36 Pages«<1617181920>»
President Uhuru Kenyatta 2nd Term - 2017/2022
#341 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 6:27:43 PM

#342 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 7:52:30 PM

Yaani Kenyans are happy to operate businesses in other countries eg the UK, US, etc but are unhappy when chinese engage in business in kenya. Why the double standards?

Also why complain about the chinese while indians, pakistanis, illegal somalis etc are all over mpaka machinani running mpaka kiosks?
#343 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 11:54:13 AM

#344 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 1:29:23 PM

Yaani Kenyans are happy to operate businesses in other countries eg the UK, US, etc but are unhappy when chinese engage in business in kenya. Why the double standards?

Also why complain about the chinese while indians, pakistanis, illegal somalis etc are all over mpaka machinani running mpaka kiosks?

I've been wondering too
wukan
#345 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 2:16:07 PM

I've been wondering too

Aki yawa you guys are naive...

https://www.asiabyafrica...-africa-guangzhou-china

wukan
#346 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 2:41:40 PM

I was looking for this quote by JJ Kamotho. Enough said

During one visit to his office, I told him: “We in the media are convinced Moi wants Uhuru as his successor, not George Saitoti, the Vice-President.”

His reply, in Kikuyu, was intriguing: “Kihii gititumagwo uthoni! (You don’t send an uninitiated boy to bridal negotiations!)”

He first gave me this quote in an exclusive interview published in the Daily Nation just before the 2002 election.
https://mobile.nation.co...m-1-10nd3utz/index.html

#347 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 3:42:33 PM

wukan wrote:

I've been wondering too

Toa this naiveness....Why do you feel threatened by Chinese and not Somali or Indian?
#348 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 3:48:46 PM

Jeezus, there is a comment on that link by @wukan that is kali sana....

#349 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 4:07:53 PM

Souring Business, Xenophobia Makes China Dream Lose Its Appeal for African Migrants

https://www.caixinglobal...-migrants-101007685.html
wukan
#350 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 5:07:56 PM

wukan wrote:

I've been wondering too

Toa this naiveness....Why do you feel threatened by Chinese and not Somali or Indian?

Coz I have my ear on the ground and I know when the market dynamics are changing. Sit down with guys from downtown, those who bring containers, those who pioneered into Dubai, Guangzhou and then Wiyu with zero support from govt, how the trading routes worked and how they have changed.
https://www.africanglobe...-chinas-chocolate-city/

I can't toa the naiveness. I see it everyday with govt officials who don't understand the market dynamics but yote tisa...majuto ni mjukuu.smile

#351 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 8:54:02 PM

It's not the same. The Indians and the rest have been with us through the struggles, build their businesses from the ground, empowered citizens and even become citizens themselves.
Now, for these Chinese... if you want to know how xenophobia starts, this is how. Here, Uhuru's government has failed big time!

#352 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 9:44:21 PM

The minimum amount you need to get an investor permit in kenya is $100,000. How then do you end up in a stall in Gikomba ?

On a light note, are you telling me the Nairobi business community is scared of the 5ft chinkus ?
#353 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 10:24:41 PM

wukan wrote:

I've been wondering too

Coz I have my ear on the ground and I know when the market dynamics are changing. Sit down with guys from downtown, those who bring containers, those who pioneered into Dubai, Guangzhou and then Wiyu with zero support from govt, how the trading routes worked and how they have changed.
https://www.africanglobe...-chinas-chocolate-city/

I can't toa the naiveness. I see it everyday with govt officials who don't understand the market dynamics but yote tisa...majuto ni mjukuu.smile

You just said nothing....Market dynamism is constantly changing. That is a fact you need to acquaint yourselves with.

Once upon a time Tom Mboya street was run by muhindi dukawallas, but Kenyans learnt how to go to China and import underwear all over sudden the dukawallas were subdivided into smaller kiosks and labelled exhibitions. Same thing happened on biashara street..Indians once ran the dukawallas then the Chinese came along and took over business.

So Wembe huo umeingia Gikomba, a Chinese just found a way of making money and he is importing the same bales of "camera clothes" (whatever that means) that you import. They are acclimatizing quite well.

I would get wary if they kill a local industry and force us to import their stuff....that way they would be killing our capacity to produce. Just like the Mutumba imports did to the textile industry...
Fyatu
#354 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2019 8:32:37 AM

I don't see why there is too much hullabaloo about Chinese in Gikomba. Chagas from Tanzania have dominated the market/mitumba business for over two decades now and the idle business daily journalists have not written a sensational story about them
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#355 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2019 11:23:59 PM

#356 Posted : Monday, June 17, 2019 9:16:41 AM

In Kikuyu, when someone tells you "I'm not your kihii", it means a lot. It's not about circumcision, but respect. Anyway, as much as I agree with building bridges, I also know that they should not underestimate Dr. Ruto, he has learnt from the best. A man on a mission should never be underestimated.

I think this matter is much tougher for Uhuru than for Ruto and Raila. He would not want to have an enemy in the next president. Tough balancing act.

wukan
#357 Posted : Monday, June 17, 2019 10:40:42 AM

You just said nothing....Market dynamism is constantly changing. That is a fact you need to acquaint yourselves with.

Once upon a time Tom Mboya street was run by muhindi dukawallas, but Kenyans learnt how to go to China and import underwear all over sudden the dukawallas were subdivided into smaller kiosks and labelled exhibitions. Same thing happened on biashara street..Indians once ran the dukawallas then the Chinese came along and took over business.

So Wembe huo umeingia Gikomba, a Chinese just found a way of making money and he is importing the same bales of "camera clothes" (whatever that means) that you import. They are acclimatizing quite well.

I would get wary if they kill a local industry and force us to import their stuff....that way they would be killing our capacity to produce. Just like the Mutumba imports did to the textile industry...

Clueless in some aspects...Do you know how the dominance of the muhindi dukawallas was ended in downtown and they moved upwards on the supply chain? How the business rent tribunal was established to give mwafrika a foothold in this sector. Govt trade ministers in 60's and 70's played a central role to open the doors to penetrate the retail sector.

Not that those assisted have ever improved their lot that much instead of re-investing in their trade the murang'a went on buroti buying spree. Downtown is still a mess and a fair amount of competition is needed to rejuvenate that trade area. Knowing the right amount of competition to bring without creating dominance is what our clueless govt officials don't get.

Entirely banning the chinese from the retail sector like what Matiang'i did by deporting the Gikomba chinese is another clueless knee jerk reaction. I wish govt officials tried to understand how this whole supply chain works. They would move faster on that change of Gikomba into something like Yiwu market.

Govt is there to ensure fair competition not blocking some containers and allowing others to offload. Secondly to ensure that no group is able to dominate the entire supply chain or corner the market.

Waihiga tried some balanced reporting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjtynEX_oPo

tinker
#358 Posted : Monday, June 17, 2019 11:02:42 AM

In Kikuyu, when someone tells you "I'm not your kihii", it means a lot. It's not about circumcision, but respect. Anyway, as much as I agree with building bridges, I also know that they should not underestimate Dr. Ruto, he has learnt from the best. A man on a mission should never be underestimated.

I think this matter is much tougher for Uhuru than for Ruto and Raila. He would not want to have an enemy in the next president. Tough balancing act.

A tough talking president who doesn't follow through his words.
Those around him knows that was just another rant. Tanga tanga brigade will continue politicking with IMPUNITY.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#359 Posted : Monday, June 17, 2019 1:32:10 PM

tinker wrote:

A tough talking president who doesn't follow through his words.
Those around him knows that was just another rant. Tanga tanga brigade will continue politicking with IMPUNITY.

After listening to the whole rant, i think he was targeting all including kieleweke for using his name to create dis harmony.
#360 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 4:10:18 PM

Ati some of you have been saying OOOh!! sijui Uhuru is not working, Ohhh Jubilee government haileti maendeleo..... Mtajua Hamjui

You are struggling to buy a 1/4 acre kaburoti in Isinya where there are no roads while some are increasing the value of their 11,000 acres.

https://www.businessdail...1556-j2exdnz/index.html

There are families in Europe that can trace their family wealth hundreds of years. I was watching one of a German guy who have land holdings in the same family from the 1100s (900 years). This is what the Kenyattas are doing and we are busy clapping and singing for them.