wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

5 Pages123>»
New Generation Bank Notes
T-Bag
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 2:06:16 PM

HE. PORK launches new generation bank notes at Madaraka Day celebration. The fight against corruption gets new impetus, Old 1000 will become obsolete, corruption billions in safes and bunkers will trigger inflation as they enter the system.....or else.....
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
Pedes
#2 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 2:10:35 PM

T-Bag wrote:
HE. PORK launches new generation bank notes at Madaraka Day celebration. The fight against corruption gets new impetus, Old 1000 will become obsolete, corruption billions in safes and bunkers will trigger inflation as they enter the system.....or else.....

October 1 2019 is the deadline. Those who have stashed illegally acquired 1000s notes in warehouses or homes are looking for get-rid-quick schemes.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
Fyatu
#3 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 2:26:44 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Interesting perspective you got there....anyway, on a more lighter note, i can see that the 100 note is no longer a "red". The 50 bob is the new red. The green and the blue make a comeback as 200 and 500b. The 1000 bob is still a brown. All over sudden the sheng vocabulary for money changes
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
kayhara
#4 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 2:42:14 PM

How fast will okia omutata go to court because all the notes have kenyatta or a likeness of him which is unconstitutional, the notes look nice, funny I have not seen the coins yet.
To Each His Own
Ryko
#5 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 3:19:36 PM

Pedes wrote:
T-Bag wrote:

October 1 2019 is the deadline. Those who have stashed illegally acquired 1000s notes in warehouses or homes are looking for get-rid-quick schemes.

This will affect a very small group of people. Clearly (10M -100M) stashes can be rinsed up before 4 months are over. This may affect guys with over 0.5 billion. How many are they? Very few, the likes of past governors. I expect

1.Guys will rush to forex exchanges so forex will be hotcake in the next few days. Mattress banking will switch to dollar banking. Millions will be cleaned up easily in forex. It is likely to affect dollar buying rates in coming months

2. Convert to 500s and get a new lease of life, more timelines still legal tender

3. Land as an asset is likely to benefit from this and probably houses which have had a terrible run this year.

4. Banks deposits (trickledown effect of conversion) more deposits, more loans for mama mboga, slow rate of small banks acquisitions because of deposits

All in all very little effect on mattress war lords. Meanwhile the business that will likely be affected most is

1. Money printing/wash wash this guys will need new equipments for the latest currency with more security features and expensive to print.

2. Politicians who rely heavily on money printing for campaign stashes

I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#6 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 4:26:39 PM

Someone will be in court on Monday and because wakora judges are some of the biggest hoarders of cash bribes this move is likely to be quashed.
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 4:37:21 PM

#8 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 4:41:31 PM

I suspect the initial confusion will start with matatus, mama mbogas and kiosks refusing to accept the 1,000 Ksh. note then there will be huge queues at banks because banks will require people to fill out forms stating the source of funds.......
#9 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 5:54:39 PM

T-Bag wrote:

Are we talking of the same Kenya? We're the hub of corruption, I'm sure these people already know how to launder this billions. Let's wait and see if even one person will be arrested.

#10 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 6:23:49 PM

I've some prime plots in Nvs. For anyone interested, kindly drop me a mail
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 6:41:47 PM

Someone will be in court on Monday and because wakora judges are some of the biggest hoarders of cash bribes this move is likely to be quashed.

Yep, they're making it easy for the judges. Kenyatta's KICC sculpture is on all the new notes
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 01, 2019 6:59:29 PM

constitution of Kenya wrote:
4) Notes and coins issued by the Central Bank of Kenya may bear images that depict or symbolise Kenya or an aspect of Kenya but shall not bear the portrait of any individual

Guess portrait excludes sculpture images!

But I'm sure someone will rush and remind the courts about the spirit of the law
#13 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 6:31:41 AM

We talked about this in 2016, when Uncle Sam instructed India to try it out and see. India was the guinea pig in this. And for sure paper money is going away... soon you won't need to carry money around. Digital money is coming...
#14 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 6:37:41 AM

I suspect the initial confusion will start with matatus, mama mbogas and kiosks refusing to accept the 1,000 Ksh. note then there will be huge queues at banks because banks will require people to fill out forms stating the source of funds.......

You are right... See what happened in India...
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 8:45:42 AM

radio wrote:

I think the idea is for vendors to refuse to take cash and only accept bank transfers due to existing counterfeits. I would not accept cash.

But I see many of these criminals using mpesa and purchasing construction materials in bulk to launder their loot.

#16 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 10:58:49 AM

radio wrote:

I think the idea is for vendors to refuse to take cash and only accept bank transfers due to existing counterfeits. I would not accept cash.

But I see many of these criminals using mpesa and purchasing construction materials in bulk to launder their loot.

When will ATMs start dispensing pieces of this ugly paper?
#17 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 12:09:12 PM

That probably means that I could fill the form as a retailer and buy each 1000 at a discount? Say 900?
#18 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 12:17:47 PM

We talked about this in 2016, when Uncle Sam instructed India to try it out and see. India was the guinea pig in this. And for sure paper money is going away... soon you won't need to carry money around. Digital money is coming...

Digital money is going to increase in usage but it won't replace hard cash, and for obvious reasons. Digital systems are not just vulnerable but also tend to be monopolized by non state actors that can't guarantee freedoms...
#19 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 2:17:31 PM

radio wrote:

Mpesa has daily limits.Cannot launder lots of cash through this method.
Wakanyugi
#20 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 2:38:54 PM

radio wrote:

Mpesa has daily limits.Cannot launder lots of cash through this method.

If had a billion or two to lauder I would be looking for a high cash business to 'invest' in, like a super market chain.

But I think what Uhuru should have done is give a four week amnesty. Bring the money from under the matress, no questions asked, as long as you pay tax on it. It doesn't stop the DCI from using the information to go after suspected drug money cleaning etc.

Meanwhile that KRA collection target problem? Solved.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)