wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Kenyatta Milk Bill
#21 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2019 11:53:21 AM

These milk rules have been there for ages. Hawking or retailing of raw milk isn't allowed by law due to health reasons eg brucellosis, e coli, contamination, adulteration with formalin etc. Currently even the milk ATMS are required to be licensed by the Kenya Dairy Board and can only sell pasteurized milk. Even transporting milk in plastic vibuyus is banned to prevent contamination. So all this hullabaloo about "new regulations" is just hot air.
So there are no "new regulations"?

Of course the old regulations were set in the 1960s and 1970s when KCC was the sole milk processor. We also didnt have milk ATMS or plastic containers. Feed industry wasn't also liberalised. Also fines were set at 100 bob for offences. So there is need to update the regulations to be in line with the liberalized environment and current realities.
safariant
#22 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2019 1:42:45 PM

Fight back from the anti corruption noise?
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
MuchNo
#23 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2019 7:40:37 PM

Man is not made to drink cow's milk. Cow's milk irritates the human bowel, and our bodies have learned over time (evolved) to digest it. You will find a proportion of society allergic or unable to tolerate milk, and this is because the human body tries to revert back to its natural state so that it can digest the many other foods that are essential to our well-being.

This debate need not take place - like they did with plastic, big business has made us believe that cow's milk is good for us. It isn't. It's good for the processor. It's also good for other big business - big pharma (who will sell you lactase when you become intolerant), and big oil (who will sell you the plastic in which it is stored).

N-E-way,... as Ken Matiba used to say, "let the people decide!"
kimiri
#24 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 11:52:46 PM

KDB Retreats retreats. Good to to see reason prevail.

https://www.nation.co.ke...41712-bipquz/index.html
#25 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2019 11:55:23 PM

kimiri wrote:

So where are those who were claiming there were no new laws/regulations in the pipeline. Protecting the kingdom!!!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 5:25:58 AM

kimiri wrote:

So where are those who were claiming there were no new laws/regulations in the pipeline. Protecting the kingdom!!!

They blamed Tanga Tanga for the 'propaganda'.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 7:47:40 AM

Seems we now know who is part of the propaganda unit...
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 8:12:03 AM

People are really trying to be relevant Laughing out loudly

kimiri wrote:

Spare your keyboard, its fake

I think @hardwood was misled on this one, the 527 bob was not disbursed on time Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 9:03:08 AM

kimiri wrote:

I think @hardwood was misled on this one, the 527 bob was not disbursed on time Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

plus
This whole hullabaloo is about Team Tangatanga and TeamAnticorruption.Even the KQ/JKIA story falls here.

#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 11:57:09 AM

kimiri wrote:

They blamed Tanga Tanga for the 'propaganda'.

I think they wanted to put the Kingdom in bad light. Nothing new in the regulations. They should have brought amendments which need public participation. Kiunjuri is in trouble.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2019 1:38:15 PM

kimiri wrote:

plus
This whole hullabaloo is about Team Tangatanga and TeamAnticorruption.Even the KQ/JKIA story falls here.

I have no interest in Dairy industry nor do I have a particular desire to protect the Kingdom.From where I seat,I have heard of proposed changes in the laws governing milk distribution for so many time.Each time they are brought the key issue is the farmer and the middleman.For me what looked new was the amount of fine involved if found in breach........

When Milk dispensers were being introduced in Kenya I Had an interest in one and the biggest challenge was getting the Dairy Board licence allowing me to buy milk from farmers directly.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 12:17:52 PM

I am here at the supermarket to buy some milk and these are the prices am seeing.

Brookside 500ml - 50 Bob
Kcc - 48 bob
Fresha - 43 Bob
Lato (from Uganda) - 43 bob
Pascha - 42 Bob
Kinangop - 41 Bob

As you can see brookside has a lot of competition since they are outpriced by competitors. I have picked a few packets of kinangop milk since I believe maziwa ni maziwa. As as they say money saved is money earned.

NB I have noticed that at the neighbourhood kiosk all milk including kinangop is priced at 50 Bob meaning mama mboga has been conning us by not passing the low prices to us consumers.

I also want to add that its true milk prices have gone down since it used to be 50 Bob and I have just bought at 41.

Why do you like lying like that? You really should stop hanging around Alai and Itumbi. It's not good for you.

I buy a whole litre of milk at 70 bob. From a farmer. I have never touched those funny milks you have mentioned before and that's the crux of this bill.

To finish off real farmers from going straight to consumer. Next shall be tomato processing plants.

I can see a lot of middle class people who are conned into buying Brookside ati coz it's clean. Learn to read a bit and know technology is good for you.

Like I said I have never bought those funny milks for years. And neither have my neighbors. If you want to buy them, that's cool. But why force me to buy them. Willing buyer willing seller.

You are all lying saying that the rules have not changed. You know you are all lying coz I know all of you buy milk from your neighbor. This was a colonial law and it was ignored by the natives including Kenyarra, Moi and Kibaki gov'ts because they knew it was a law made by a mzungu to nyanyasa farmers.

Now you are the mkolonis.

I will believe it's a good law when I see a farmer supporting it. Thus far it is the talk of many farmers forums and they all hate it.

Why do you want the farmer to sell 1 liter to Brookside at 29 bob when the farmer can get 70 bob from me.

Clean milk my foot.

You just want to finish the small scale farmer and make them slaves of monopolies.

Nonsense.

End of Furahiday rant.

Your milk your choice....

<<Greedy vendors, hawkers using hydrogen peroxide and formalin to preserve milk>>

https://www.standardmedi...prolong-milk-shelf-life
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 12:23:02 PM

Hardwood, your piece from the Standard is modus operandi when someone wants to pass a stupid law. Create a fake crisis then give a stupid law as the solution.

I am very happy with my milk as I even see the cow being milked.

Wewe kaa na yako. Wachana na sisi who love eating fresh food enjoy life.

And Kiunjuri should really leave that agriculture ministry. I hear now they want to come up with regulations agains using manure from farming.

I hope that's a fake story because I will be tempted to believe that the's the worst minister in Kenya.

Let me go drink my cow milk. It's now 65 bob a liter. I can bathe and shower in it.

#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 12:31:54 PM

Hardwood, your piece from the Standard is modus operandi when someone wants to pass a stupid law. Create a fake crisis then give a stupid law as the solution.

And Kiunjuri should really leave that agriculture ministry. I hear now they want to come up with regulations agains using manure from farming.

I hope that's a fake story because I will be tempted to believe that the's the worst minister in Kenya.

Let me go drink my cow milk. It's now 65 bob a liter. I can bathe and shower in it.

Kila nyani na starehe zake. Mimi I only drink brooksidesmile .

Anyway note that milk regulations have been there for ages and people have been jailed for breaking them.

https://www.nation.co.ke...48894-mga9ka/index.html

https://www.businessdail...3094-fos8uuz/index.html

#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 12:35:34 PM

Kila nyani na starehe zake. Anyway note that milk regulations have been there for ages and people have been jailed for breaking them.

Please sir, there's a difference between contaminated milk and the milk from my farmer.

Don't use the links above to call my farmer a criminal who poisons people with his milk. That's not a nice thing to do.

Now the milk thing is over and done with. It shall never happen. So forgerabari!!

Now let's talk about this Kiunjuri fella with farmers not allowed to grow food with manure.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 1:02:30 PM

Kila nyani na starehe zake. Anyway note that milk regulations have been there for ages and people have been jailed for breaking them.

Please sir, there's a difference between contaminated milk and the milk from my farmer.

Don't use the links above to call my farmer a criminal who poisons people with his milk. That's not a nice thing to do.

Now the milk thing is over and done with. It shall never happen. So forgerabari!!

Now let's talk about this Kiunjuri fella with farmers not allowed to grow food with manure.

Kionjori is right. Manure is dangerous since the animal shit carries E.coli, salmonella, parasitic worms and other organisms that are a danger to human health. Especially, vegetables grown with manure easily move the pathogens to humans. So if you enjoy nyama choma and kachumbari, your big stomach may not be due to kukula nyama but due to minyoo filling your stomach due to the worm eggs in the tomato, dania, hoho etc.

Manure also has lots of antibiotic residues from medicines used to treat animal diseases, and also the dangerous chemicals used to kill ticks that end up in the manure. This chemicals can cause antibiotic resistance in humans or even cancer.

When manure is applied on the farm, the pathogens and chemicals in manure could be moved by the rain water and contaminate water in rivers and water wells.

Note that many "civilised countries" have regulations regarding use of manure in food production and kiunjuri is only catching up.

Also if you never want to eat sukuma grown with human shit/sewage for fear of contamination with E.coli, salmonella, parasitic worms among other issues, why do you want to eat sukuma grown with bullshit/cowshit that has same pathogens?

https://www.nation.co.ke...078-11s55a0z/index.html

https://soilsmatter.word...re-use-for-food-safety/

#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 1:14:26 PM

It will be illegal to plant crops using animal manure if a new bill becomes law.

Also, in new tough measures aimed at regulating the agriculture sector, any person obstructing a food-crops inspector from accessing farms or processing premises will be liable for a jail term of up to three years.

The Crops (Food Crops) Regulations, 2018, the proposed law seeks to tighten regulations governing food production, processing, marketing, imports and exports.
The rules prohibit farmers from growing crops next to sites whose land use could result in contamination of soil, air and water.

The areas include sites used for domestic animal production, which might prove controversial as many food producers in Kenya are mixed farmers who grow crops side by side with animals. Many also use animal manure to enrich their farms. Other condemned sites are for disposal of garbage and industrial waste, sanitary waste management, mining, roadsides and sites with a history of flooding.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 2:12:23 PM

Hardwood, which is this "civilised" country that doesn't use manure?

Do you just say stuff so that you increase your wazua comment count? W

hich is this farmer you know who grows his crops with manure directly? Kweli you think farmers don't know that this will reduce their harvests? Or do you think the so called inspketas are better farmers than farmers? And if a cop can't enter my land without a warrant, what's so special with these kiujuri inspekats?

People who use sewage to grow you sukuma will not stop using sewage later. There is no need for a new law to regulate food grown with sewage. It is there already.

I would like to know who is benefiting from this new so called laws? Who are the companies that are already being sourced to provide farmers with "regulated" manure?

There is no other reason for this law other than creating a manure factory. Ati you can't have crops grown next to domestic animals? Who is this stupid person who wrote these clauses?

The world is turning to organic farming this gov't wants to tax manure at 16%!!!!!

Nonsense!!!!!

#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 2:17:15 PM

Stolen...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Someone kindly tell GOK
1. Ngombe ni yangu, will do whatever i want with the milk
2. Manure ni yangu and the food am planting is mine
At this point Wameûka mûno mûno, hata mwalimu hakufika hapa
#40 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2019 2:41:16 PM

Hardwood, which is this "civilised" country that doesn't use manure?

Do you just say stuff so that you increase your wazua comment count? W

hich is this farmer you know who grows his crops with manure directly? Kweli you think farmers don't know that this will reduce their harvests? Or do you think the so called inspketas are better farmers than farmers? And if a cop can't enter my land without a warrant, what's so special with these kiujuri inspekats?

People who use sewage to grow you sukuma will not stop using sewage later. There is no need for a new law to regulate food grown with sewage. It is there already.

I would like to know who is benefiting from this new so called laws? Who are the companies that are already being sourced to provide farmers with "regulated" manure?

There is no other reason for this law other than creating a manure factory. Ati you can't have crops grown next to domestic animals? Who is this stupid person who wrote these clauses?

The world is turning to organic farming this gov't wants to tax manure at 16%!!!!!

Nonsense!!!!!

Chicken manure aka mavi ya kuku should instead be fed to cattle. It's is an excellent feed. Now you know.

http://topfarmer.co.ke/u...cattle-feed-supplement/

https://www.aces.edu/blo...-litter-to-beef-cattle/