wazua Sun, Apr 19, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Jeremiah Kiereini
kawi254
#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 10:27:50 PM

Why is it that these Makerere people (Kibaki, Mwiraria, Kiereini) always came back to marry their village gacungwas after being exposed globally?...and the way the Baganda ladies are to die for? Akina Kibaki didn't even sow some wild seeds in Kampala?
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 10:30:29 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Kenyan golden generation looses one of its members...RIP Mzee Jeremiah

These Alliance-Makerere-Oxford axis fellas really enjoyed life when they were at their prime and made serious money while at it. They also led quite thrifty lifestyles bordering on tight-wad-ness(from the word tightwad)

Golden ???

At the height of the maumau crackdown, the colonial police did their interrogation using sadistic levels of torture at Manyani and other detention centers.

They used to be accompanied by a young kikuyu who would do the translation.

His name was Jeremiah Kiereini.

I only hope this mother****er suffered properly before he died.

He was just doing his job. Nothing wrong.

I am reading disturbing stuff online.

Apparently, kiereini was promoted to deputy commander mwea detention camp. He was sadistic in torturing the detainees there to gain approval from the white commander.

I am delighted to learn this homeguard has buried his two sons before leaving earth. His last days must have been terrible.

Sounds like it's personal for you.

But I agree that sadly these people who were on the wrong side of history at the time seem to have emerged better rewarded than the rest.

It is personal. My grandpa served 7 years in Manyani. The same thugs would later steal his sweat as a coffee and dairy farmer.

BTW, Kiereini used to be accompanied by Magana Kenyatta for the interrogation sessions at Manyani.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 11:34:03 PM

Fyatu wrote:

These Alliance-Makerere-Oxford axis fellas really enjoyed life when they were at their prime and made serious money while at it. They also led quite thrifty lifestyles bordering on tight-wad-ness(from the word tightwad)

Golden ???

At the height of the maumau crackdown, the colonial police did their interrogation using sadistic levels of torture at Manyani and other detention centers.

Apparently, kiereini was promoted to deputy commander mwea detention camp. He was sadistic in torturing the detainees there to gain approval from the white commander.

I am delighted to learn this homeguard has buried his two sons before leaving earth. His last days must have been terrible.

But I agree that sadly these people who were on the wrong side of history at the time seem to have emerged better rewarded than the rest.

It is personal. My grandpa served 7 years in Manyani. The same thugs would later steal his sweat as a coffee and dairy farmer.

BTW, Kiereini used to be accompanied by Magana Kenyatta for the interrogation sessions at Manyani.

Most homeguards made money but were never happy. Their families are now wrangling over ill-gotten wealth.
Their generations will suffer e.g Matiba who paid for his father's sins.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 12:28:46 AM

kawi254 wrote:
Why is it that these Makerere people (Kibaki, Mwiraria, Kiereini) always came back to marry their village gacungwas after being exposed globally?...and the way the Baganda ladies are to die for? Akina Kibaki didn't even sow some wild seeds in Kampala?

Not much. Arse and nothing else. You're safer fishing from Muranga.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 4:51:47 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

Was Kiereini really at Manyani?d'oh! Thought he was only at Gathigiriri

The most brutal and most feared African confession extraction officer was former Nyeri Town MP Isaiah Mwai Mathenge.
T-Bag
#26 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 8:25:31 AM

Flo-ology wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

Damn! Kumbe malipo ni hapa hapa duniani. Having read nasty things about this guy and reflecting on what happened to others like Kones family I can say that that Swahili saying has a deep meaning

I cannot authenticate the evil that this homeguard did to the black africans but this guy was a venomous human being..(in kiswahili we say mtu roho mbaya)....I knew some of his business transactions......looted corporates....and stashed cash all over the place.... give it a few months....succession drama shall ensue...when some guy unfairly takes advantage of you, lock yourself in the toilet and cry......properly.. make sure you make it very emotional.....visualize your children suffering and such thoughts.... This stuff works.....
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
heri
#27 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 8:56:24 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

Yes. It was really bad what these people did. Anyone who has not read these two book should read them

1) Britain's Gulag: The Brutal End of Empire in Kenya
2) Histories of the Hanged: Britain's Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire

You will really be mad to know what happened to our Grandfathers and Grandmothers and the role the home guards played

#28 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:04:42 AM

Ex-CMC shareholders haven't forgotten what happened a few years back
I cannot authenticate the evil that this homeguard did to the black africans but this guy was a venomous human being..(in kiswahili we say mtu roho mbaya)....I knew some of his business transactions......looted corporates....and stashed cash all over the place.... give it a few months....succession drama shall ensue...when some guy unfairly takes advantage of you, lock yourself in the toilet and cry......properly.. make sure you make it very emotional.....visualize your children suffering and such thoughts.... This stuff works....
#29 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:31:34 AM

Yes. It was really bad what these people did. Anyone who has not read these two book should read them

You will really be mad to know what happened to our Grandfathers and Grandmothers and the role the home guards played

I read Britain's Gulag first. That's the book that fingers Kiereini & Isaiah Mathenge.

I then bought Kiereini's memoirs. Because of curiosity raised by Elkins. He admits he was a rehab officer in Mwea but denies that he was involved in extracting confessions(by torture). He says the role of rehabilitation officers was more of counselling & faults Elkins for not seeking his side of the story.

He goes on to say how he was posted to Meru as a DO after the emergency and says he enjoy good relations with locals there many whom were detainees in Mwea.

Well, that left me confused. Maybe he was just writing to clean his image. Or maybe not. What I liked about his account of the emergency era is that he is the first Gikuyu to admit he was against the Mau Mau and give reasons for his opposition.

All other Kikuyu memoirs either are quiet concerning their allegiance(e.g Matiba, Maathai), or claim to have taken the oath or were part of 'sleeper cells'/supply wing(Karume, Gatu)
#30 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:59:22 AM

I read Britain's Gulag first. That's the book that fingers Kiereini & Isaiah Mathenge.

I then bought Kiereini's memoirs. Because of curiosity raised by Elkins. He admits he was a rehab officer in Mwea but denies that he was involved in extracting confessions(by torture). He says the role of rehabilitation officers was more of counselling & faults Elkins for not seeking his side of the story.

He goes on to say how he was posted to Meru as a DO after the emergency and says he enjoy good relations with locals there many whom were detainees in Mwea.

Well, that left me confused. Maybe he was just writing to clean his image. Or maybe not. What I liked about his account of the emergency era is that he is the first Gikuyu to admit he was against the Mau Mau and give reasons for his opposition.

All other Kikuyu memoirs either are quiet concerning their allegiance(e.g Matiba, Maathai), or claim to have taken the oath or were part of 'sleeper cells'/supply wing(Karume, Gatu)

Truth is always slippery even when we give each side a hearing. But one could never become a DO without being a sellout and selling out always involved being ruthless to the mau mau opposition.

At the moment, if you are middle class odds are that you are of collaboration stock.

It's like as @hardwood says, 'we are just doing our job. To survive and feel good about ourselves.'

Kiereini must have felt so good about himself...
6 Pages<12345>»