continent.

It talked about reporting from "the deserts of Sudan and the pirate seas of the Horn of Africa, down through the forests of Congo and the shores of Tanzania".

MJ was very lenient.