FUNKY wrote:
https://www.nation.co.ke/business/Safaricom-extends-Bob-Collymore-contract/996-5128166-tr71bv/index.html

GOK should insist on a competent CEO not a Kenyan CEO.

They are not interested in competence, performance or such boring stuff. They are interested in control and the goodies that come with it.

A Kenyan can run Safaricom, S/he just needs to be a person of integrity. Our very own iCT minister run google operations in Subsahara Africa. Look at EABL after foreigners took over management, sometimes it takes understanding of our peculiar culture and habits to thrive.

This is a terrible comparison. You totally miss the point!!!

The problem is the GOK + Safaricom (or any company actually) combination. And the Jubilee government at that!!

Kenyans can run stuff!!! We are mostly Kenyans here aren't we?? We run stuff our own way. Next you will tell us Equity is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Centum is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Chandaria...

Shida ni Serikali mzee. And the Kenyan who will be selected by individuals with other agendas other than the performance and profitability of the company.

Are we tugeza!!!???

Safaricom is mainly run by Kenyans. The CEO was confined in a hospital for a year but the company didnt stop.

All those companies collapsing everyday are very privately run, ARM, being an example.

At the end of the day, the CEO answers to Vodacom not GOK, if not a Kenyan then it will be a South African, and if that's the case it will be another CFC

GOK is playing a very dangerous game (for the company, shareholders, the industry etc.)

Their reasoning is that they are joint majority shareholders with Vodacom having 5% shareholding and GOK and Vodacom South Africa holding 35% each.

Don't be so sure of who GOK wants the CEO to be answering to!!! Serikali ni kuionea mbali!!! Wewe shinda hapo tu!!

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

If not a Kenyan then South African. When they bought the company, an internal email was circulated telling employees that this was good news for them as it brought about opportunities

Vodafone owns 66% of Vodacom
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#102 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:02:07 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:
https://www.nation.co.ke/business/Safaricom-extends-Bob-Collymore-contract/996-5128166-tr71bv/index.html

They are not interested in competence, performance or such boring stuff. They are interested in control and the goodies that come with it.

A Kenyan can run Safaricom, S/he just needs to be a person of integrity. Our very own iCT minister run google operations in Subsahara Africa. Look at EABL after foreigners took over management, sometimes it takes understanding of our peculiar culture and habits to thrive.

The problem is the GOK + Safaricom (or any company actually) combination. And the Jubilee government at that!!

Kenyans can run stuff!!! We are mostly Kenyans here aren't we?? We run stuff our own way. Next you will tell us Equity is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Centum is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Chandaria...

Shida ni Serikali mzee. And the Kenyan who will be selected by individuals with other agendas other than the performance and profitability of the company.

Are we tugeza!!!???

Safaricom is mainly run by Kenyans. The CEO was confined in a hospital for a year but the company didnt stop.

All those companies collapsing everyday are very privately run, ARM, being an example.

At the end of the day, the CEO answers to Vodacom not GOK, if not a Kenyan then it will be a South African, and if that's the case it will be another CFC

GOK is playing a very dangerous game (for the company, shareholders, the industry etc.)

Their reasoning is that they are joint majority shareholders with Vodacom having 5% shareholding and GOK and Vodacom South Africa holding 35% each.

Don't be so sure of who GOK wants the CEO to be answering to!!! Serikali ni kuionea mbali!!! Wewe shinda hapo tu!!

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

If not a Kenyan then South African. When they bought the company, an internal email was circulated telling employees that this was good news for them as it brought about opportunities

No disputes on that, Vodafone dictates to Vodacom but Vodacom now dictates to Safaricom. At the board its Vodacom with voting rights not Vodafone
#103 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:03:15 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

No disputes on that, Vodafone dictates to Vodacom but Vodacom now dictates to Safaricom. At the board its Vodacom with voting rights not Vodafone
The chances are high that Vodacom and Vodafone vote the same way in Kenya. Shared interests.
#104 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:05:52 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

The chances are high that Vodacom and Vodafone vote the same way in Kenya. Shared interests.

So the probability of a South African to head Safcom are high
Ericsson
#105 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:18:20 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

Who appoints the majority of the board members at Vodacom? Vodacom will just rubber stamp whatever Vodafone says
Ericsson
#106 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 10:29:48 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

Let's wait and see but probability is low according to me
#107 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 11:41:29 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

Who appoints the majority of the board members at Vodacom? Vodacom will just rubber stamp whatever Vodafone says

Exactly. I don't see where the South African is coming in. Vodafone ndio kusema in matters Vodacom.
#108 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 11:43:19 PM

Africa here we come.... Ethiopia is very mouth watering...
#109 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:37:19 AM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

I do not care whether the CEO is South African, British, Kenyan or Mongolian. S/he should be the best available at a reasonable cost to shareholders.
Ericsson
#110 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 10:32:17 AM

Huge jump today in share price
#111 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 6:15:28 AM

Senators call for regulation of mobile phone loans
https://www.businessdail...35738-wtcl1yz/index.html
Ericsson
#112 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 7:03:55 AM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Senators call for regulation of mobile phone loans
https://www.businessdail...5738-wtcl1yz/index.html[/quote]

Is the problem the high interest rate as they perceive or the difficulty in accessing credit.
Mobile loans are thriving because of the interest rates cap law which made it difficult for the riskiest segment to access credit
#113 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 8:30:49 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Is the problem the high interest rate as they perceive or the difficulty in accessing credit.
Mobile loans are thriving because of the interest rates cap law which made it difficult for the riskiest segment to access credit

The legislators say nothing about the betting craze but have an issue when credit is availed to wanjiku.
Ericsson
#114 Posted : Saturday, June 08, 2019 8:49:56 AM

https://af.reuters.com/article/idAFL8N23E247
Ethiopia’s parliament to approve law on liberalizing Telecoms sector
#115 Posted : Saturday, June 08, 2019 7:51:45 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The legislators say nothing about the betting craze but have an issue when credit is availed to wanjiku.
Huge win for Saf if it can slide into the space.
#116 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 6:05:02 PM

Forbes Global 2000 Companies

#1259 in Profit and #1211 in Market value

#67 World's Best Employers 2018

https://www.forbes.com/c...=global2000#7185a34e2ced
#117 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 8:41:15 PM

[quote=murchr]Forbes Global 2000 Companies

https://www.forbes.com/c...global2000#7185a34e2ced[/quote]
Nicholas Nganga could pass right by you at the supermarket and you wouldn't know!

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#118 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 10:09:49 PM

Nicholas Nganga could pass right by you at the supermarket and you wouldn't know!

What about Titus Naikuni chairman of Airtel
#119 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2019 10:49:41 PM

Ericsson wrote:

What about Titus Naikuni chairman of Airtel
#BelowTheBelt d'oh! Laughing out loudly d'oh! Laughing out loudly
tandich
#120 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2019 11:04:36 PM

Exclusive: Ethiopia plans to issue telco licenses by year-end

Vodafone, South African operator MTN, France's Orange and Etisalat of the United Arab Emirates are likely to be among the leading contenders vying for entry into the Ethiopian market.

Green giant missing conspicuously. But all this is speculation as it stands.