8 Pages«<5678>
Affordable Housing by Government of Kenya
wukan
#121 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 10:29:07 AM

wukan wrote:
Anybody who has extensively ventured into Murang'a or East of Naro Moru highway? Lots and lots of idle roads. What for? What for, while thousands of Nairobi an kids are going to school in gumboots? Why serve a few whereas millions suffer? I thought public expenditure is about democracy........ Democratic expenditure......... Start with the majority, and proceed with the rest.....

Why underfeed the cow that feeds Kenya 🇰🇪?

Aki this is so true of Murang'a that place has some of the best roads I've seen in Kenya proper culverts, drainage, road furniture, they connect to each other yet so idle. Compared with what i saw recently in Murang'a without a doubt Nairobi has been really neglected

Are you saying that the govt should stop building roads in muranga, taita, bungoma, siaya etc (roads that connect major trading centres) until all the vichochoros in dandora, pipeline etc are tarmacked? Why do nairobians feel so entitled?

Are you saying it's okay for Nairobians to suffer 31 ICU beds for a population of 4 million because they feel entitled. nairobians know how badly we suffer from bad public services. We pay taxes, land-rates then on top of that we pay private schools, private garbage collectors, private water providers, private security guards, private health care. On top of that we are told we feel so entitled...ni sawa tu!!! Bora uhai

Patients whose lives are at risk are being turned away from the national referral hospital due to shortage of intensive care unit (ICU) beds.

The Kenyatta National Hospital confirmed that a 68-year-old patient, Hanna Njoki, died at the facility while waiting for one of the 31 ICU beds.

"It is regrettable that the patient passed on 28th August 2018 while we were still waiting to get an ICU bed at the Kenyatta National Hospital," said acting Clinical Services Director Dr Peter Masinde.

He said the hospital had informed the family that a bed was not available and advised them to seek treatment elsewhere.

"The relatives were informed of lack of an available bed in ICU and were requested to seek for treatment in another hospital, which they declined citing lack of money to facilitate transfer of the patient to a private hospital," Dr Masinde said.

KNH is facing pressure of patients in need of intensive care because other public hospitals do not have the required facilities.

"If the other surrounding public hospital were equipped with facilities this scenario could not have occurred," Dr Masinde said.

https://www.businessdail...734990-9tu741/index.html
#122 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 10:37:38 AM

wukan wrote:
Anybody who has extensively ventured into Murang'a or East of Naro Moru highway? Lots and lots of idle roads. What for? What for, while thousands of Nairobi an kids are going to school in gumboots? Why serve a few whereas millions suffer? I thought public expenditure is about democracy........ Democratic expenditure......... Start with the majority, and proceed with the rest.....

Aki this is so true of Murang'a that place has some of the best roads I've seen in Kenya proper culverts, drainage, road furniture, they connect to each other yet so idle. Compared with what i saw recently in Murang'a without a doubt Nairobi has been really neglected

Are you saying that the govt should stop building roads in muranga, taita, bungoma, siaya etc (roads that connect major trading centres) until all the vichochoros in dandora, pipeline etc are tarmacked? Why do nairobians feel so entitled?

Are you saying it's okay for Nairobians to suffer 31 ICU beds for a population of 4 million because they feel entitled. nairobians know how badly we suffer from bad public services. We pay taxes, land-rates then on top of that we pay private schools, private garbage collectors, private water providers, private security guards, private health care. On top of that we are told we feel so entitled...ni sawa tu!!! Bora uhai

Patients whose lives are at risk are being turned away from the national referral hospital due to shortage of intensive care unit (ICU) beds.

https://www.businessdail...34990-9tu741/index.html

Every 5yrs you are given a chance to drain the swamp. But you refuse. So live with the consequences.
#123 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 2:33:30 PM

wukan wrote:

It's too much of a funny substance they call "tomato soss" which they eat with chips, hii tomato soss ndio ina wa affect vichwa! I usually end up suspecting tomato soss as the culprit.

On a serious note, if there are beautiful roads in Murang'a that are barely being used and there are filthy roads in Kariobangi and Dandora where hundreds of thousands of people live, why then are people not moving to Murang'a in droves? Kwani kuna mtu amefungwa na nyororo kwa barabara chafu. What is the incentive that keeps people in these filthy places and that is lacking in those clean well served areas? Could it be that in peoples priority of needs, clean and beautiful roads do not rank very high?
tinker
#124 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 3:09:38 PM

wukan wrote:

It's too much of a funny substance they call "tomato soss" which they eat with chips, hii tomato soss ndio ina wa affect vichwa! I usually end up suspecting tomato soss as the culprit.

On a serious note, if there are beautiful roads in Murang'a that are barely being used and there are filthy roads in Kariobangi and Dandora where hundreds of thousands of people live, why then are people not moving to Murang'a in droves? Kwani kuna mtu amefungwa na nyororo kwa barabara chafu. What is the incentive that keeps people in these filthy places and that is lacking in those clean well served areas? Could it be that in peoples priority of needs, clean and beautiful roads do not rank very high?

Where are these "Murang'a or East of Naro Moru highway? Lots and lots of idle roads."?. someone would want us to believe there is skewed allocation of resources in favour of Murang'a people. Could it be that you visited Murang'a during work-hours when residents were in their farms?. a kin of using Waiyaki way at mid-night?. Have you ever visited interior of Murang'a to witness the level of despair in terms of accessibility and lack of health and social facilities?.
The only good roads we can talk about in Marang'a are inter-county roads. And all of these 'Highways' are 2-ways [Not Dual] are actually very dangerous considering the landscape.
FYI, Nairobi 'runs' on Murang'a/Naro moru just the same way Mombasa 'runs' on tourism.
Why underfeed the cow that feeds Nairobi??
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#125 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2019 2:37:08 PM

Uhuru goes to WINDSOR to launch MORTGAGE COMPANY for CHEAP HOMES.

Discuss the irony and contradictions in the sentence above (20 marks)

https://www.the-star.co....company-for-cheap-homes/
#126 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2019 2:46:27 PM

I think Jubilee has discovered why life is hard for Kenyans. They don't have enough debt, that's why!!! Let us create financial instruments to lend them money. Mobile loans to millions and now a Mortgage refinance company.

How is this different from printing money?

A few people will no doubt become billionares of these schemes just like we have a few Sportpesa investor billionares. Na hiyo ni maendeleo?!!
Sir invest
#127 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 1:06:56 PM

KMRC SHAREHOLDERS

National Treasury
World Bank/IFC
AFDB
KCB
DTB
COOP
HF Group
Credit Bank
NIC
Stanbic

SACCOS

Imarika sacco
Mwalimu National
Kenya Police
Tower Sacco
Safricom Sacco
Harambee Sacco
Stima Sacco
Ukulima Sacco
Bingwa Sacco
Unaitas Sacco

Micro finance

KWFT
Shelter Afri
wukan
#128 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 2:24:16 PM

I think Jubilee has discovered why life is hard for Kenyans. They don't have enough debt, that's why!!! Let us create financial instruments to lend them money. Mobile loans to millions and now a Mortgage refinance company.

How is this different from printing money?

A few people will no doubt become billionares of these schemes just like we have a few Sportpesa investor billionares. Na hiyo ni maendeleo?!!

Money equals debt. Most Kenyans exist at the subsistence 'bora uhai' level. For the amount of debt GoK has taken it has to formalize much of the economy. Na hiyo ni maendeleo
Thitifini
#129 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 3:49:50 PM

Sir invest wrote:
KMRC SHAREHOLDERS

National Treasury
World Bank/IFC
AFDB
KCB
DTB
COOP
HF Group
Credit Bank
NIC
Stanbic

SACCOS

Imarika sacco
Mwalimu National
Kenya Police
Tower Sacco
Safricom Sacco
Harambee Sacco
Stima Sacco
Ukulima Sacco
Bingwa Sacco
Unaitas Sacco

Micro finance

KWFT
Shelter Afri

Ekeza & Banda should have been in tge list

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#130 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 2:48:45 PM

Housing levy barred again by the courts. What David Ndii was saying (WARNING US) about this programming is coming to pass. What am wondering is why the government does not want to go to the open housing market, builders, financiers etc, when you go to boma yangu, it is virtually impossible to participate. They require 'a history" of managing major housing projects, they require you go for the tax clearance certificates which the KRA guys were demanding bribes for, e.t.c. The small man has been relegated to supplying jua kali doors and windows only.

What is the problem with a developer, innovator house designer, and an institution agreeing on the houses, the mortgaging company assessing the value of the house, or even kebs approving the model and construction and then an individual forwarding a form to his HR department to deduct the 1.5% from his salary after CHOOSING FOR HIMSELF on the OPEN MARKET. Shame on you

Why are some people driving out competition and making participation so difficult for kawaida Kenyan players?
A New Kenya
#131 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 3:26:33 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Sir invest wrote:
KMRC SHAREHOLDERS

National Treasury
World Bank/IFC
AFDB
KCB
DTB
COOP
HF Group
Credit Bank
NIC
Stanbic

SACCOS

Imarika sacco
Mwalimu National
Kenya Police
Tower Sacco
Safricom Sacco
Harambee Sacco
Stima Sacco
Ukulima Sacco
Bingwa Sacco
Unaitas Sacco

Micro finance

KWFT
Shelter Afri

Ekeza & Banda should have been in tge list

KUSCCO?
wukan
#132 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 3:31:09 PM

Housing levy barred again by the courts. What David Ndii was saying (WARNING US) about this programming is coming to pass. What am wondering is why the government does not want to go to the open housing market, builders, financiers etc, when you go to boma yangu, it is virtually impossible to participate. They require 'a history" of managing major housing projects, they require you go for the tax clearance certificates which the KRA guys were demanding bribes for, e.t.c. The small man has been relegated to supplying jua kali doors and windows only.

What is the problem with a developer, innovator house designer, and an institution agreeing on the houses, the mortgaging company assessing the value of the house, or even kebs approving the model and construction and then an individual forwarding a form to his HR department to deduct the 1.5% from his salary after CHOOSING FOR HIMSELF on the OPEN MARKET. Shame on you

Why are some people driving out competition and making participation so difficult for kawaida Kenyan players?

Housing levy will still come to pass the courts are only postponing the inevitable. Either way the balance sheet must balance. It's either levy or indirect taxes. In the UK people own what are former council houses so get with the program.

Kawaida kenyan players can't raise average 5-9 billion required to develop the project sites.
#133 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 3:41:10 PM

This tax (1.5% deduction) must go.

Housing is a basic need, with proper planning, everyone should get atleast a decent shelter which meets the basic needs that include access to utilities and in a secure and hygienic setting.

Many Kenyans especially in urban areas currently can't afford this, so my question is why can't the govt spend a specific amount to construct this houses instead of burdening us with additional tax nonsense like this housing fund.

They should allocate funds to construct this houses from within the budget and suspend other expenditures such as sitting allowances travel allowances etc until they raise additional capital. Let them sit in their offices, work from their desks like me, communicate through emails and be productive.
#134 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 4:56:11 PM

wukan wrote:

Housing levy will still come to pass the courts are only postponing the inevitable. Either way the balance sheet must balance. It's either levy or indirect taxes. In the UK people own what are former council houses so get with the program.

Kawaida kenyan players can't raise average 5-9 billion required to develop the project sites.

We now know, they are being reserved for the usual tenderprenuer "billionaires" who usually qualify, the usual peoples relatives, girlfriends, e.t.c, KES 500 billion has already been set aside in the budget!
A New Kenya
#135 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 4:59:53 PM

I would support this 100%, all they have to do is show me the location, the house plans, my unit and floor, timelines and the agreement. Then I sign and start contributing. Simple.

githundi
#136 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 9:23:57 PM

Delete
Democracy does not belong to the dead
githundi
#137 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 9:25:11 PM

We, the so called 'middle class' is not getting it. This a tax on formally employed people to support social housing for the poor and business for the rich.
The scrap from this will only be our contribution which shall be decimated by inflation by then. The employer portion is not refundable and contributions do not earn any interest.
githundi
#138 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 9:36:38 PM

How I pray that the government reverts to its role as an enabler without putting its ugly foot on carrying out projects. There is no doubt that key policy enablers on taxation and ownership of land in the country will go along way in supporting affordable home ownership.
Just imagine polices such as non_taxation of building materials, taxation of undeveloped speculative land, tax breaks on investing entities and removal of bureaucracy and charges in necessary approvals: would most likely half the cost of housing
githundi
#139 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 9:45:33 PM

Taxes.. Taxes.and more taxes especially on the formal sector is dragging the country back. It increases wages and cost of products way ahead of comparable economies and makes the country unfavorable for foreign domestic investments. When you add other issues of government regulation of the economy such as capping it becomes extremely difficult for the country to create sustainable jobs. No wonder the current regime both at national and county government falsely think that governments are supposed to create projects and employ. This is unsustainable.
githundi
#140 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 9:50:58 PM

How I would love to see a lean government only involved in facilitative role for business.
History has shown that the most efficient and effective facilitator of progress is the private sector.
Government has a lot of wastage corruption etc to optimize utilization of resources.
Dare I say that government has no role in doing business