Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Angelica _ann wrote:hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:hardwood wrote:alma1 wrote:Hardwood, your piece from the Standard is modus operandi when someone wants to pass a stupid law. Create a fake crisis then give a stupid law as the solution.
I am very happy with my milk as I even see the cow being milked.
Wewe kaa na yako. Wachana na sisi who love eating fresh food enjoy life.
And Kiunjuri should really leave that agriculture ministry. I hear now they want to come up with regulations agains using manure from farming.
I hope that's a fake story because I will be tempted to believe that the's the worst minister in Kenya.
Let me go drink my cow milk. It's now 65 bob a liter. I can bathe and shower in it. Kila nyani na starehe zake. Anyway note that milk regulations have been there for ages and people have been jailed for breaking them. https://www.nation.co.ke...48894-mga9ka/index.html
https://www.businessdail...3094-fos8uuz/index.html
Please sir, there's a difference between contaminated milk and the milk from my farmer. Don't use the links above to call my farmer a criminal who poisons people with his milk. That's not a nice thing to do. Now the milk thing is over and done with. It shall never happen. So forgerabari!! Now let's talk about this Kiunjuri fella with farmers not allowed to grow food with manure. Kionjori is right. Manure is dangerous since the animal shit carries E.coli, salmonella, parasitic worms and other organisms that are a danger to human health. Especially, vegetables grown with manure easily move the pathogens to humans. So if you enjoy nyama choma and kachumbari, your big stomach may not be due to kukula nyama but due to minyoo filling your stomach due to the worm eggs in the tomato, dania, hoho etc. Manure also has lots of antibiotic residues from medicines used to treat animal diseases, and also the dangerous chemicals used to kill ticks that end up in the manure. This chemicals can cause antibiotic resistance in humans or even cancer. When manure is applied on the farm, the pathogens and chemicals in manure could be moved by the rain water and contaminate water in rivers and water wells. Note that many "civilised countries" have regulations regarding use of manure in food production and kiunjuri is only catching up. Also if you never want to eat sukuma grown with human shit/sewage for fear of contamination with E.coli, salmonella, parasitic worms among other issues, why do you want to eat sukuma grown with bullshit/cowshit that has same pathogens? https://www.nation.co.ke...078-11s55a0z/index.html
https://soilsmatter.word...re-use-for-food-safety/
The manure is a relatively cheap nutrient source, especially if growers have their own animals. Some farmers lack the equipment to compost properly and end up using raw manure. That can be dangerous; the FDA regulations (see above) require a 120 day waiting period. Researchers are studying the best methods of composting manure. This is important because one cow can generate 43-120 pounds of manure a day! >>> Sisi tuko sawa. Our manure, we do 1 year before use and that is what my parents used to do and i have adopted. For many farmers, they "sweep" the slurry/manure from the zero grazing unit DAILY and kumwaga it in the vegetable patch. Infact in many cases there is a drainage channel from the zero grazing unit to the shamba. So the sukuma and other crops get the manure-borne pathogens and chemicals live live.