Mastermind Tobacco tycoon dies
I am guessing this dude had a good funeral cover.
Funeral budget.
1. Hire of 2 choppers - 200K 2. Hearse and coffin - 100K
I recently chaired a funeral committee where the budget went to 800K. Simple things like programme taking 80K. Catering 500K.
Murungi was an intelligent man. We continue wasting scarce resouces to impress people who don't care.
Personally, I would prefer donating my body for research.
While I have the right to tell my family how to deal with my body & funeral proceedings, I would rather leave it to them to choose how they want to do it. After all, I won't be there. It will be their pain. They should be free to choose whether throwing my body to the bush, burying, cremating or whatever else they choose helps them mourn & move on better. Funerals are not really about the deceased. They are for the bereaved. I've gone to many funerals where I didn't even know the deceased!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
The problems @ARM Cement amongst other factors might have contributed to this man demise. He was a significant shareholder Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2018 Posts: 564 Location: Britain
Fyatu wrote:The problems @ARM Cement amongst other factors might have contributed to this man demise. He was a significant shareholder His Tax issues with KRA must have been the catalyst.
FRM2011 wrote:I am guessing this dude had a good funeral cover.
Funeral budget.
I recently chaired a funeral committee where the budget went to 800K. Simple things like programme taking 80K. Catering 500K.
Murungi was an intelligent man. We continue wasting scarce resouces to impress people who don't care.
True, funerals costs are exaggerated and extravagant. 2 weeks ago, i attended a funeral committee meeting where one of the items was a banner with the guy's photo on it @40k. Mark you this is a guy a young guy of 38 years, 2 small girls and a widow who needs to start finding her way around without the man. The funeral costs were around 1.2k, major cost were of tents, chairs and food (catering). No priority at all on how the wife and kids will pick from the sudden demise of their dad. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
Angelica _ann wrote:FRM2011 wrote:I am guessing this dude had a good funeral cover.
Funeral budget.
True, funerals costs are exaggerated and extravagant. 2 weeks ago, i attended a funeral committee meeting where one of the items was a banner with the guy's photo on it @40k. Mark you this is a guy a young guy of 38 years, 2 small girls and a widow who needs to start finding her way around without the man. The funeral costs were around 1.2k, major cost were of tents, chairs and food (catering). or No priority at all on how the wife and kids will pick from the sudden demise of their dad. That is why you get an Insurance cover for your funeral expenses
BTW, I hope we could start taking the funeral cover as kenyans. Because of the low uptake, the premiums are outrageously low.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him. This man is a true trend setter. I have seen widows left with nothing to eat, simply because some funeral committee to set aside money for people to eat. None for the fees of the man or woman left behind. I would say Kenyans are very strange people. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
This man is a true trend setter.
I have seen widows left with nothing to eat, simply because some funeral committee to set aside money for people to eat. None for the fees of the man or woman left behind.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits.
Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I have seen widows left with nothing to eat, simply because some funeral committee to set aside money for people to eat. None for the fees of the man or woman left behind.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Let each build their own selves rather than ride on their parents' efforts. I care!
Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini.
Kusadikika wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini. Taxes are a must even Sonkos wife had taxes in arrears which she is paying. Sometimes being in politics makes you a target. Dangote and Kirubi can teach many on how to play that politics card. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini. Taxes are a must even Sonkos wife had taxes in arrears which she is paying. Sometimes being in politics makes you a target. Dangote and Kirubi can teach many on how to play that politics card. How did sonko's wife incur tax arrears? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Fyatu wrote:The problems @ARM Cement amongst other factors might have contributed to this man demise. He was a significant shareholder the guy was 75yrs old . our days are numbered in this world Psalms 90:10 Our days may come to seventy years, or eighty, if our strength endures; yet the best of them are but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away. punda amecheka
Lolest! wrote:While I have the right to tell my family how to deal with my body & funeral proceedings, I would rather leave it to them to choose how they want to do it.
After all, I won't be there. It will be their pain. They should be free to choose whether throwing my body to the bush, burying, cremating or whatever else they choose helps them mourn & move on better.
Funerals are not really about the deceased. They are for the bereaved.
I've gone to many funerals where I didn't even know the deceased! this
The media is now acting like Harlots. They followed the family to church...why not let them be? Clearly these people have decided to carryout this in their own way... "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini. Taxes are a must even Sonkos wife had taxes in arrears which she is paying. Sometimes being in politics makes you a target. Dangote and Kirubi can teach many on how to play that politics card. How did sonko's wife incur tax arrears? You compared Sonko's wife taxes with that one of Mastermind Tobacco, be serious bwana.Hata kama!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini. Taxes are a must even Sonkos wife had taxes in arrears which she is paying. Sometimes being in politics makes you a target. Dangote and Kirubi can teach many on how to play that politics card. How did sonko's wife incur tax arrears? You compared Sonko's wife taxes with that one of Mastermind Tobacco, be serious bwana.Hata kama!!! No one is comparing anything...just highlighting that no one is tax except irregardless of political affiliations. Follow the conversation "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:murchr wrote:Kusadikika wrote:alma1 wrote:Those neighbors were only there to eat free food and pretend they knew him.
I would say Kenyans are very strange people. You are right, but then again on the flipside you can bet no one in that family can run for an elective post in that village and win for the next 50 years. Raila has built the most loyal following of any politician on nothing but funerals. Ruto is trying to build a following on church harambees but Kenyans are not as enthusiastic about harambees at they are about funerals. As Michael Joseph of Safaricom discovered, Kenyans have rather peculiar habits. Politics is not everything and they have never shown interest. They run successful companies In Kenya when you run businesses beyond a certain size, you need a foot in politics especially now that mzee is gone. The most valuable thing to people with property and businesses are phone numbers. If Njiraini is on your neck you need to be able to call someone who can call Njiraini. Taxes are a must even Sonkos wife had taxes in arrears which she is paying. Sometimes being in politics makes you a target. Dangote and Kirubi can teach many on how to play that politics card. How did sonko's wife incur tax arrears? You compared Sonko's wife taxes with that one of Mastermind Tobacco, be serious bwana.Hata kama!!! No one is comparing anything...just highlighting that no one is tax except irregardless of political affiliations. Follow the conversation Were Sonko's wife's taxes individual taxes or business taxes? If individual, they they don't fit in this discussion. My take. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Mastermind Tobacco tycoon dies