Jeremiah Kiereini
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 11:17:32 AM

RIP

#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 11:23:41 AM

Also pole for family tragedy.

In 2017 his son Githae Kiereini was found dead in his house where the 47 yr old was living alone. In 2010 his other son Mburu, diagonised with motor neurone disease was also found dead.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 11:41:09 AM

He was part of the group that saved Moi in 82.

My personal memory is as a CMC shareholder. Sisemi kitu
Fyatu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 12:54:27 PM

Kenyan golden generation looses one of its members...RIP Mzee Jeremiah

These Alliance-Makerere-Oxford axis fellas really enjoyed life when they were at their prime and made serious money while at it. They also led quite thrifty lifestyles bordering on tight-wad-ness(from the word tightwad)
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 12:57:47 PM

Fyatu wrote:

These Alliance-Makerere-Oxford axis fellas really enjoyed life when they were at their prime and made serious money while at it. They also led quite thrifty lifestyles bordering on tight-wad-ness(from the word tightwad)

Those who espoused the British agenda to the fullest flourished the most.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:05:48 PM

What are some of his landmark businesses?

Fyatu
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:07:29 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Tales are told about one famous and outstanding member of this generation, Who despite being a wealthy man, never bought his buddies even a single beer. Kiereini, in an interview with the Star some few years back claimed he is not mean, and that he just takes good care of his money to the single shilling(quote and quote). These fellas had the advantage of indigenous wisdom passed down by their grandfathers blended with rudimentary math/wisdom passed down by Carey Francis
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:07:50 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

At the height of the maumau crackdown, the colonial police did their interrogation using sadistic levels of torture at Manyani and other detention centers.

They used to be accompanied by a young kikuyu who would do the translation.

His name was Jeremiah Kiereini.

I only hope this mother****er suffered properly before he died.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:15:08 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Tales are told about one famous and outstanding member of this generation, Who despite being a wealthy man, never bought his buddies even a single beer. Kiereini, in an interview with the Star some few years back claimed he is not mean, and that he just takes good care of his money to the single shilling(quote and quote). These fellas had the advantage of indigenous wisdom passed down by their grandfathers blended with rudimentary math/wisdom passed down by Carey Francis

That's a hard sell given that capitalism as we know it was a product of European culture, and mathematics was in Africa even before Carey Francis.

This 'Golden' group is about the assimilated finding a bumper harvest after the European's pillage.
Fyatu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:17:22 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

At the height of the maumau crackdown, the colonial police did their interrogation using sadistic levels of torture at Manyani and other detention centers.

I call them golden in the context of the most privileged generation and perhaps best(depending on goggles) generation Kenya has ever produced. These fellows were full cabinet ministers in their 30's.
Kiereini might have been evil/traitor/ngati but that besides the point.
Iganamagana
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:45:40 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Mavi ya kuku.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 1:45:49 PM

Fyatu banaaa!!!

You cannot be saying these youth of the 60s were better than us because of Carey Francis & they were ministers & PSs at 30. It's just that opportunities then were far more than the educated population! Which is why we had to take advantage of Kennedy airlifts to Kenyanize our civil service and later our private sector!

That's how the few educated ended up holding big positions while still very young. Matiba, Michuki, Kiereini, Njonjo etc

Then wealth. Being the new African elite, even without stealing you had lots of connections, knew of opportunities before everybody else. Met with who's who from everywhere not just Kenyan!

That was before the Africanization of businesses policy of the early 70s that handed the educated elite of that generation a bigger advantage.

BTW, the likes of Kibaki & Michuki didn't attend alliance
Fyatu
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 2:04:46 PM

Fyatu banaaa!!!

You cannot be saying these youth of the 60s were better than us because of Carey Francis & they were ministers & PSs at 30. It's just that opportunities then were far more than the educated population! Which is why we had to take advantage of Kennedy airlifts to Kenyanize our civil service and later our private sector!

That's how the few educated ended up holding big positions while still very young. Matiba, Michuki, Kiereini, Njonjo etc

Then wealth. Being the new African elite, even without stealing you had lots of connections, knew of opportunities before everybody else. Met with who's who from everywhere not just Kenyan!

That was before the Africanization of businesses policy of the early 70s that handed the educated elite of that generation a bigger advantage.

BTW, the likes of Kibaki & Michuki didn't attend alliance

Fair enough...and thanks for pointing out that Baks and Michuki never stepped at Alliance. I have to add that these guys of 60's are the ones who crafted most of the systems/policies(both bad and good) we use today...true, they had opportunities better than us but when i look at at a guy/chic in their 30's nowadays, i wonder if they could have hacked it sitting on the same oval table with the intimidating red-eyed old Jomo and other wazee like Jaramogi in a cabinet meeting setting the Nations agenda
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 2:36:47 PM

I don't like how the Kenyan media is obsessed with possessions. A man has lived to be 90. For the longest time of his life he was a civil servant, he served as chairman of KBL and CMC much later in life. Of all the things you could say about him why does billionare come first? Billionare businessman, millionare doctor, thousandnare teacher, hundrednare waiter etc. It is ridiculous.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 2:49:55 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

He was just doing his job. Nothing wrong.
tinker
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 3:58:21 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

Nothing wrong???...like a lawyer defending murderer of his his own brother.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 7:15:53 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

I am reading disturbing stuff online.

Apparently, kiereini was promoted to deputy commander mwea detention camp. He was sadistic in torturing the detainees there to gain approval from the white commander.

I am delighted to learn this homeguard has buried his two sons before leaving earth. His last days must have been terrible.
madhaquer
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 8:11:52 PM

Our media cannot tell a traitor from a patriot.
Money buys newspaper articles and no wonder they are only good for 'kufunga nyama'
With a past like his, a quiet death should be the most that he gets. This are the chameleons that taught our current crop of politicians how to change sides with the changing times.
One day you are 'torturing' your own, the next day you are 'leading' them... and when you die, you make it to the news like someone the youth should aspire to become...
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 10:09:04 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

I am reading disturbing stuff online.

Apparently, kiereini was promoted to deputy commander mwea detention camp. He was sadistic in torturing the detainees there to gain approval from the white commander.

I am delighted to learn this homeguard has buried his two sons before leaving earth. His last days must have been terrible.

Sounds like it's personal for you.

But I agree that sadly these people who were on the wrong side of history at the time seem to have emerged better rewarded than the rest.

Flo-ology
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 10:25:50 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Golden ???

Damn! Kumbe malipo ni hapa hapa duniani. Having read nasty things about this guy and reflecting on what happened to others like Kones family I can say that that Swahili saying has a deep meaning
Reflection Eternal