Kenyatta Milk Bill
#1 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 8:17:59 AM

Pls discuss

#2 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 9:54:04 AM

Thuraku Kumira Kumira

#3 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 10:07:57 AM

Is that law implementable kweli?
#4 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 11:50:00 AM

These milk rules have been there for ages. Hawking or retailing of raw milk isn't allowed by law due to health reasons eg brucellosis, e coli, contamination, adulteration with formalin etc. Currently even the milk ATMS are required to be licensed by the Kenya Dairy Board and can only sell pasteurized milk. Even transporting milk in plastic vibuyus is banned to prevent contamination.

So all this hullabaloo about "new regulations" is just hot air.
#5 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 11:56:17 AM

These milk rules have been there for ages. Hawking or retailing of raw milk isn't allowed by law due to health reasons eg brucellosis, e coli, contamination, adulteration with formalin etc. Currently even the milk ATMS are required to be licensed by the Kenya Dairy Board and can only sell pasteurized milk. Even transporting milk in plastic vibuyus is banned to prevent contamination.

So there are no "new regulations"?
#6 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 11:58:16 AM

So farmers want to continue feeding rotten maize to their cows and then sell us the aflotoxin infested milk ndiyo consumers wapate cancer?

Also on the issue of milk quality, some farmers produce very dilute maji maji milk (or add water) and want to paid the same like someone whose milk has alot of cream. So I support that milk be graded on quality just like we grade coffee, tea, pyrethrum, avocado etc.

#7 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 12:23:39 PM

So if the laws have been there but the implementation is the issue, what will change wajameni?
#8 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 12:27:46 PM

So if the laws have been there but the implementation is the issue, what will change wajameni?

let's answer the simple question: are there new regulations or not?
#9 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 12:38:57 PM

This are not new regulations. This have been there for a long time.
I am now afraid. This fake news cancer is spreading very fast
#10 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 1:02:24 PM

we have the diary industry regulations [2018]. i believe they are currently under public review.
#11 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 1:22:44 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Then that's ok kabisa...there is no new Dairy Bill is what you are saying.
#12 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 2:16:09 PM

People are really trying to be relevant Laughing out loudly
kimiri
#13 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 2:35:53 PM

Milk marketing in Kenya is dominated by the informal (raw milk) sector which accounts for over 70% of the marketed milk. Research has shown that marketing of raw milk poses no greater public health risk than processed milk due to the predominant practice of boiling milk before drinking among Kenyans. While the raw milk marketing sector is traditionally highly underappreciated by the government, it is associated with several benefits including delivering milk to poor consumers at relatively low prices (sometimes 50% less than processed milk!), employment generation and injecting competition in the dairy sector among others.

The draft bill seems highly biased against the informal sector which I think is due to the greater say enjoyed by dairy processors in policy formulation while actors in the informal sector are ignored. This has been worsened by the growing dominance of Brookside who are currently the market leader in the formal sector. Unfortunately, signs have started to emerge that in the long run dominance by Brookside might be detrimental to the industry. A good example is the recent price reduction to suppliers in Rift valley and Nyandarua which was attributed to an alleged glut in milk supply. Contrary to expectations, the price cut was not passed on to consumers implying that the benefits of the increased supply are only accruing to the dairy processor.

Worse still is the control that Brookside has over other players including dairy coops engaged in processing. A case in point is Fresha in Githunguri. For a while now, farmers in Githunguri have been incurring huge losses due to rejections at collection centers largely due to the alleged current glut in supply. Surprisingly, the suffering being experienced by farmers seems not to be a concern to the coop leadership not because they are stupid but due to interference by Brookside. One would for instance expect that the coop would lower the retail prices for their products to encourage consumption. On the contrary and like Brookside, processed products by the coop continue to retail at the same prices that were prevalent before the current milk glut.
#14 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 2:56:54 PM

kimiri wrote:
Milk marketing in Kenya is dominated by the informal (raw milk) sector which accounts for over 70% of the marketed milk. Research has shown that marketing of raw milk poses no greater public health risk than processed milk due to the predominant practice of boiling milk before drinking among Kenyans. While the raw milk marketing sector is traditionally highly underappreciated by the government, it is associated with several benefits including delivering milk to poor consumers at relatively low prices (sometimes 50% less than processed milk!), employment generation and injecting competition in the dairy sector among others.

The draft bill seems highly biased against the informal sector which I think is due to the greater say enjoyed by dairy processors in policy formulation while actors in the informal sector are ignored. This has been worsened by the growing dominance of Brookside who are currently the market leader in the formal sector. Unfortunately, signs have started to emerge that in the long run dominance by Brookside might be detrimental to the industry. A good example is the recent price reduction to suppliers in Rift valley and Nyandarua which was attributed to an alleged glut in milk supply. Contrary to expectations, the price cut was not passed on to consumers implying that the benefits of the increased supply are only accruing to the dairy processor.

Worse still is the control that Brookside has over other players including dairy coops engaged in processing. A case in point is Fresha in Githunguri. For a while now, farmers in Githunguri have been incurring huge losses due to rejections at collection centers largely due to the alleged current glut in supply. Surprisingly, the suffering being experienced by farmers seems not to be a concern to the coop leadership not because they are stupid but due to interference by Brookside. One would for instance expect that the coop would lower the retail prices for their products to encourage consumption. On the contrary and like Brookside, processed products by the coop continue to retail at the same prices that were prevalent before the current milk glut.

Spare your keyboard, its fake
kimanimsc
#15 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 3:21:40 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Then that's ok kabisa...there is no new Dairy Bill is what you are saying.

Here are the proposed dairy regulations 2019 and feedback form.

http://www.kdb.go.ke/?page_id=226
#16 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 5:26:02 PM

I am here at the supermarket to buy some milk and these are the prices am seeing.

Brookside 500ml - 50 Bob
Kcc - 48 bob
Fresha - 43 Bob
Lato (from Uganda) - 43 bob
Pascha - 42 Bob
Kinangop - 41 Bob

As you can see brookside has a lot of competition since they are outpriced by competitors. I have picked a few packets of kinangop milk since I believe maziwa ni maziwa. And as they say money saved is money earned.

NB I have noticed that at the neighbourhood kiosk all milk including kinangop is priced at 50 Bob meaning mama mboga has been conning us by not passing the low prices to us consumers.

I also want to add that its true milk prices have gone down since it used to be 50 Bob and I have just bought at 41.
#17 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 6:06:46 PM

I am here at the supermarket to buy some milk and these are the prices am seeing.

Brookside 500ml - 50 Bob
Kcc - 48 bob
Fresha - 43 Bob
Pascha - 42 Bob
Kinangop - 41 Bob

As you can see brookside has a lot of competition since they are outpriced by competitors. I have picked a few packets of kinangop milk since I believe maziwa ni maziwa. As as they say money saved is money earned.

NB I have noticed that at the neighbourhood kiosk all milk including kinangop is priced at 50 Bob meaning mama mboga has been conning us by not passing the low prices to us consumers.

I also want to add that its true milk prices have gone down since it used to be 50 Bob and I have just bought at 41.

Why do you like lying like that? You really should stop hanging around Alai and Itumbi. It's not good for you.

I buy a whole litre of milk at 70 bob. From a farmer. I have never touched those funny milks you have mentioned before and that's the crux of this bill.

To finish off real farmers from going straight to consumer. Next shall be tomato processing plants.

I can see a lot of middle class people who are conned into buying Brookside ati coz it's clean. Learn to read a bit and know technology is good for you.

Like I said I have never bought those funny milks for years. And neither have my neighbors. If you want to buy them, that's cool. But why force me to buy them. Willing buyer willing seller.

You are all lying saying that the rules have not changed. You know you are all lying coz I know all of you buy milk from your neighbor. This was a colonial law and it was ignored by the natives including Kenyarra, Moi and Kibaki gov'ts because they knew it was a law made by a mzungu to nyanyasa farmers.

Now you are the mkolonis.

I will believe it's a good law when I see a farmer supporting it. Thus far it is the talk of many farmers forums and they all hate it.

Why do you want the farmer to sell 1 liter to Brookside at 29 bob when the farmer can get 70 bob from me.

Clean milk my foot.

You just want to finish the small scale farmer and make them slaves of monopolies.

Nonsense.

End of Furahiday rant.

thuks
#18 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 7:21:58 PM

Brookside 500ml - 50 Bob
Kcc - 48 bob
Fresha - 43 Bob
Pascha - 42 Bob
Kinangop - 41 Bob

As you can see brookside has a lot of competition since they are outpriced by competitors. I have picked a few packets of kinangop milk since I believe maziwa ni maziwa. As as they say money saved is money earned.

Some of the cheap ones are actually 450mL not 500mL. Confirm next time you buy
I care!
#19 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 8:09:43 PM

thuks wrote:

Brookside 500ml - 50 Bob
Kcc - 48 bob
Fresha - 43 Bob
Pascha - 42 Bob
Kinangop - 41 Bob

Some of the cheap ones are actually 450mL not 500mL. Confirm next time you buy

The packet says 500ml. I have also confirmed volume by putting the milk in a 500ml empty plastic water bottle and volume is ok.
#20 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2019 11:49:01 AM

This whole hullabaloo is about Team Tangatanga and TeamAnticorruption.Even the KQ/JKIA story falls here.